We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing I loved it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Island & The Mangroves (Cayo Arena)

Paradise Island & The Mangroves (Cayo Arena)
Paradise Island, Punta Rucia, Dominican Republic
+1 809-841-7606
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$159*
and up
Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia...
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Escojan cual de nuestras embarcaciones los transportan hacia la fantastica isla desierta Cayo Paraiso. Arenas Blancas, Aguas Turquesa y una brisa fresca de Oceano. Asombrosos arrecifes de coral y gran variedad de Escojan cual de nuestras embarcaciones los transportan hacia la fantastica isla desierta Cayo Paraiso. Arenas Blancas, Aguas Turquesa y una brisa fresca de Oceano. Asombrosos arrecifes de coral y gran variedad de coloridos peces tropicales en una de nuestras mas divertidas actividades "Snorkeling". En contraste con esta fantastica aventura tambien podran visitar los manglares en el Parque Nacional de Montecristi y aprender acerca de las maravillas de la naturaleza acompanado de nuestro eficiente personal. No deje de probar la variedad de frutas tropicales y tomar un insolito cafe en la islas o de navegar a borde de nuestro Yate VIP saboreando una copa de champan. Para los mas intrepido rumbo al historico sitio de La Isabela El Castillo con nuestro crucero Gatao con todos los confort.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing I loved it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good for persons who have never snorkled before, because your in waist high water so if you get nervous all you have to do is stand up.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    145
    43
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“good day out, but not quite what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have been to 'paradise' islands before so expected something similar but was a tad disappointed. the speedboat journey over was scary (but I got the hang of it on the way back). But we had over 2 hours there with no sunbeds and very little shade. We did enjoy a bit of snorkelling but did get a bit bored.

The island was about 100ft long and about 30ft wide, and with (small) waves coming from all directions at one point or another, there was nowhere to sit with a towel and stay dry! We even helped the guys move the huts when the waves started to come in from a particular direction!

The speedboat back to shore was fabulous and we loved the mangroves, so that was the best bit (for us). We are glad that we did it, but if we'd realised before then we would perhaps have chosed a different trip out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“sand bank 2hr stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

the speedboat ride was good, but we stayed 2.5hrs on a sandbank with no were to sunbathe or sit down

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very pretty, go early to be alone !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's stupid to call it Paradise Island, the real name is Cayo Arena. Because it's a pile of sand that stick out of the ocean, surrounded by corals. From Punta Rucia or playa Ensenada, you take a boat (15mn) to land on this piece of sand (20m long 5m wide), it's fun, cause it's so small that the waves from one side reach the other side.
I went with locals, they have a company called Martirez, they are brothers, really nice and respectful. And they leave earlier than the others so that when you get there you're almost alone, cause, man, by 10.30 this small plae is crowded, and it kinda kills the beauty of it.

The reef is ok, not the best i've seen but still so nice colors and fish.

You get your morning filled for 1000 pesos, it's nice.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent! Marysoltours.net”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I would lonce again like to parise Francisco for setting up our tour and airport transfer. He takes pride in his company. Me, my hubby and another couple that went with us enjoyed the tour. Everything as promised. Keep his email handy as sometimes the phones in DR act up. You can email with WIFI from the lobby.

Beach on the little island was nice, staff was great, adn they even filmed us and offered fro us to buy the video of the tour which we did. Thanks!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Island & The Mangroves (Cayo Arena) also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Paradise Island & The Mangroves (Cayo Arena)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Island & The Mangroves (Cayo Arena), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.