We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Sunday brunch make your own bloody mary!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Party!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
New York City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go for the Sunday brunch make your own bloody mary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, however the highlight of our brunch experience was the absolutely delicious bloody mary served. The restaurant gives you a menu to choose items to add to the bloody mary, and they do a fabulous job creating it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    155
    64
    47
    22
See reviews for
164
300
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Last years New Years Eve Celebration was classy and so much fun! Not so much this year. Check in time was 4:00 PM we didnt get into our room until 5:00. The party was nice but not nearly enough bartenders. We were only able to get one drink. They said there was security and you could only get in with wrist band but we saw young adults streaming in the back exit entering the party and making it very crowded.
The room was a nightmare! We could hear the DJ's music as if it was in the room until 2;00Pm.
Very little management to be found young adults were very drunk screaming in the hallway until 3:00PM.
Really too bad a sophisticated New Years Eve party turned into a college dorm party!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

For the price of a side of the road chain hotel we enjoyed sumptuous accommodations at the HV. A spacious third floor room overlooked the pool area as well as a glimpse of Katama Bay. It's getting harder for our 2 teenagers to occupy the same room as we parents, but this room proved no problem. The beds were large and comfortable, and there was plenty of room for the girls to throw their stuff around. A pair of closets limited the mess, and as a bonus contained plush robes, of which our 16 year old took full advantage. A table and a pair of footrest accompanied easy chairs were set in the bay window, which gave pleasant relief from always having to use the beds as seating. The fireplaced lobby was warm and inviting. We didn't much need the services of the staff, but all we encountered were helpful. Edgartown center is short stroll away, though this may an issue for some in tougher weather. One tip, renting a car is almost as cheap, and way more convenient than using the bus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is our favorite hotel on the Vineyard; beautiful location, well maintained. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite, more an apartment, in one of the cottage buildings. The suite was beautiful; large bedrooms very good bathrooms. The beds and the bedlinen were great and everything feels brand new and upmarket. We stayed in december but have been here on a number of occasions and love the view from the restaurant. The pool is nice. We have had mixed experiences in the restaurant; sometimes top quality, sometimes average at best. Makes you feel you're lucky the right chef is on duty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our first visit here was a few years ago to attend a friends wedding. Have to admit we usally go off season and it is just wonderful. Great location in Edgartown, and the views from the porch can not be beat! We went for the Friday and Saturday after Thanksgiving, go a great deal and were blessed with incredible weather. Went biking on Chappy and running down toward South Beach. Quiet and relaxed with a wonderful staff who can't do enough for you. Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Of course you already know that everything is more expensive on Martha's Vineyard Island. Nonetheless, for our visit in late November we were favorably surprised to find offers on the Internet for $140/night, compared with $340 during high season.

Our room was in the section where the outdoor pool is located, right in back of the main ocean-front building & registration office. The room was "standard fare", well appointed but nothing special. Note there are no elevators in this building, thus be prepared to carry your own luggage up to the second or third floors. Also, the sound proofing was such that you could hear people in the hallways, thankfully no loud neighbors during our stay. Of course there is no water-view in this lower price range, those higher priced rooms are located in the main building (which typically don't provide king size beds).

We liked the location on the north side of town, right in front of the light house at the entry to Edgartown Harbor. The 3 or 4 short block walk to the heart of town is very pleasant. Visitors with vehicles would do well to study the town's map, as it is very easy to circumvent the crawling traffic that plagues Edgartown during the high season. - Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask about what floor your reservation would be in, we were in a large 3-story building without elev...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard, and it was the best to be here in the off season.
The hotel doesn't have a lot of extras but is very quaint and has a great view of the ocean and lighthouse in Edgartown. It has a beautiful wrap around porch with heated lamps at night.
It is a short walk to the bus stop, chappy ferry, and downtown shopping with restaurants and movie theater.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. A bonus of the stay was the Thanksgiving Day buffet in the hotel's restaurant, it was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel but there are a lot of other options on this property we didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. It offers its’ guests an array of amenities from our Water Activities with “Scout” our center console, “Stardust” our vintage picnic yacht, outdoor heated pool, Water St. Restaurant and Henry’s Hotel Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.