We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Shea's Seafood Restaurant

Tom Shea's Seafood Restaurant
122 Main St, Essex, MA 01929-1304
(978) 768-6931
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 22 restaurants in Essex
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Spent a very pleasant afternoon here. We started with martinis that were excellent. We like them made a certain way and the bartender listened--they were perfect! We had our lunch at the bar which was very busy, as was the dining room. We shared steamers and a fried clam plate and both were really good! The service was very good and of course the view is always a plus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    19
    26
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great new room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

They have redone the dining room so everything flows better. Sat at the bar and there are 2 menus...just the bar(apps..burgers...oysters etc) or you can have the full menu. It was very good and the service was excellent.Never do this but i have to recommend the mussels on bruchetta...i wanted to lick the bowl.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view with average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a family get-together in Shea's Riverside Restaurant in Essex. The food was average but the view of the Essex River and the service was excellent - I really can't say enough about the view!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“we loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

after a long week of bad food we loved sheas food was fresh and young man serving use was super nice and friendly,value for dollar is great and will be back nest season for sure

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I had Lunch at Shea's on Monday. Granted it was a late lunch but there were only two other guests there and they we eating on the outside deck. My wife had a fried haddock sandwich which she liked. I had the soup of the day - tomato - along with mussels in a white wine garlic broth. The mussels were plentiful and quite tasty. The soup was dreadfully. It looked and tasted like someone heated up a can of puréed tomatoes. My wife commented to the waitress about it and she replied " that's what they have on Mondays." The wine list was rather limited and pricey by the glass. The bread was homemade but a little doughy. We had seats by a window with a fantastic view of the Essex River winding out to the Atlantic. Service was ok but the server spilled half of the mussel broth on the floor. Another foot and it would have landed on my lap. Backing out of the parking into traffic can be challenging. The restaurant has recently been somewhat bizarrely refurbished but is already showing signs of wear.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Shea's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tom Shea's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Shea's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.