We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eggs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaport Inn and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seaport Inn and Marina to your Saves list
Seaport Inn and Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Middle Street, Fairhaven, MA 02719 (Formerly The Holiday Inn Express Fairhaven-New Bedford Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fairhaven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Eggs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel only one night as we were traveling through the area. The lobby was very nice, the room was good, and the gal at the front desk was very helpful in directing us to a great sports bar. The best thing about the breakfast were the yummy eggs - wow! We arrived at the end of the breakfast time, so there were no sausages or bacon, and I think the pancake machine was broken... but the eggs were great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    43
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
54
42
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I too was a bit disappointed in my recent stay this past weekend. We were in for 2 nights for Family Weekend at nearby UMass Dartmouth.

The lobby looked great. The front desk folks were very friendly. I checked in with no issues.

The parking lot is to the side of the property right next to the docks. Plenty of parking, though there are two or three sets of lines, so people park every which way. The hallways and entrances were clean.

Our room looked great. Clean rugs and surfaces, and good smell. Average size, maybe a tad on the small side. Our only real beef was that Expedia had said it was a water view room and we were facing the opposite side.

Decor was fine, well lit with plenty of working lamps. Nice flat screen TV. Beds were reasonably comfortable Double Beds. Pillows were small and unsubstantial. The fit and finish of the room was top of the line.

Breakfast was good. The first morning there were bacon and eggs with a funky pancake making machine. The second morning there were sausage and eggs, but the pancake maker was broken. When it worked the pancake maker made pretty good pancakes. The bacon was done just right. The eggs were fine, not watery as you sometimes find elsewhere.

There were also the usual suspects - bread/toast, english muffins, bagels, Apple Juice, OJ, coffee, cold cereal, hard boiled eggs. The staff kept the place clean, emptied the trash often, stocked the food well. They did a great job.

We too experience the drunkenness a previous reviewer complained about. At 3am we were awakened by loud talking in the hallway. Two guys were arguing, one apparently drunk. The more sober one hit the drunk in the belly, and the drunk fell to the floor. He rolled over and laid there rubbing his head before retching and crawling down the hall. Ugly scene. We complained to the desk and it didn't recur the next night.

On the first morning, we ate breakfast at 9 and left our room for the day by 10, taking in our Do Not Disturb sign. There were cleaners in the hall doing other rooms as we left. We arrived back in our room at 6pm to find it still dirty. Even though the sign was taken in, and we had left an hour before checkout, housekeeping didn't make up our room. Again, we complained and had to do the room ourselves for the second night.

On the second morning, my wife decided against breakfast opting to sleep in while I took one of our kids down. But at 9:30, with our Do Not Disturb sign still out, we get a knock on the door from Housekeeping. Were we leaving? No, checkout isn't until 11. "It Is?" Weird.

I can only assume they were hassling us because we complained the day before. Either that or they really have no idea how Do Not Disturb signs work.

Room Tip: The odd-numbered rooms have water views, though at an angle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Found this great hotel through Trip Advisor, so thanks to reviewers for this tip! Spotlessly clean, quiet at night, fluffy towels, and close to everything! The rooms are a bit crowded but cozy! Best breakfast (delicious eggs) I ever had in a hotel/motel. Pleasant staff. Only suggestion I could offer is that they might consider putting a grab-bar in each bathtub. Other than that, we loved this place and will choose it when we return to the area in July.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Not sure where the good reviews are coming from. Rooms are average. The "fitness center" has NO ventilation. Big problem: drunks pour out of the bar associated with this hotel at 2 AM and then make noise all night. Room above us was trash talking until 4 AM and the noise filtered down to our room. Felt bad for the front desk guy who had to deal with those gang bangers. New Bedford trash stays here. Stay at the Hampton Inn up the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had read other reviews of this property, so expected a reasonable stay. There were some plusses, but overall I was very disappointed. This property is obviously an old Holiday Inn Express. (All of the fixtures and signage are those used by HIE). It is reasonably maintained, but not kept clean.
The room was in reasonable condition, 2 double beds, a television stuck to the dresser so that it could not be seen from the desk. A plus- a good number of television stations, though not quite all my favorites.
When I checked in on Monday night, the young lady at the front desk was helpful and friendly. The bathroom of my room had a dead bug on the floor (just a small one and I saw no live ones). That bug was still on the bathroom floor when I checked out on Friday! (yes, I left it--I forgot to pick it up Monday night, then after realizing it was still there Tuesday, ran an informal survey) That was one of the most disappointing aspects of the hotel. The coffeepot was never cleaned all week, either. Yes, housekeeping did make beds and take out trash, but that's about it.
Breakfast was adequate-- the usual cereals, eggs and bacon or sausage, breads, yogurt. The brown bananas sat for 3 days before being replaced.
Bottom line--I definitely do not plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

we had our wedding reception in the ballroom and stayed the weekend. i loved my stay here everyone was more than accommodating from the beginning. we booked a block of rooms for our guests and everyone had a great time. the food was amazing at the reception and i was told at the restaurant too. the staff was great Michelle and Stephanie helped us with what ever we needed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

All in all I would call our stay average. Not bad but not excellent either. And the end of the day, the most important questions is, would I stay there again? The answer is no, probably not.

Pros
-Being from the desert the location on the marina was really enjoyable. A walk down to Elizabeths for dinner during sunset was very nice.
-The room was clean. No sketchy shower mold or hair so we were pleased.
-Check in was quick and easy.
-We passed the exercise room and while we didn't use it, it seemed well equipped.

Cons
-Aside from the typical door slamming, it was still quite loud. From the vehicles outside and even people talking in the room, we could hear it all. Luckily we pack a sound machine so we were able to sleep.
-The location is literally across the street from the VFW and a packie so there is some outside noise.
-No microwave or fridge.
-The wifi didn't work in our room. We couldn't get a signal on our iphones or ipad but could get the wifi in the hallway on our way to the car.
-The hotel has a funky layout with half levels so you have to carry your luggage up some steps. Not a big deal for us but could be a struggle for an older couple.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaport Inn and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Inn and Marina

Address: 110 Middle Street, Fairhaven, MA 02719 (Formerly The Holiday Inn Express Fairhaven-New Bedford Hotel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Fairhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fairhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seaport Inn and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaport Inn and Marina, formerly The Holiday Inn Express Fairhaven-New Bedford Hotel is located on the beautiful New Bedford Fairhaven waterfront. Just minutes from the high speed Martha's Vineyard Ferry service, The Seaport Inn & Marina offers easy access to the most popular destinations! Only 20 miles from Cape Cod. Formerly The Holiday Inn Express, The Seaport Inn and Marina has been renovated extensively and updated.This beautiful waterfront hotel is centrally located to beaches, shopping, restaurants, as well as the historic and business districts of Fairhaven and New Bedford. Complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art fitness center and full laundry facility. We are pet-friendly. Our Marina offers deep water slips for boats from 20' to 70.' Slip rentals are available by the day, the week or the month.We have just completed the renovation on our Grand Ballroom! Follow our pool renovation progress starting October 2013 on Facebook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seaport Inn and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Inn And Marina Hotel Fairhaven
Holiday Inn Fairhaven
Fairhaven Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaport Inn and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.