We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place to visit and the best location on the Vineyard.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% off 2nd night!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Carterville
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A special place to visit and the best location on the Vineyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Harbor View Resort and Hotel has one of the most beautiful views from the porch that I have ever seen. The location is perfect for exploring the Vineyard. The concierge was most helpful in helping us enjoy the island. The restaurant is very nice. The rooms and bathrooms are small but well kept. I like restaurant coffee so fresh brewed in the lobby in the morning and evening would have been nice to sit on the porch and enjoy the early morning and evening hours and somewhere to get a cold drink would have been nice. The soda machine was always locked.

Room Tip: Check rates for main building although room views were only a window view. The hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    160
    65
    49
    22
See reviews for
167
312
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My sister, mom and I took a quick girls trip to Boston and to Martha's Vineyard this past Saturday-Wednesday with a stay at Harbor View Hotel on Monday and Tuesday night. We loved the hotel, location, view and price point. With such a short stay, we spent most of one of the days driving around the island to see a little bit of everything, but we plan to come back again and there is no where else we would stay. Edgartown is beautiful and everything I thought Martha's Vineyard would be.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mayhew Building which was perfectly fine, but I think next time we would like to tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is I believe the finest resort on the Vineyard. It is a combination of two former hotels, which occupied the prime location a short walk out of town, commanding excellent views. It's veranda is just picture perfect, an excellent place for a late afternoon drink. It does have a pool, though I doubt many will find themselves utilizing it. It feels more like a large Inn though, as opposed to what one thinks of when the hear "resort".

We booked a suite; the location of the room was, as facing the building, on the far right side, second floor. I wanted this particular room location because it had perhaps the finest view available from the hotel itself. You could lay in bed and see the lighthouse, the classic New England harbor town picture. It also had a balcony, and windows on the side as well as the front, extending the view.

Our room was spacious, nicely appointed, and tastefully decorated. But the views were the best feature, and there were plenty of large windows to capture them all. We did partake of their Sunday brunch. Appearently, this is quite the place to be, and rightfully so; the food selection was wonderful.

Of course, being on the Vineyard it is quite expensive. But, worth the treat, especially if one is looking for a quiet, romantic getaway.


The Sunday

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the main building in a vintage room that exceeded all our expectations. The room was large, tastefully decorated and comfortable. This is a full service hotel that feels like a 4 or 5 star hotel but has a 3 star rating. Perhaps the other buildings on the property have less to offer bringing down the rating - don't know. We were delightfully pleased! Only downside was the lack of a soda machine - everything is room service with the exception of ice and water. The staff are accommodating and pleasant, linens and towels are good quality and the old verandah that wraps around the front becons you to sit and watch the boats go by! Bon voyage, my friends!

Room Tip: Bring your own treats if you not want room service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Harbor View for 3 nights in the Governor Mayhew building overlooking the pool. Our room was well-equipped and modern with two double beds, robes, coffee machine and refillable water bottles (not often found in hotel rooms, but surprisingly useful for taking on trips round the island!) The outdoor pool is very nice but was a little chilly. The main hotel building is lovely with views of the lighthouse, a terrace and a welcoming fire in the evenings. Location is great being about 5 minutes walk from Edgartown centre. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant. Having booked a bed & breakfast tariff we could order anything so we tried the Eggs Benedict, omelette, toast, fruit plate and juices. All very yummy! We found the staff to be very polite and helpful.

In Edgartown we went to Chesca's restaurant (a little pricey, but very good food) and were pleased to find the little cinema as this isn't a particularly lively place in the evenings! Would also recommend hiring bikes to explore the island as the bike routes are great. The buses are also very cheap to use.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to Martha's Vineyard. The location is beautiful though it is across the street from the water, not directly on. Pool area was nice though it was too cool of a day to use. Rooms were nice, though some upgrading is needed. Staff was very accommodating - holding our luggage while we toured the island & bringing them to our rooms. Breakfast in the morning at the restaurant was wonderful & the view cannot be beat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We were here for the night and this was a beautiful place to stay!!! The lobby and long porch with rocking chairs was so inviting. The front desk and concierge were helpful and friendly. The view from the lobby porch of the Harbor is beautiful, and you can see the Edgartown lighthouse, which is steps from the Hotel. The room was clean, with a private balcony and very comfortable beds! Check out is 12pm, which is nice. It is within walking distance into Edgartown shops, but as it is on the edge of town, it is not a short walk. There is an outdoor pool. There are a varied choice of buildings in which to stay: standard hotel, cottages, etc... The grounds are beautiful and meticulously manicured. It is lovely. It is a bit pricey, but for the Vineyard, not too bad. We are here now, 9/22, so it is much less busy than summer, and that it WONDERFUL!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. It offers its’ guests an array of amenities from our Water Activities with “Scout” our center console, “Stardust” our vintage picnic yacht, outdoor heated pool, Water St. Restaurant and Henry’s Hotel Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.