We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Party!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two delightful nights with a travel group in late July. The young people who come from all over the World to work there during the summer gave their all and helped make our vacation a very nice experience. Loved the old-fashioned wrap-around porch. We were there on the night some music was being played by local talent on the porch. The food was quite good and served with smiles. The hotel is very well kept up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    156
    64
    47
    22
See reviews for
165
300
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We just returned from my first trip to Martha's Vineyard, hopefully the first of many more to follow. This hotel was perfect for our multigenerational family. We grandparents took a "simple" room, no fringes. It suited all our needs and wishes - large, airy, clean, quiet, with enough closet space, and comfortable. The hotel boasts a sublime location, just on the outskirts of lively Edgartown, walking distance to the center. The hotel facilities are more than sufficient and totally inviting for everyone. The heated swimming pool gave us a nice break daily in our busy schedule. The staff just about predicts and responds to your every wish. They are amazing!! Every small issue was handled in the best possible manner. I highly recommend this property. If price matters book one week before or after high season; the difference is significant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Harbor View in one of the one bedroom cottages. The hotel we have visited before and the service and view are great! The cottage was beautiful, everything you could want in comfort and amenities. We took a sunset cruise which was beautiful and informative about the area. Henry's Tavern is a great place to eat, the Henry's burger sounds weird with a fried egg but it is awesome and I don't like eggs. The view from the front porch is great to grab a drink and just sit! A great stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark_Guinn, General Manager at Harbor View Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope you will be back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We only got to stay one night, but it was delightful! While the hotel is actually quite large, it has a very relaxed, quaint, b&b feel. This is an old hotel that has been well maintained and still maintains a lot of its old style charm, yet has all the modern amenities. The King bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows. The robes, locally sourced soaps & lotions were also delightful. The bathroom was plenty bright for make-up & shaving, while the room had soft recessed lighting as well as lamps. There was a refrigerator in the room (no mini-bar) and a nice size flat screen tv.
The location couldn't be better - at the end of Water Street following a row of elegant old white sea captains' homes, within walking distance of the main Edgartown Center. The Huge wrapping veranda on the front of the hotel overlooks the harbor and the lighthouse affording an excellent place to watch the sunset and a glass of wine.
We ate at the Water St restaurant within the hotel for dinner which was elegant, yet not stuffy. I had the cucumber gazpacho & the sweet potato gnocchi for dinner. Both were appetizers. Both delicious, and beautifully prepared, but warning: the portions are not huge (i think there were maybe 7 small gnocchi) My husband had the salt & pepper squid which he said was amazing. He also had the local oysters & tuna, which were beautifully prepared. He said they were both good, but not as amazing as the squid.
Only negative is that its quite pricey!

Room Tip: our room overlooked the port cochere which was quite loud when the garbage truck came early in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

From what I could see, this is the best property in Edgartown. We are not "bed and breakfast" people, so we wanted a hotel. The location of the hotel could not be beat. The setting was beautiful and it was just a few minutes' walk to downtown Edgartown. The hotel has a big rocking chair front porch overlooking the Edgartown lighthouse and a large, comfortable seating space with a fireplace in the lobby. There was a nice bar in the restaurant area.

Our room was light and airy with comfortable beds and a balcony overlooking the small, heated pool. The free Wi-Fi worked great. The bathroom was nothing special. Some reviewers complained about the housekeeping and I agree it could be better. They could definitely use some grout refresh on the tile floors and there were smudges on the light switches. The carpets were somewhat worn.

On the whole, though, this was a nice property and if I get back to Edgartown, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Many large resort hotels that cater to events (e.g. weddings) and conventions have difficulty making individual guests feel welcome. When we arrived at the venerable Harbor View Hotel we were initially worried about this because there were several such events. But unlike other experiences we have had, Harbor View consistently made us feel welcome and well taken care of. The property itself is very attractive and well-maintained. Service is almost universally excellent, with just a few glitches. Our room overlooking the harbor was large and well-appointed. We had a great time.

Room Tip: room 313 is the best in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

no breakfast and very expensive place. grand main house, seats, fireplaces, overlooking the bay/lighthouse. big porch with good amount of seating. We stayed at one of the cottages that are behind the main house. we were on first floor. at 7am lot of noise from people above (and coming in and out of building where the entrance to building is just next to your bedroom. creaking of boards galore. it is part of the charm, but still.. the pool is ok but nothing too pretty. lunch was quite a good clam chowder.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. It offers its’ guests an array of amenities from our Water Activities with “Scout” our center console, “Stardust” our vintage picnic yacht, outdoor heated pool, Water St. Restaurant and Henry’s Hotel Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.