We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbor View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here for two nights recently bringing parents from the UK, and two young children. The hotel has a spectacular setting overlooking Edgartown harbor, and the staff are clearly well -trained. It was early in the season (before Memorial Day) and the one downside was exceptionally slow service both mornings at breakfast - good food, polite servers, but almost a 40 minute wait once seated. This was maybe an early season operational issue in the kitchen that can be easily fixed. On the plus side every staff member we encountered was courteous, including our first evening when we turned up at Henry's restaurant just as the kitchen was closing. We had arrived by Friday evening ferry and were desperate for a meal. Despite the late hour we were graciously seated and had a good dinner without delay. The bedrooms are well appointed. Ww\e stayed in the large building behind the original hotel, but be sure to check beforehand if you want to be in the original hotel as this is a fairly big property with several buildings.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if you want to be in the older, classic New England building as opposed to the more m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    133
    61
    39
    20
See reviews for
156
266
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel looks great, with the room was very spacious and comfortable and with a great view of the harbor. Like any oceanside hotel, rooms with a view cost more than those that don't, but if you're gonna come all the way to MV, you might as well face the water.
Speaking of water, the boiler was on the fritz the night we got there. They sent up a maintenance man who helpfuly explained that a valve was malfunctioning, but a plumber was on the way. The hot water was back on before morning. I appreciated very much that they kept us up to date with what was going on and they gave us the option of a free meal for two or a $100 gift certificate for our next visit as compensation for the inconvenience. It's a short walk to the lighthouse and the beach and also to the shops and restaurants of Edgartown. I look forward to returning and using that gift certificate just as soon as I can.

Room Tip: they have several buildings, but pick the main one and get a room facing the water. I honestly don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel was beautiful, fantastic location overlooking the lighthouse and chappaquidick island. Short walk to town and other restaurants/shop., Beautiful rooms and grounds. Adequate parking in private parking lots. Recommend staying in main hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I thought this was a good choice for a hotel on the Vineyard. There aren't that many full service hotels as most places are B&B or inns.

I checked in, went to my room, and found that I had an adjoining room where there was a screaming baby. I figured the baby was hungry or tired and it would not be an issue. When I got back to my room at 9:15 pm the baby was apparently still hungry and/or tired as it was still screaming. My room had one of those doors that joined my room to the adjacent room, so the sound came right into my room. The staff was understanding and moved me to another room. They even brought me foam pillows since I am allergic to down. But within 10 minutes of settling in, the dog across the room started to HOWL. And I mean HOWL. What is it about people that makes them think it's OK to leave their unhappy dog in a room to upset the peace of all those around them? If people want to have dogs in hotels they need to to go to training school first. Or hotels need to have separate DOG areas. Or maybe they need BARKING DOG AND SCREAMING BABY areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from anyone with babies or dogs. Seriously. The rest doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What an amazing location! The hotel overlooks Nantucket Sound and Chappaquidick. We had rom 416 in main hotel, beautifully decorated with the most comfortable bed imaginable!
Great views with our own little balcony, overlooking a light house - you can't get more New England than that now can you!
Lovely big reception rooms which are decorated in soft pastel colours - all very pretty. Nice lotions and potions in the bathroom and wonderful fluffy towels and bathrobes.

Couple of gripes - on our first night there was a function in the main dining room so we couldn't use it - this just is not acceptable.... we had to eat in the bar which was OK but not really ideal. Should use dedicated function rooms for events.
Kettle in room would be great for us tea drinking Brits together with full length bath.
Breakfast was OK but service staff didn't really know what was on offer, also expensive.
Lock on door was not working but it was sorted out quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: Room 416 has great views of Nantucket Sound and the light house - gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our overnight at the Harbor View was wonderful. We did reserve in the main building (upcharge) and asked for a King Room, and were delighted with room 305 with a (side) ocean view. Everything has been updated...wonderful beds and bedding, new bath, cozy robes, etc. while still keeping the charm of an older building. The views are spectacular and it is a very short walk to town and all the great shops, restaurants and history that Edgartown has to offer. Put the Harbor View on your "bucket list"! The staff was friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Most people that stay on Martha's Vineyard are traveling for fun or weddings.
I was there on a work visit. My needs - good wifi, well equiped conference rooms, the ability to organize quick and efficiently served meals on time, the ability to deliver coffee/beverages/snacks to the appropriate rooms on time, the ability to serve meals earlier that they normally would, and in general the ability for staff to quickly address needs. The staff at the Harbor view was efficient, helpful and friendly. The facility provided what we needed from them to have a successful trip. I appreciate that very much. I would recomend this site for a business meeting.

Room Tip: Ocean front - good views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. It offers its’ guests an array of amenities from our Water Activities with “Scout” our center console, “Stardust” our vintage picnic yacht, outdoor heated pool, Water St. Restaurant and Henry’s Hotel Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Otel so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.