We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coonamessett Inn

The Coonamessett Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Coonamessett Inn to your Saves list
The Coonamessett Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   311 Gifford Street, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

A crackling fire, local residents sitting at intimate areas of the dining room and bar, wonderful service -- what more would you want. We selected the special dining (includes all) and had
a sumptuos pork and apple pork loin -- house salad, wonderful rolls and then those desserts.
Can't beat the price and atmosphere. It was off season (November) and the service was
wonderful and unhurried! Don't miss the Cape in November. Perfect! judycutie

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
23
31
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
falmouth, ma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We live in Falmouth and are amazed that anyone eats here. Then if you look at the demographic it is people who are quite elderly--not that there is anything wrong with that. My mother loves it, bland food in an old setting.
When we first moved here we would put up overflow guests here but it was not great, old rooms and expensive. We now use an inn on the village green instead.
The staff is nice and they do a lot of weddings and events and it has that feeling. The bar area is really tired and quiet. The menu is uninspired and just not worth paying for when you can heat up frozen food at home for the same flavor.
We want to support local restaurants--although this is really one of a chain of restaurants by the same owner (all mediocre at best)--but the food is awful. Try Main Street or Woods Hole for tasty food.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had dinner at the restaurant on a Friday night. There was a large wedding going on in the function room so parking was tight but it didn't affect the service at all. Everyone- from the hostess to the waiter to the bartenders- was so professional and friendly. The food was delicious, from fresh scrod to the fried asparagus spears! And the prices were surprisingly reasonable for such a nice place. Seafood entrees for around $20 and even a three-course deal for $25! Will continue to return and consider for any functions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

Me and my gf split a 2 bedroom room with 3 of her friends for 2 nights. The place was clean. The shower is from 1970 and needs to be updated. It's basically like showering in a coffin. Im 6'1" 200 lbs and couldnt move an inch to soap myself up. Also none of the doors seemed to be able to close all the way. Seemed like the wood was warped. I had my gf's friends walk in on me taking a smash on multiple occasions becuase the bathroom door wouldnt close or lock.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rindge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We ate at this inn one evening last week. We were there early and were the first party seated. The dining room is lovely, and we were seated right near the window that looks over the pond in back of the inn. The host was very cordial and our waitress was efficient and friendly. The food was outstanding - possibly the best meal we had while in Falmouth. The cost was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend dining at the Coonamessett Inn!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I took my husband here for his birthday on May 2, 2011. He ordered the lobster dinner for $25 which included soup or salad, entree, choice of two desserts and hot tea or coffee. The lobster was huge and he loved it. His first choice was Prime Rib which they were out of and this was a Monday so you have to get there early no matter what day you go. Everything was great and we are going again on Mother's Day for dinner. We tried to get the brunch but it was sold out two weeks ago! Can you believe that! We love the place. Elizabeth Forman

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

There are a lot of nice things to say about this hotel, BUT THE WALLS ARE PAPER THIN. It was BAD to have to listen to a marathon session in the next room in the middle of the night. And the front desk people just shrugged "that's the way it is".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coonamessett Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coonamessett Inn

Address: 311 Gifford Street, Falmouth, MA 02540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coonamessett Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coonamessett Inn is located in the heart of historic Flmouth village. Our 29 rooms have just undergone a full renovation with all new furniture, flat panel tv's, carpeting and paint. If you have stayed with us before you recognize us. Our full service bar and dining room make us a perfect romantic getaway spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Coonamessett Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coonamessett Hotel Falmouth
The Coonamessett Inn Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coonamessett Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.