We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful suite, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Party!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful suite, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We typically rent a house when we visit the vineyard, and always prefer to visit in May or September when the weather is usually pleasant and the crowds aren't at summer strength. This time, we were just going for a long weekend and decided to spoil ourselves with a cottage suite at the Harbor View since we were able to get a great off season rate These are the suites that have been most recently updated. We had been to Water St for dinner on previous trips, but had never stayed at the hotel before.

All prior reviews of the cottage suite were right on. The suite was beautiful, clean and spacious. Just what we were looking for for a relaxing weekend getaway. My husband loved all of the technology in the suite (wi-fi, two flat screen TVs and integrated speaker system throughout that you can hook your iPod into). I loved the bathroom...amazing shower with incredible pressure, beautiful soaking tub and L'Occitane bath products -- what's not to love? I think I could have spent the whole weekend in that bathroom. Luckily, there was more in the suite and the island itself so I did venture out :). The king bed was comfortable and piled with gleaming white linens and the gas fire was an oh so welcomed site after we had one particularly windy/chilly day out. The suite had two private porches with comfy chairs and an outdoor shower (alas, a little two chilly for use in May). We were traveling as a couple, but I can see how this suite would work well for a small family as there were two sets of doors -- one to divide the bedroom from the kitchen/bathroom area and another set of doors to divide the living room/dining area from the kitchen/bathroom area.

We didn't end up eating at Henry's during this trip (Water St wasn't yet opened for the season). As many others have commented, you really can't beat the location of the Harbor View. Your steps away from the Edgartown lighthouse and under a 10 minute stroll (through beautiful historic Edgartown) to all of the shops and restaurants. The main building's porch is a wonderful spot to sit and relax on a warm evening.

If there was one negative, I regret to say it was with the front desk staff. Both at check in and check out staff members were detached and somewhat aloof. We're not the type of travelers that need to be fawned over, but we're always appreciative of friendly service and here, sadly, it was lacking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    156
    64
    47
    22
See reviews for
165
300
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We spent three nights at the Harbor View after finding a very reasonable off-season rate - about 1/3 the price of summer rates. The Harbor View is situated across the street from a wonderful sandy beach and lighthouse - just fantastic for active kids. It is walking distance to downtown Edgartwon shops and restaurants and is also a great starting point for bike rides along the ocean with the Chappy ferry just steps away. We stayed in the Mayhew House, an attached 3-story building that resembles a basic hotel - perfect since our little ones ages 6 and 10 were always on the move and we didn't want to subject main inn guests to any extra commotion. Our room was very comfortable and had a good-sized fridge so were able to bring drinks and snacks. There was a balcony overlooking the outdoor pool, which doesn't open until Memorial Day, and a huge grassy side lawn so the kids could let loose. (I'm assuming it's used for outdoor weddings so it may be off-limits on nice weekends.) The staff were very friendly and the lobby/porch/restaurant felt elegant but homey. My only criticism would be the tiny bathroom which is tough for even two people to maneuver. I would absolutely stay here again if the price is right. Edgartown is quintessential New England!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

High Quality, Good price (prepaid on the Internet), very good situation on the waterfront.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I thought we had written this review last year but after checking our profile here it looks as if we forgot. We stayed in one of the private cottages and we were in awe from the moment we stepped in ! From the decor to the, tranquility, to the cleanliness it was at the top of all of our rankings. And yes, we are picky ! The service was top notch as well as the staff. We could go on and on. The proximity to shopping and dining it great too. The name of the cottage we stayed in was Captain Layfette which is the one they use in their ads.. It was exquisite ! We will go again and again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

My family has vacationed on MV each summer for decades and we usually rent a house instead of staying at a hotel. My fiance and I are getting married on the island next summer and needed to visit in November to meet with vendors, so we booked a room for us and one for my parents at the Harbor View as we've always wanted to stay at the resort. The lobby is just beautiful, and the front desk staff was very nice and eager to help. We checked in late in the evening our first night so we had dinner at Henry's, the bar/restaurant at the resort. George the bartender was very knowledgable and gave great recommendations. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the lobster mac and cheese. Amazing! Our rooms were very nicely furnished and the decor was perfect for the location. Our bathroom looked as if it was the only thing not to be renovated but it was still very clean.

The resort was pretty full for a quieter time of year and we didn't feel as if it was overcrowded or noisy at all. Overall, we had a very positive experience and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I'm very late in writing this but wanted to share our experience with the Harbor View. We went to MV in March of this year for a long weekend. I know, I know ... March... as in winter, as in low/off season (i.e. most of the Island is "closed") but we love the Vineyard and wanted to have a quiet get away.

During previous visits we have stayed at the Harbor View once before in high-season and it was just way too noisy. We have also stayed at the Kelly House in off-season and found that very enjoyable so we thought we would try the Harbor View in March.

The staff are all very helpful and that was well demonstrated by the front desk person assisting us with being able to order food at the bar despite late check-in (8:45pm) and the bar food service stopping at 9:00pm. She called the bar and the kitchen and requested that they stay open until we got to the bar -- after we went to our room and checked in. Given that no other restaurants were open in Edgartown at that time of night (remember, it's March) we really appreciated the customer service.
The bar is called Henry's we love the small plate selections. All the specials were wonderful.

We got a very good promo rate: buy two nights--low-season rate--get the third night free so the value we received for the dollar paid was good although we can't help feeling that we were given one of the least desirable rooms because we were staying on a promotional rate. Our room was barely above the roof above Water Street restaurant and one of our windows actually looked into a skylight that is over the restaurant. The hotel was maybe 35% occupied so I was a bit surprised at the room provided. Two other not-so-good things about our room was the temperature impossible to control: we could not get the room temp to be anything but very warm. And the doors to room and bathroom do not fit/close tightly. We could clearly see other guest walking by in the hall outside our room due to the rather large gap around the door.


The location is great and that is truly the attraction of the hotel. We very much enjoyed being steps from the water and a short walk into the heart of Edgartown.

We wished the hotel would have provided a coffee set-up, perhaps with a few muffins, etc. in the morning. Having the only breakfast option be Water Street (the Harbor View's restaurant) for a complete sit-down breakfast was surprising especially since the Newes (sister hotel's restaurant) does not serve breakfast and there are very, very few other options open in Edgartown at that time of year. One would expect a "Resort" to provide self-serve complimentary coffee year round.

All in all we love the Vineyard so we'll keep coming back to the Island. When we do go back we'll always plan an evening in Henry's at the Harbor View for the nice atmosphere, good service, and great food. We'll probably only book a room here when the promo rates are too good to resist.

Wish there was a "Maybe" category on the "would you recommend this hotel" question

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed here for one night whilst touring New England and this was the most expensive hotel from the seven we stayed at (one of these was the 5* Boston Intercontinental)

The public areas of the hotel are very nice and the exterior is pleasing to the eye. However the same care and attention to detail does not apply to the rooms. Whilst they are non-offensive we found them decorated to a generally basic standard especially considering the premium price tag. The room has a foisty smell, the air conditioning was loud as was the fridge (which we had to switch off to allow us to sleep), the shower had the previous guests soap suds all up the walls and the dressing gowns were covered in ladies hair.

The hotel whilst having nice views was a 10 minute walk to the centre of Edgartown.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. It offers its’ guests an array of amenities from our Water Activities with “Scout” our center console, “Stardust” our vintage picnic yacht, outdoor heated pool, Water St. Restaurant and Henry’s Hotel Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.