We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosa

Save Saved
You added Villa Rosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Rosa
Calle Principale, Punta Rucia, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Punta Rucia B&B and Inns
Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

what a perfect stay we had at la vila rosa ! best location, right on th beach, rooms are clean and spacious, host very helpfull, help us organise kitesurf trip to paradise island and a cayac trip at the best price ! its the place to enjoy stand up paddle boarding in the morning and kite in the afternoon!
Safe, easy to find, We will be back !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Beautiful...

We stayed at Villa Rosa in Punta Rucia for 4 nights. Punta Rucia is a very small fishing village with friendly ppl, there is one main street and few tourists (at the moment - we also heard more development is expected soon including quite a number of French residents moving from Las Galeras to Punta Rucia) . There are a few guesthouses and one hotel at the entrance and a couple of restaurants if you do not eat at Villa Rosa (which is fantastic), a restaurant next door which we didn't eat at but was recommended and a restaurant to your left further down which was good. There is a discoteca which we went to, small, basic, open air, where you can dance bachata y merengue with the locals and the rum is cheap. Punta Rucia is so beautiful, the sunsets are so beautiful, the whole setting is like a postcard. This is the Atlantic Ocean but the water is so shallow, calm and warm - it so lovely! Apparently there is alot of coral which is why the water is so calm but in winter more rough. The beach across the road - the whole beach/coast of Punta Rucia is shallow, warm and clean - so beautiful - so wonderful - we walked along the beach from Punta Rucia to Playa Ensenada, stopping to swim along the way and we were alone at almost all times - not something I would expect you can get on the stretches of beach near Puerto Plata and Punta Cana. Playa Ensenada is nice and better for swimming as a bit deeper but it's very busy - esp on the weekend and unfortunately quite dirty - there is alot of litter. Off Playa Ensenada there are many shacks selling food and some discotecas - very Dominican, definitely have a look and while I was wary of the food (as I had gotten sick eating on the beach in another South American country), we ate some delicious Cotorra (Parrot) fish (known in this area), freshly caught and cooked with no stomach problems after. A must do while in Punta Rucia is Cayo Paraiso (Paradise Island) - a small island / sandbar 15-20mins by boat from Punta Rucia. The boat ride coming up to island and little island itself is amazing, ocean and surroundings so beautiful. We did a private tour, so there was just the two of us plus 2 crew and prices were more than worth it (Villa Rosa can secure booking with good price or you can go as a group for cheaper) as the guys were lovely, gave us snorkelling equipment, bread to feed the fish, and stayed with us all day, we also visited mangroves on the way back. The water is so clear and there are many varieties of fish - so colourful, so beautiful! Really can't recommend this enough. We went early (about 8am) and had the island to ourselves to snorkel, swim, lay on the beach. About an 1.5hr later another 2ppl came and an hour or so after that many crammed boats of ppl arrive which is when we decided to leave. There are only a few huts on the island so no food/drinks etc so make sure your bring you own. Villa Rosa has a main house where owner/staff stays with outdoor area to sit/eat, there is a circular pool and nice garden and further down a separate building with two separate large rooms and outside seating area - we had a double bed and single bed with mosquito nets, tv, bathroom. No hot water but water is cool so fine (water is warmer later in the morning / during the day). Room is basic but nice but the staff and owner and the food he cooks is spectacular! The owner is absolutely lovely - very friendly and helpful and he is an amazing chef, we had the most delicious French meals, the most fresh fish, and some lovely French wine to match - as with other Latin American countries good wine is hard to find and all of it terribly expensive so this was a real treat and all not overpriced at all - especially considering the quality of food matched some very expensive French meals we had in London. We ended our 2wk DR holiday in Punta Rucia and it couldn't have been a better ending.
Best way to get there:
From Puerto Plata get the motorway 30 towards El Estrecho - El Ranchito towards Punta Rucia
From Santiago de caballeros Motorway 1 get Mortorway 5 towards Altamira and then Motorway 30 to Punta Rucia. Avoid the Motoway 30 road that comes from (motorway 1) Autopista Duarte, towards Agua De La Palma - El Papayo as it is a dirt road and takes too long.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leogan, Haiti
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

My mom and I stayed here for three nights. It's a great place to relax- the food was wonderful, the rooms are nice and the atmosphere is quiet, casual and laid back. The beaches are beautiful, and most of the time totally private. Its a great place to come to if you are not into the all-inclusive resorts and want something smaller and a more personal feeling- Arnaud and Valerie are great hosts .

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed in Punta Rucia for a few days before our trip to the Silverbanks to swim with whales. At Villa Rosa we had our own little room in a building separate from the main house. Arnaud cooked us amazing and creative vegetarian meals (at our request!) every evening - and lunch if we wanted it. You can walk out of the gate straight onto the beach to go swimming. Most of the time we were the only people in the sea! Punta Rucia is a delightful Dominican Village with very few tourists. You can walk right round the beach to Ensenada where you can find more cafes and shacks on the beach, with a Dominican party atmosphere at the far end and empty stretches of white sand and palm trees at the Punta Rucia end. There is a great restaurant on the beach between Ensenada and Punta Rucia called (I think) El Horno del Mar. It does amazing pizzas and salads. Arnaud and Valerie met us at the airport, and we got a taxi back to Puerta Plata which cost about $60. You can't get to Punta Rucia by public transport but if you have your own car it's fine as the roads are much improved. Dominican people are very friendly and it is great fun to walk around the village and have a chat with them. We loved our visit to the Haitian market with Arnaud and our visit to the manatee sanctuary with Valerie. If you go to Paradise Island to snorkel go really early. Arnaud asked a couple of the young fisher boys to take us, but even at 8.30 other boats were arriving. We left at 10.30 and it was getting really crowded. The snorkelling is excellent there, so well worth a visit, but go at 7.30!! Later on tour boats arrive from the all-inclusives at Puerta Plata and as they supply free rum you can imagine how impossible it gets to snorkel. Villa Rosa is a gem of a place - Arnaud and Valerie are wonderful, friendly hosts and you will learn a lot about Dominican life. I would go again in an instant! Get there quick before it gets ruined by mass tourism. Later in our trip we saw places which would have been like this once but have been taken over by tourists - get to Villa Rosa and enjoy the real Dominican Republic. Great value for money - showers were cold but who cares? And their dog is adorable!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: Calle Principale, Punta Rucia, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Punta Rucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Rucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;