We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palmer House Inn to your Saves list
Palmer House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   81 Palmer Avenue, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Hampden ME
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We return again and again to the Palmer House Inn for a relaxing place to stay. My husband and I have stayed in the summer in the winter and both are wonderful. The rooms are always well appointed, the breakfast is spectacular, and other amenities such as snacks and coffee throughout the day are an added benefit. We enjoy the location for walking around town whether in the sun or in the snow. The Inn is in close proximity to shops and wonderful restaurants. Pat and Bill’s attention to detail and warm welcome make us feel like special guests. 
We are always looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Hastings H, It is always a pleasure to host you at the Palmer House. Thank you for writing this wonderful review. Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    23
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
178
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was a lovely place to stay and get married! My (now) husband and I eloped and had the ceremony near the fireplace. Bill and Pat arranged the officiant for us. Afterwards, they set up a table with cake and champagne. They gave me a bouquet and also gave us a gift card for one of the restaurants in the area. The room was very clean. Our room had a jacuzzi in the restroom, fireplace, and TV if you wanted to watch it. In the morning, a gourmet breakfast was served. It was delicious! Then we walked around the town and went to Woods Hole, which is nearby. In the evening, before dinnertime, you can also hang out in the living room and have cookies and tea or coffee. It was very nice and relaxing. I would recommend it to a friend and would love to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Jennifer, We are very pleased that you were happy with your recent elopement at the Palmer House Inn. The Elopement Package is one that we started two years ago and it has become quite popular. We do an average of two elopements a month and it is always a happy event. Many thanks for the great review. Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having had the good fortune of staying at the Inn previously, on two separate occasions, we decided to share this absolutely fantastic Inn with very close friends of ours this past weekend.

To be sure, Bill, Pat and the staff once again exceeded our every expectation. Their attention to every detail within the Inn has over the years proved to us their commitment to our happiness and well-being. We always wake refreshed and talk often about extending our stay.

We have already begun to discuss another stay including other close friends.

Room Tip: Having stayed in separate 3 rooms I can honestly say that there isn't anyone I wouldn't reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear KC, As always it was a pleasure to host you at the Palmer House Inn. It was great to chat and catch up on your latest interests. Thank You, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at The Palmer House Inn and found it to be as pleasant as the first. Exceptionally clean, with many thoughtful guest amenities- such as the basket filled with Cape Cod chocolates and local potato chips in our room. The home cooked breakfast is always a treat and the inn keepers and staff most pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Cheryl C, It was a pleasure to see you again. We are happy that you enjoyed the Cape Cod treats that we have placed in each guest room. The baskets are a new addition this year and our guests seem to be enjoying them. Thank you for excellent review, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our room was lovely and clean. Breakfast alternates each day between sweet and savory but is always a treat.
The Inn is walking distance from the shops and restaurants of Falmouth as well as to the bike trail and curling club.
The town is picturesque with beautiful gardens all about. Fun shops for everyone. A real lovely view of America.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Lindberger, Thank you for the wonderful review. You are correct Falmouth truly is an ideal American hometown and the Palmer House Inn has an ideal location. We are just a seven minute walk from the Main Street shops and restaurants. We are happy that you were able to visit us during the spring. Always, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This our second stay at the Palmer House. We've already reserved for next year. Every Easter my wife and I take a couple days off before visiting my brother and family in Boston. We like Falmouth because of it's beautiful village, bike path that is just terrific, and fine dining establishments. Just a great place to spend some down time. The Palmer House is a bed and breakfast with a number of surrounding cottages, plus a couple fairly large homes. It's all on the same property. Both times we've stayed we've picked a nice cottage which allows us to bring our dog, and allows lots of privacy. It's pretty difficult to find a dog friendly place to stay. The cottage is absolutely immaculate, beautifully appointed, with everything you could possibly need for a few nights or an extended stay. You're walking distance from the bike path, a super bike shop, all the shops and restaurants the village offers, and a short bike ride of car ride to Woods Hole where you can pick up a ferry to Martha's Vineyard for a fun day trip. Each morning the O'Connell's prepare a gourmet breakfast which is a real treat and something to look forward to. It's really over the top.
I highly recommend the Palmer House if you enjoy great New England hospitality.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We always look forward to your visits.

This year we initiated a new program, "Same Time Next Year". You are the first guests to take advantage of it. How it works, is that we put an envelope and short note with a few thought provoking questions, in each room at check-in. All that you have to do is to place the note with a few of their thoughts written on it into the envelope and turn it into the Check-in desk upon your check-out. At the same time you make a reservation for the same time next year. We then seal the envelope with wax and it will be placed in your room upon your return. The bonus is that you get 2013 room rate in 2014. I think that it is going to be an enjoyable program.Always, Pat & Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is like living in a cottage in Downton Abbey. The Victorian style inn is immaculately clean and elegantly decorated. The Breakfast were great. Our hosts Bill and Pat could not have been nicer. I recommend

Room Tip: If you are early to bed, choose a room in the back as the exterior lights remain on until 10 ish and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerHouseInn, Owner at Palmer House Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Lee's What a wonderful compliment to compare us to Downton Abbey. The cottage is a charming little place. We have worked to make it warm and inviting. It was a pleasure to host you and hope o see you again. Fondly, Bill & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House Inn

Address: 81 Palmer Avenue, Falmouth, MA 02540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Queen Anne style B & B and adjacent Guest House reflect the gentility, charm and romantic elegance of the Victorian Age. This romantic bed and breakfast is in Falmouth's Historic District, a quiet residential area of tree lined streets, picket fences, colorful gardens, and elegant homes. Beautiful beaches, quaint shops, ferry shuttles and excellent restaurants are only a short stroll from our Cape Cod Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Palmer House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Falmouth
Palmer House Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.