We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with wonderful owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town and Beach Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Town and Beach Motel to your Saves list
Town and Beach Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   382 Main Street, Falmouth, MA 02540   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Falmouth
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location with wonderful owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This motel has an excellent location...literally down the block from shops and restaurants. It is clean and well maintained. The mattress was firm and comfortable. The shower had great pressure. The best part of T&B, however, are the personable owners. We immediately felt as if they were truly glad to welcome us. They suggested an alternate ferry to Martha's Vineyard (within walking distance of the motel) and allowed us to leave our car in their parking lot so we would avoid a $15 parking fee at the ferry. It is obvious they take great pride in being hospitable to their guests. T&B is not a four-star accommodation, but our experience there was.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    38
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
26
43
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The two ladies who run the motel were very friendly and have put some nice touches to the motel. It is very convenient for walking to the ferry for Martha's Vineyard (15-20 min walk).

However it comes down to a good night's sleep and an adequate bathroom. Once we learned the air conditioner had to be on the highest possible setting; we were able to cool the room. It is very noisy at this level so I had to alternate cooling enough to sleep and turning off the air conditioner to rest from the noise until it became too muggy again. (not a restful sleep)

Using my hair dryer blew the fuse shutting off everything and we lost the middle of our tv show we were watching. I went to bed with wet hair and had two days of "bad hair". The toilet seems to lean into the tub ( floor unlevel?). Also the toilet seat was not anchored properly which mgment had not known and they will look at it.

A lot of people smoke; however we were fortunate that our neighbors did not smoke. Parking is very tight, so once we parked our SUV, we did not move it until we left. It was possible to walk to restaurants.

It is an older property and once they fix the stains on the bath and sink, noisy air conditioner units, clean the mini blinds, it might be a cute nostalgia motel......but they just aren't there yet... in my opinion. I felt it was over priced for what we dealt with.

Room Tip: We were in the back room 18 so we only had neighbors on one side. You can hear your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townbeach, Owner at Town and Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
I'm really not sure where to begin with this "review" I would first like to say it was unexpected but unfortunately after spending two days with this couple it was very expected. I can't address everything on this laundry list, but the most important issues are as fallows.
First, the A.C.s When you first checkin the rooms are warm and most people put the A.C.s on high to cool the room down, then turn to low to maintain the temp. I explained this to the couple however them must have misunderstood, so for that I am sorry.
Second, the beds. All our mattresses are brand new, most purchased at Boston Interiors and we have had no complaints, if anything we have had raves about the quality.
The bathrooms are older and i'm not sure what was meant by not being level. however the room was checked and everything seemed to be fine, form the "stained baths" to the" mini blinds".
I'm sorry this couple did not have a wonderful time as most of our guest do. We have stated repeatedly that we are a small family run motel, not a large resort. Please take the time to read all the reviews and we look forward to seeing you on Cape Cod.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We just returned from a much too short visit to the Cape. We enjoyed our stay so much at Town and Beach Motel that we are already planning our return for next summer !! The 2 very kind women (apologize for never asking your names ) who it seems run/own the motel are incredibly informative,down to earth and a pleasure to speak with. The motel is perfectly located,well kept,and a hidden gem. We had never been to Mass,or the Cape before...and we had a wonderful experience all around. Clean,just the right amenities....safe....ideal location. Couldn't have asked for better !!! See ya next year :)

Room Tip: The a/c was a bit noisy....so maybe that can be addressed going forward...and the well lit parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed here last weekend with my girlfriend. We had to book online and only had the option for 2 beds, when we checked in we were asked I'd we would prefer a king bed since they had a cancelation. Very pleasant and friendly staff. The room was clean, pretty spacious for a motel and comfortable. We even got our own mini fridge as a part of the very reasonable rate. Looking forward to staying here next time we're on the Cape!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A great affordable very clean motel , upon opening the door to our room ; the smell of clean laundered linens , vinyl flooring ( no carpeting is a plus ) decor very pleasing , bathroom very clean all around a great place with great rates within walking distance to shopping , dining and beaches and cannot forget the staff , exceptional.

Room Tip: Park your car and leave it for your stay , walking convenience is exceptional ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We loved our stay at Town and Beach! The staff at the front desk were very helpful and courteous. The rooms were clean, the price was great, and the location was right downtown. We could have walked to several restaurants had it not been raining.
My favorite part was the quirky details. There were lots of fixtures left over from the 60s or so, making it feel like a Madmen set. The door knocker, built-in wall tissue box, and built-in bottle opener added a lot of charm. The place was kept up well, though not a luxury hotel. Which, after all, wasn't what I was paying for. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I loved my stay! This quaint motel has rooms with character and I appreciated that my room was spacious, clean and accomodating. The staff was very sincere, as I was there on family emergency. It is less than a five minute walk to downtown and I took advantage of that for my evening wine. The first restaurant you'll pass is a great Mexican restaurant. I was there alone and definately felt safe walking to downtown and at the motel. I do recommend for small families, couples or singles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town and Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Beach Motel

Address: 382 Main Street, Falmouth, MA 02540
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town and Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town & Beach Motel is a small family run motel. Rooms have double, queen or king beds. All rooms have full bath, 32 inch flat screen direct TV, AC and heat.King rooms and doubles have refrigerators Free parking with room and free wi-fi is available. Walking distance to beach, ferry's to Marthas Vineyard, sailing, fishing, and Falmouth Village. Up to two children under 16 are free in parents' room. Coffee is served in the office every morning. Call for special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Town and Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Beach Hotel Falmouth
Town And Beach Motel Falmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town and Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.