We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be nicer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Captain's Manor Inn to your Saves list
Captain's Manor Inn
27 W Main Street, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 20 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Couldn't be nicer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had not idea how nice this B&B was and were delightfully surprised by everything.
Trish and Kevin have thought of everything. They renovated the Inn in a classic way and have provided little touches that make you feel they really care about you!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which not huge but very nicely appointed. All rooms are quiet and nicely d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
174
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful getaway then you have come to the right place! Everything was perfection, every detail, every meal, every smile. Trish and Kevin are wonderful innkeepers and they have thought of every detail to make your stay enjoyable. Trish even put out special "birthday brownies" for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Kristin, What fun to have you celebrate your birthday here at the Inn! We are glad you enjoyed your brownies and your little getaway. We bet the kids were happy when Mom and Dad came home. Looking forward to seeing you again in October.
Trish and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Enroute from Fire Island to Falmouth, we arrive later than expected; distracted by the sights and charm (actually a lobst-ah roll) in Newport RI. Host and owner Trish is appreciative of our call and accommodating of our new arrival time. Host and owner Kevin, meets us on arrival and escorts us to our immaculate and spacious room. We're here for only one night but I can imagine being comfortable here for days. Trish gives us a local map and recommends some restaurants for dinner, all within able walking distance (10 minutes tops, I it guess depends on how well you move). When we booked, we ordered a wine and cheese plate to help us relax into the evening. To say the least this little addition exceeded our expectations and was worth the price, offering a bountiful selection of cheeses, cured meat, grapes and crackers. We requested a Pino Grigio that was selected for us and perfectly chilled. With the promise of sweet potato pancakes for breakfast, and given the bounty of the fruit and cheese plate, we opt to pass on dinner and stroll Main St instead; although the local restaurants Trish suggested all look inviting. We do however stop for ice cream at Ben & Bills Chocolate Emporium and Trish's exuberant recommendation doses not fail us! Lobster Ice Cream!!! Not my selection but worth a free sample taste!! An overwhelming selection of ice creams, hand-dipped chocolates and fudge boggles the senses. Later, back at the manor...we enjoy our pristine room and a night of comfortable sleep. Our room is peaceful and the amenities all exceptionally clean, functional and well cared for. Breakfast does not disappoint; a generous cup of fresh fruit and a freshly baked scone are followed by the promised sweet potato pancakes and sausage (breakfast changes daily). The plate surprisingly lacks a garnish which is probably only glaring to me given the attention to detail on every other level, otherwise very tasty. A lighter yogurt and granola was also offered. Fresh brewed coffee was available starting at 7am, a small cake stand with an evening snack (cupcakes on this occasion) awaited us when we returned from our evening walk. Water, tea and Keurig-style coffee available at all times as are a few other treats along the way. During breakfast, Trish advises us of an equally direct yet more scenic and interesting route to our next destination on the Cape. Trish and Kevin have the B&B thing down to a fine art, never missing a single hospitable beat. Everything here is 5-Star; offered with style, function and grace. You'll enjoy the comfort, charm and value of their home and boutique style inn.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Robinson room, which is on a lower level with a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Kevin and Kevin, Thank you for choosing to spend an evening with us during your travels. During your short stay it was great that you had a chance to stroll through Falmouth Village and experience Ben & Bills....we have yet to try the lobst-ah ice cream :) We are also very happy that you enjoyed your room here at the Inn and the afternoon baked goodies, wine and cheese platter and breakfast. It is so much fun to help our guests explore the Cape and we are glad you enjoyed the more scenic route we suggested to your next destination.
Trish & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have always wanted to go to Cape Cod and after doing some research selected Captain's Manor Inn. Trish and Kevin have thought of all the details. The breakfasts were delicious and we really appreciated the bistro. The bistro had coffee and tea 24 hours a day and every afternoon around 3pm, some delicious baked goods appeared for a snack. There is also bottled water and a refrigerator in case you want to keep some snacks (or wine!). The Inn is very conveniently located within walking distance of a bunch of restaurants and Corner Bicycle where you can rent bikes and head out for the day. It is also very close to the Shining Sea path where you can bike, run or walk. Kevin does a great job of keeping the property up. The grounds are beautiful and have several great seating areas. We also loved the covered patio. Would definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other potential guests. As you shared there are a lot of things to do and restaurants to enjoy within walking distance of the Inn. That at is one of the main reasons we were so drawn to the property when we were searching for an Inn to fulfill a dream we had of being innkeepers. We are happy that you enjoyed the Bistro which was one of the new add ons we did when completing the addition to the Inn in 2012. Thank you again for being our guests and the those lounge chairs out on the grounds look forward to your next stay :)
Trish and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I live in Boston but like to get away on occassion to Cape Cod, we enjoy Falmouth as family lives there. We have stayed at many different Bed and Breakfasts but truly enjoyed Captain's Manor Inn. It is in exceptional shape as Kevin and Trish (owners/Inn keepers) work very hard to keep the property beautiful and inviting. You can tell they both love owning this Inn and each other as they work well together and enjoy talking to their guests and making them comfortable. I would recommend this Inn highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Robinson Room which was quite, roomy and had a GREAT shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Ernie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with fellow travelers. It was great fun to have you stay with us and we really enjoyed sharing golf stories with you! We will definitely take you and Joyce up on getting a round in on the links next time :)
Trish and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our second trip back to the Captain's Manor Inn! We were so pleasantly surprised by the new additions at the Inn. A new bistro cafe with assorted tea and coffee 24 hours a day. Individual climate control in every room so guests could adjust the temperature to satisfy their needs. Wonderful and creative homemade breakfast every morning out on the veranda surrounded by beautiful gardens and wonderful hospitality. Our room the Canopy was newly renovated with every comfort of home! Our friends joined us for their first visit to the Inn and were so pleased and surprised by the beauty and comfort surrounding them at the Inn. Trish and Kevin are wonderful Innkeepers and are always so kind and helpful! They are always available to answer any questions or help you with planning daily excursions and activities. They also have a wonderful staff who are always available and helpful when needed. This is our favorite B&B anywhere! As always we look forward to our return when we need a peaceful and restful vacation!

Room Tip: Any room at The Captain's Manor Inn is fine. They are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Maria It was great to have you return and to bring B & T along with you for the long weekend. How wonderful to have such good friends that you have stayed in touch with for so many years and that you enjoy traveling with. We enjoyed sharing the new updates to the Inn with you since your a couple of years ago and we can't wait to see you again this fall. We agree with you that fall is just a beautiful time of year and with all the restaurants and shops open, the beach water still warm and less crowds its a win-win :)
See you before you know it....Trish and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Trish and Kevin made our stay so convenient and relaxing this past 4th of July. We made the trip from NYC, opting for the Amtrak to Providence and then renting a car and driving the 1 hour 20 min trip to Falmouth. It was a lush ride and traffic was pretty light although we were driving on Thursday the 4th, so may have missed the Wednesday night rush. As we drove into the narrow driveway, I was pretty astounded at the large garden behind the house. Lots of green foliage and vibrant grass greeted us along with a gazebo with swing chair and several lounge chairs scattered about. There's plenty of parking space in the back and we were lucky enough to have arrived just after our room was clean, even though we were 30 min early for our 3pm check in.

We booked the KL Bates room which is on the top floor and not connected to any other room in the house. The room was spacious and the decor was charming. Large 4-poster bed and what looked like a newly renovated bathroom with rain shower.

From there, Trish and Kevin took care of the rest! Breakfast on the patio was good (sweet potato pancakes!) and Trish made sure we had everything we needed for each day's adventure. She has tickets for the ferry to Martha's Vineyard all ready for you, so you just need to give her cash ($16 RT). I had booked the bike package online so our bike rental and picnics were ready to go. We walked a short block to the rental place, got our bikes and proceeded to the nearby Bean & Cod to pick up our sammiches and did a quick trip down Walker street to the beach where we enjoyed our little picnic. This package also comes with a wine and cheese package so when we returned our bikes, Trish was ready to go with our cheese platter and Pinot Grigio that we enjoyed on the lounge chairs in the garden.

They really spoil you with treats here as every afternoon, a special plate with glass cover holds a treat for each room from chocolate chip cookies to cranberry tarts to, my fave, strawberry cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. Even though we're not big fans of sweets, we had to have a bite of each little goodie. There are also local chocolate covered pretzels as you check into the room and 2 bottles of water for your stay. There is also light house keeping daily, which we weren't expecting but were pleasantly surprised to come back to.

It's been a while since I stayed at a B&B and wasn't sure what to expect, but this stay was perfect. The house was very quiet and you hardly saw anyone during the day except for at breakfast. Trish and Kevin were more than helpful and enthusiastic about any day trips or local suggestions. Moreover, we found out we left our ipad in the room and called a few hours after we had left. Trish got it in the mail in no time.

If you're looking for a nice place that's a short stroll from the town center, walking distance to the free shuttle that takes you to the ferry and an all around good, wholesome experience, book the Captain's Manor Inn and be sure to eat at The Glass Onion!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Camille, Thank you for sharing such a wonderfully detailed review with other travelers. It was fun to help you pack so much into your stay from biking, to wine and cheese in the garden and a day trip to Martha's Vineyard. Wishing you a wonderful rest of the summer!
Trish and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Manor Inn

Address: 27 W Main Street, Falmouth, MA 02540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Cape Cod Bed & Breakfast offers a splendid retreat in the heart of Falmouth Village's historic district. This stately 1849 home has been lovingly restored to feature modern amenities in each of its 8 guestrooms with en suite bathrooms. On the National Historic Register of Historic Places, this unique estate features an elegant living area with original black marble fireplace and expansive plantation style windows that open onto the vast wrap around veranda. Take a short stroll to visit Falmouth Village's many boutique shops, restaurants, galleries, and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Captain's Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Manor Hotel Falmouth
Captain's Manor Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.