We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The brownie was the ace in the hole.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Manor Inn
Save
You added Captain's Manor Inn to your Saves list
27 W Main Street, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Collierville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The brownie was the ace in the hole.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed in many, many B&B's and I don't say this lightly: Captain's Manor, by far, was the best. It is always tough to discern the true qualities of a property from internet descriptions and photos. As a marketing professional I'm fully aware of the ways that we enhance the beauty of a place by "shooting around" its flaws. Your challenge is the other one - capturing the charm of your space with such a limited medium! We've stayed in some very nice places that had strengths - but also struggles (staff, grounds, location, etc.). MY struggle is to find any suggestion to help you improve. You had it all! Even the momentary bobble ("cleaning" my uneaten brownie from my room) was quickly remedied when I found a replacement in my dish minutes later! (Nicely played, Kevin) I mean, even your internet speed was faster than I've ever experienced... in spite of your claim that you've "unplugged." LOL. Nice work, Trish and Kevin. Continue your great work providing a place for the weary traveler to breathe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Webuzz , we are still chuckling about your comment on the brownie being the ace in the hole. To provide a "place for the weary traveler to breathe" is very gratifying for us. Knowing just how precious time away is in this day and age we hope to be a bit of an oasis. We are very flattered by your feedback on your stay and happy you enjoyed the speedy internet....even the internet provider service person who came out one day to work on something remarked on the speed of our connection (we told him to be sure not to change that :)
We very happy that you had the opportunity to experience some of the beauty and charm of Cape Cod during your day trip explorations and best wishes for a wonderful summer.
Trish and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
167
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better stay at The Captain's Manor Inn! Enjoyed every moment. The inn is such a pretty home, beautifully decorated and comfortable. The innkeepers Trish and Kevin make you feel right at home. Breakfast were delicious, Kevin is a great cook! Very close to downtown Falmouth, you can walk there. The inn is in such a pretty area of Cape Cod that you would truly enjoy. Can't wait until another visit to this wonderful inn. Give it a try, you will love it.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Nye room which was just perfect. Cannot go wrong with any of the rooms. All beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Eileen, It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we thank you for choosing to spend your time in Cape Cod at The Captain's Manor. I may have to get a bigger hat for Kevin after your wonderful compliments on his breakfast cooking :) We love sharing our picturesque town of Falmouth with guests and are happy that you found it pretty and also convenient to be able to walk from the Inn into downtown Falmouth village. We look forward to a future visit and the chance to share even more of the beauty of Cape Cod.
Best wishes
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at your Magnificent Bed and Breakfast!
The beautiful decor, the delicious/ abundant gourmet breakfasts and everything was so very squeaky clean!!!
Your gracious hospitality was very much appreciated specially your help with directions and your suggestions of restaurants!
We highly recommended your gorgeous B and B.
Hope to visit you again!!'
Wayne and Ody
Miami Lakes, Florida

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Wayne and Ody thank you for choosing to spend some of your getaway with us. We were happy that you were able to fit that day trip in for Martha's Vineyard and getting a private tour worked out nicely :) It is always fun to recommend our wonderful Village restaurants to guests and to know The Glass Onion was a treat for you both. Looking forward to a future visit and Wayne you will be happy to know that we are getting out for a round of golf later today Yay!
Trish and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I can not say enough good things about The Captain's Manor Inn. I was impressed before I even stepped foot on their property. My husband and I like to travel a lot, so I have visited my share of websites for inns, hotels, B&Bs, etc. I have found that more often than not, the hospitality industry is sorely lacking in the website department. However, Captain's Manor had a well designed website, with lots of information & photos, and it was super easy to see what their availability was. Trish, the innkeeper, responded right away to a question I submitted via email. Luckily, the inn had availability for the night I needed, so I went ahead and booked the room. Trish sent me personalized driving directions from the place I'd be driving from -- an extra touch that was very welcome.

Both Trish and Kevin are very personable, and we chatted easily while I was checking in. The inn features a "bistro" where you can help yourself to coffee or tea at any time during the day, and you might even find a homemade treat set out by the innkeepers as well.

I had the opportunity to view three of their guest rooms, and they were all immaculate, beautifully decorated and comfortable. I chose the Forbes Room, which is in a quiet upstairs corner of the inn. The bed was high, firm, and incredibly comfortable. The sheets were the softest I've ever felt in my life (was pleased to find out that they can be purchased through the inn as well, and even on their website). The shower was nice and hot with great water pressure and also featured a rain shower head.

Lights throughout the common areas of the inn are on motion sensors, so that you may feel welcome to visit the bistro or library at any time during the day or night.

Breakfast was a nice and relaxing experience, featuring delicious, homemade cooking.

The inn is perfectly located in Falmouth Center, within walking distance of a number of great restaurants, shops and pubs. Trish made a number of recommendations for dinner, and the inn even has menus from several restaurants to review before venturing out.

In summary, this was one of the finest inns I have stayed at, and I look forward to going back, and soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Lorraine, Thank you for writing such a detailed and kind review. It was wonderful to have you with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. It was great that you had a chance to enjoy the village when you got to take a break on a work weekend. We look forward to your return for a getaway with your husband :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We're a family of three from Milan, Italy. Andrea (13 years old), Irene and Gianluca. We use to travel a lot, mainly in the US. The highlight of our 2012, in terms of holidays, has been the days we spent last August at the Captain's Manor Inn.
The place is superb, an old home renovated in a perfect way. And is very close to the historic district, with all the restaurants. And from there you can enjoy Cape Cod, by bike or in any way you want.
But more than that the best part are Trish and Kevin, the innkeepers. They waited for us coming from New York in the late evening, just to welcome and make us comfortable. And from the very next day we loved the amazing homemade breakfast, the advice they gave us to visit the Cape and Martha's Vineyard (all nailed, by the way), the snack they prepare when you come back from a day outside and the beautiful chat you can have with them if you want. All in all, a really fantastic experience

Room Tip: Tuscany room: cozy and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Gianluca thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was indeed our pleasure to be hosts to you, Irene and Andrea. We so enjoyed talking with you and hearing about your travels and Andrea's experience in New York. He is such a impressive young man. Thank you also for sending that lovely picture of Christmas in Milan...so beautiful. Wishing you and your family a wonderfully happy and healthy 2013.
Best Regards, Trish and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Okay, you can already tell by my bountiful superlatives that I really liked this place. First of all, as other reviewers have said, Trish and Kevin, the innkeepers, are such helpful and likable people. Every morning over a delicious homemade breakfast we consulted Trish on sightseeing questions and she always had just the right tip or suggestion. The daily homemade treats left out for each guest (identified by room name) was a really nice touch (I have to admit to eating both cupcakes one day since my husband doesn't have quite the sweet tooth I have. Okay, I ate both the brownies too). And the room was to die for. We stayed 4 nights in the recently added Robinson room and it truly was the best bed & breakfast room we've ever stayed in. The pictures on the website are accurate -- the room is really spacious, beautifully decorated, the bathroom is big with a separate shower and big claw tub bath. The location is perfect -- walking distance to the town center, bike rental store and also to the ferry bus stop for a day trip to Martha's Vineyard. We had a perfect time at the Captain's Manor Inn and I'm not sure how anyone could not.

Room Tip: The Robinson room has its own private entrance but you can also go down the inside stairs to the din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsManor, Owner at Captain's Manor Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share a detailed review with other travelers and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. What fun to hear of a kindred sweet tooth spirit.... I too have been known to eat Kevin's desert along with mine. As early guests in the new Robinson room we are happy to know that you enjoyed the room and all its amenities. Your description of all the wonderful things to do so close to the Inn is one of the very reasons we choose the location. It would be our pleasure to be your hosts again should you return to Cape Cod. Wishing you a wonderful 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Tennessee
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You cannot go wrong by staying at the Captain's Manor Inn. The owners, Trish and Kevin are very gracious and accommodating. They have done a fantastic job renovating a lovely old home with a large, well groomed yard. The Manor is within walking distance to the historic district, but is still very quiet as the home sits back from the street. Breakfast was served when it was convenient to you and always delicious. Great place and people - makes you want to stay there again on a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Manor Inn

Address: 27 W Main Street, Falmouth, MA 02540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Cape Cod Bed & Breakfast offers a splendid retreat in the heart of Falmouth Village's historic district. This stately 1849 home has been lovingly restored to feature modern amenities in each of its 8 guestrooms with en suite bathrooms. On the National Historic Register of Historic Places, this unique estate features an elegant living area with original black marble fireplace and expansive plantation style windows that open onto the vast wrap around veranda. Take a short stroll to visit Falmouth Village's many boutique shops, restaurants, galleries, and museums. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Manor Hotel Falmouth
Captain's Manor Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.