We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, comfortable with lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Party!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Smart, comfortable with lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Charming, comfortable hotel. Looks large from the outside but doesn't feel at all impersonal when indoors. Reception staff were very friendly. Rooms were spacious are beautifully decorated in heritage colours, big bay windows and window seat. Views over to the bay and lighthouse were charming when viewed from the wrap-around verandah in a rocking chair! Lovely spot to watch the sun go down in a quieter part of town away from the tourist throngs. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    156
    64
    47
    22
See reviews for
165
300
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We didn't realize this was one of the Historic Inns of America, but it well deserves to be included in that illustrious group. We have stayed at two others, one in Tucson and one in Louisville, and they have all been well worth the extra cost.

My one complaint is that the hotel's main dining room, probably owing to the lateness of season, was closed for the two nights of our stay. However, we consoled ourselves with two of the many choices of good eateries in Edgartown. The town is a quaint little place, and even this late in the season convenient parking can be difficult to find.

Our room had a generously sized balcony, and it was great to soak up the late afternoon sun while slowly drifting into a snooze. Should come here for two weeks instead of just for just two days.

Unfortunately, I cannot say much about the food being served, only having had a quick lunch in the bar shortly after our arrival. The lunch was OK, but nothing to write home about. Service, though, was stellar whenever we had to rely on it.

Room Tip: Don't settle for the first choice offered. Chances are they have something better to offer, sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I've stayed at the jewel of Martha's Vineyard at least a dozen times over the past 10 years, the Harborview Hotel. We have witnessed the ever so subtle, but still transparent decline in quality over the past 5 years. Aside from the phenomenal location and views from the charming front porch, you could always depend on the warm and friendly service from the oh so familiar faces that made this place feel like home. The smiles from the faces of the accommodating international students and the consistent, exceedingly warm and professional local management, front desk, concierge and housekeeping staff, the team we looked forward to every year.
The names may not be spelled correctly, but the faces were missed- manager Jim C., Breanna at the front desk, concierge Darlene and a wonderful veteran housekeeper in the main building, her name escapes me. Gone is our safe place on the Vineyard. Current staff was professional but lacked warmth. Rooms and public areas looking a bit shabby./surface clean only. Note to management and owners - what's going on ? It's obvious that they do not care about the future of this wonderful historic spot. We had some issues while there over the last couple years, a manager (chubby brunette in her 30s) at the front desk did her best to resolve but she always seemed so stressed and what could she do really ?
Bring back the old ambience, the old caring & familiar staff, some reasonable prices in the restaurants, housekeepers that take pride in their cleaning and stop trying to convert his island getaway to a New York or big city hotel. Simple, but dependable, stop trying so hard, it's not working.
We are seriously considering a new vacation destination, this is heartbreaking.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, but you will pay dearly for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticonderoga, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Absolutely spectacular view of the water!!!! Beautiful setting for the wedding reception!!! We would definitely return there to vacation. Edgartown has many quaint shops. Everyone was friendly and made you feel very welcome. It was a fantastic trip!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here the first week of June, which is considered off-season, so it was affordable and not crowded. The hotel has a wonderful wrap around porch where you can sit and look out at the Lighthouse and the bay. Even though it is historic, it was recently remodeled to include all modern conveniences and finishes. We stayed in the main building and loved our room which was not a water view but had a lovely view of the pool, comfy king size bed and sitting area next to bay windows. The hospitality is top notch. The hotel restaurant was a little pricey, but we did have breakfast there one morning and it was delicious. Also it's walking distance to Edgartown, or to bus stop to travel around the island. Definitely will stay here again when we return to Martha's Vineyard.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor in the main building. It was great, but you do have to use the stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Harbor View Hotel while attending a seminar. It was an outstanding location and though there are some things that need to be renovated or tweaked our stay was outstanding! Our first impression was of a superbly trained staff. The bellman and front desk seemed genuinely happy that we were going to be their guests for the weekend. Though we were early they expedited our room clean-up so we were able to freshen up before the seminar started. The meeting rooms were nice though the view over the pool and gardens was certainly distracting!
Our room was spacious though the bathroom was very small. The bed was comfortable with nice linens. As with most older hotels there were not enough electrical outlets conveniently located to charge electronic devices so that needs to be addressed when rooms are refurbished. Our balcony overlooked the pool and was roomy enough to sit in the sunshine and just relax. Another minor quibble about the room was that we had a difficult time controlling the temperature as the thermostat did not seem real accurate. Everything else seemed in good working order and was quite clean.
Several posters have complained about the musty smell in the corridors but we did not experience any of that. The carpeting could use replacing and a freshening up of the paint in the hallways would help.
The restaurants serve very good food though like everything on MV it is expensive! We enjoyed the friendly waitstaff and their multitude of accents!
The most outstanding thing about the Harbor View Hotel is the front porch with the rocking chairs overlooking the harbor. If you cannot relax on that porch you are beyond hope!
The Harbor View has an outstanding staff, great location, a beautiful facility and an unbelievable view from the front porch!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Only stayed here for one night, couldn't fault the hotel at all, our room was behind the main building, beside the pool. Large room, Hugh comfy beds, big balcony, room was very clean. Views from the front of the hotel are spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. It offers its’ guests an array of amenities from our Water Activities with “Scout” our center console, “Stardust” our vintage picnic yacht, outdoor heated pool, Water St. Restaurant and Henry’s Hotel Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.