We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location amazing view shame about the service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Party!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent location amazing view shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked into this hotel for four nights and in general an excellent stay, however

- check in chap totally non friendly, we shouldn't want to check in at all, we have inconvenienced him

- no hot water on the first morning, called the front desk, told by grumpy receptionist that hotel has problems with the pipes. No further explanation. Cold shower for us that am

- asked the hotel for reasons lack of hot water, none given. Asked for some sort compensation, none given

Lady at the concierge was excellent, gave us tons of travel tips and even organised a haircut for me. Great service. Shame she couldn't have trained the chap at reception

I'm surprised hotel never contacted the guests about the lack of hot water in the morning. Nothing about sorry to have inconvenienced you and here is a voucher for some drinks (at least). Somehow I feel there is an arrogance with the hotel. Shouldn't take it for granted. Should work harder

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    156
    64
    47
    22
See reviews for
165
300
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in room 211 from May 30 to June 4. We have the following observations:

1. The front desk staff and the concierge staff are polite, pleasant, friendly and eager to please. I give them high marks. The bellmen were also very good.

2. The restaurant has a great view but is staffed by college kids not professional waiters therefore it is really not a fine dining experience. The food is high priced.

3. We checked in on Thursday and had maid service on Friday but not Saturday or Sunday.
On Saturday late in the day we just asked for new towels because they weren't going to get to us.. On Sunday we went looking for the housekeeping people and told them we were leaving at 6pm to eat and could they do our room then and they said sure and then never showed up. We finally got maid service again on Monday.

4. The room smelled a bit funny. And room service on one day took over an hour. They later said they forgot to ask our room number.

5. The concierge staff had a woman--not a college kid--who was extremely helpful and professional. I give her high marks also.

7. Overall this is a nice but not spectacular hotel in a good location in Edgartown. Service is a bit iffy but is enthusiastic anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Harbor View Hotel's location is outstanding. The views from the wrap-around porch of the lighthouse and Edgartown harbor were just fantastic. It is just a short walk into town for shopping and other restaurants. The grounds were impecible and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a Concierge service that will help you with any sightseeing trips on your own or with a tour bus. The bus service on the Island is wonderful and very cheap. This is my favorite hotel on the Island.

Room Tip: Garden View Room were very quite. They have rooms with the pool view, but I would think that it cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor View and hope we can go back again next year. The service was outstanding - the staff is attentive and helpful. The site was magnificent -- poolside or on the porch -- not a bad seat in the house. Try the lobster roll by the pool!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main building, but in a room near the pool. Very convenient and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Enjoyable weekend on the Vineyard with a young family member. Stayed in the Mayhew Building overlooking the pool area. It was nicely appointed although the hallways could use a makeover. Our room was comfortable with two double beds. Nicer quality bed linens and towels/toiletries.The bathroom could be updated some, a bit on the lower chain motel end. Overall we'd a great stay and enjoyed many of the family orientated activities that were offered. We found all of the hotel staff members to be very friendly, polite and helpful.
Loved the big porch with rocking chairs with views of the sparkling sea and the lovely lighthouse.
Salty air, sailboats and sunshine. Leave all your worries on the mainland.
We plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We picked this hotel for its beautiful location after cycling past it on a previous trip to the Vineyard. But the hotel has so much more to offer than an absolutely excellent location (which alone might already have been enough). The building itself and the rooms are charming and ooze history but the rooms are very 21st century with spacious balconies, free wireless internet, and very comfortable beds.

The service was great and very genuine because of the enormous amount of enthusiasm and spontaneity which all staff members showed us. One of the waitresses took care of our toddler during breakfast so we actually got to enjoy it (a whole new experience) and our concierge Joanne was wonderful in finding us an itinerary that better matched the rainy weather.

Come here for the location, return here for the overall experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The property is nice and in the perfect location. Beautiful grounds and view of the lighthouse. Very short walk to the shops and restaurants. Love that they have the pet friendly rooms. Made it very convenient for us to bring our little yorkie with. The grounds staff was working very hard to get everything ready for the summer. Only complaints would be quite a bit of construction projects going on which is understandable considering the beginning of summer. Also the front desk did not call us when our room was ready like they said they would. Would have been nice to have coffee in the lobby area. Last day a large bus of VERY loud children came and were screaming early in the morning. Also running around the grounds and being very disruptive. Not sure this is the best place for a bus full of kids. Besides that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. It offers its’ guests an array of amenities from our Water Activities with “Scout” our center console, “Stardust” our vintage picnic yacht, outdoor heated pool, Water St. Restaurant and Henry’s Hotel Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.