We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't waste your time!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Hotel

Scarborough Hotel
383 Lawrence Hargraves Drive, Scarborough, New South Wales 2515, Australia
(02)4267 5444
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“don't waste your time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The only good thing with this hotel is the location, the place is under-staffed, the kitchen is so small ,especially for a busy place, food is way overpriced, and there is hardly any seating, if the carpark is full go somewhere else, not only will you wait ages for your food, but you'll have no where to sit and eat it! and if it's school holidays don't even bother! the last time i visited here was over a year ago and nothing has changed,i will not be returning.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    30
    27
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Keep going”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place has spectacular views but unfortunately they have no competition the have the clientele and they don't care !!!!! Customer service was atrocious food is overpriced

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This has always been our ultimate lunch venue for delicious fish, we always rave about it and make special trips down from the west of Sydney when we have guests visiting. Unfortunately we were disappointed on this trip down to find that the once amazing meals are now really average. apparantly the chef has changed sinc eour last visit and the meals are now bland, overpriced and undersized. We watched a truck unloading frozen seafood into the kitchen and weren't surprised. Really disappointed. Only worth the drive down for a drink and a bowl of chips now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular views but overpriced food and beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here because we had read it was the best beer garden in NSW. The Scarborough Hotel has amazing views but the food and beer is overpriced. You have to order the food yourself and walk back upstairs to pick it up. For a $19 salad with no protein in it you think they could at least bring it to you. The kids meals were $14 each for fried food. The view is memorable but that is about it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirroul
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great view, but seriously overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went there for lunch. At $28 for a plate of salmon and 3 halves of potatoes it is overpriced and not much value. It stil leaves you hungry...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Hotel also viewed

Stanwell Park, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Thirroul, New South Wales
 

Been to Scarborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.