We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essex River Cruises & Charters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex River Cruises & Charters

Essex River Cruises & Charters
35 Dodge St., Essex, MA 01929
+1 978-768-6981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Essex
Type: Tours, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Enjoy a scenic river excursion that captures the essence of New England " -Boston Globe. 1 1/2 hour narrated cruises, 1 hour evening cocktail cruise, along the calm waters of the Essex River. Glide back in time, past islands, dunes & beaches formed by glaciers. See historic mansions, shipyards, saltmarsh farms, rare birds, wildlife, and stunning scenery. Charters &Clambakes. Restroom onboard, free parking, handicaped accessible, cards taken, and bar available.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Essex River Cruises & Charters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It was a great trip. The scenery was just lovely and the Captain very informative. Would highly recommend it and then we went for a great Sea Food Lunch at the Village afterwards!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A boat with many views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Town of Essex is surrounded by marshes, inlet and harbors which meander along till the land finally allows a small opening letting water out to the sea. There is a long history of ship building here which is interwoven in the landscape. There is a huge portion of the coastline which is owned by the Trusties of the Reservation which means miles of unspoiled beach coastline to view. Off in the distance you can see the former home of a very eccentric millionaire who build Castle Hill which you can also visit. The Essex River Cruises & Charters show you all this and more with a very knowledgeable captain who explains it all.The boat is covered so the sun is not a problem but if the air is still or even a light breeze the very small marsh bugs might be a problem. We didn't notice them till we were heading back. We were going with the wind and they caught a ride. When they sell suntan lotion and bug spray at the ticket office there is usually a reason. All in all we had a lovely day. It was a great way to spend the afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“best family party ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We celebrated my parents 50th anniversary with 3 generations of family and it was absolutely perfect. The food was amazing, the boat terrific, the staff super friendly and knowledgeable -- I would do it again in a heartbeat. They timed our trip so that low tide would create a sandbar in the middle of the broad, wide Essex River as it moved toward the greater water. They set up our tables,chairs, volleyball nets, etc. and we had a ball while awaiting our delicious food. Really, truly a perfect way to celebrate a family event.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imlay City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“River cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our 90 minute cruise was very enjoyable...knowledgeable skipper explained tides, birds, movie locations...safe pontoon boat gives stable ride & rest room on board...
interesting houses...used a Groupon...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cruise on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was a very enjoyable cruise on the Essex River. Capt. Cliff gave a great commentary on some of the wild life as well as informing us about the land trusts, films shot in the area and an explanation of Red Tide. He talked about the tides, we were lucky enough to have an extremely high tide so were able to go further. He even talked about local restaurants and other activities in the area. The ride was 90 minutes, kind of hard to find without GPS, but very easy to board. This happened to be my Mother's Day gift. Since we had neither stroller nor wheelchair I am not sure of the storage or ability to get on board with one.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essex River Cruises & Charters also viewed

 

Been to Essex River Cruises & Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex River Cruises & Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.