We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, yummy breakfasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbor View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely location, yummy breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Harbor View for 3 nights in the Governor Mayhew building overlooking the pool. Our room was well-equipped and modern with two double beds, robes, coffee machine and refillable water bottles (not often found in hotel rooms, but surprisingly useful for taking on trips round the island!) The outdoor pool is very nice but was a little chilly. The main hotel building is lovely with views of the lighthouse, a terrace and a welcoming fire in the evenings. Location is great being about 5 minutes walk from Edgartown centre. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant. Having booked a bed & breakfast tariff we could order anything so we tried the Eggs Benedict, omelette, toast, fruit plate and juices. All very yummy! We found the staff to be very polite and helpful.

In Edgartown we went to Chesca's restaurant (a little pricey, but very good food) and were pleased to find the little cinema as this isn't a particularly lively place in the evenings! Would also recommend hiring bikes to explore the island as the bike routes are great. The buses are also very cheap to use.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    134
    61
    39
    20
See reviews for
156
269
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to Martha's Vineyard. The location is beautiful though it is across the street from the water, not directly on. Pool area was nice though it was too cool of a day to use. Rooms were nice, though some upgrading is needed. Staff was very accommodating - holding our luggage while we toured the island & bringing them to our rooms. Breakfast in the morning at the restaurant was wonderful & the view cannot be beat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We were here for the night and this was a beautiful place to stay!!! The lobby and long porch with rocking chairs was so inviting. The front desk and concierge were helpful and friendly. The view from the lobby porch of the Harbor is beautiful, and you can see the Edgartown lighthouse, which is steps from the Hotel. The room was clean, with a private balcony and very comfortable beds! Check out is 12pm, which is nice. It is within walking distance into Edgartown shops, but as it is on the edge of town, it is not a short walk. There is an outdoor pool. There are a varied choice of buildings in which to stay: standard hotel, cottages, etc... The grounds are beautiful and meticulously manicured. It is lovely. It is a bit pricey, but for the Vineyard, not too bad. We are here now, 9/22, so it is much less busy than summer, and that it WONDERFUL!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Harbor View for a long weekend getaway in September. We had a room on the 3rd floor of the main building which did have a "harbor view" actually... the location is great, just a short stroll into town down a beautiful street of Colonial houses. The staff were very helpful, especially the concierge who referred us to some great local spots. We also took advantage of their own boat "Stardust" for a sunset cruise & as it turns out ended up by ourselves with super friendly Captain Cory as our guide; great excursion!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Maybe it was the superb weather, or the friendly staff, or the beautiful location - whatever it was, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Recommend taking the drive to Aquinnah and get dinner reservations at the Outermost Inn. Yes, it is expensive, but it is more than worth the money. The Hotel (although old) is charming and updated with all the amenities of a fine hotel. Even though the hotel was fully occupied, we never got the sense it was crowded. Overall, this is the place to stay for a memorable Vineyard trip.

Room Tip: Waterview Balcony is the way to go if you like open air feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

On arrival at Edgartown we were really taken by the pretty town and friendly atmosphere. The hotel on first impressions was lovely with scenic views.

After checking in we made our way to our room, in the Mayhew building, and the first thing that hit us in the corridor was the stench of damp. This smell continued into our room which despite booking a double we soon realised we had been allocated a twin. On contacting the front desk we mentioned our preference for a double room with king size bed to be told we would have to pay to upgrade. Given the hotel seemed far from full this seemed an interesting approach (one would have thought it may have made sense to move us to a nicer room to then go on to be able to report a good experience there).

Despite this initial disappointment we did find the pool area to be lovely with friendly and helpful staff - and a nice area to spend some time enjoying the good weather. We were able to bring our lunch out to eat at the pool area and the sandwich was very tasty. Loungers were comfortable and obvious efforts were made to maintain beautiful gardens.

On our second evening after speaking to the lovely concierge we booked to go on on the hotel boat - a great advantage to this hotel. For $130 we got 2 hours out on the water with Captain Mike, and indeed were very lucky to be the only 2 guests on board on that occasion. We thoroughly enjoyed this and would recommend it to other guests choosing to stay at this hotel.

This hotel has huge potential and you can see they clearly try to present a front end 5star appearance. However once the surface is scratched there is much to be done to live up to this. For example, having the front door opened for you does not make up for the in-room coffee machine being so dirty and full of dust that we couldn't use it. The bathroom was like something from a caravan made from plastic and yet a decent hairdryer was provided in a fancy dust bag. Whilst bathrobes were provided they were worn looking, the sheets had holes in them....effectively the material infrastructure of the room was old and in need of renewal. In redirecting efforts from the "luxury" touches and focussing on basic details a much greater experience would have been had.

All this aside we really enjoyed Edgartown and tolerated the hotel until we checked out. The morning of check out we got breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The milk jug and coffee cups were dirty, service was average and rightly or wrongly we chose not to leave a tip (which is most unusual for us). What happened next was a new experience for us and a grave disappointment. Upon check out it became apparent that a $7 tip - 22% - had been charged to our account for breakfast. This was not previously agreed or signed for. When we pointed this out to the girl at the check out desk she went to speak to the restaurant manager to look into what had happened. She then brought back a copy of the slip we had "signed" - at which point we realised this was not our handwriting or signature but a poor imitation - someone in the restaurant must have completed a copy slip adding a tip and forging the signature. Clearly this is not right and the hotel offered to remove the $7 charge. We did point out this was not about the money but the principle and we were shocked that a hotel of this supposed standard would have this sort of behaviour occuring. Needless to say this has completely soured our experience of the hotel and it is not somewhere we would choose to stay at again due to this.

Room Tip: Service rated average due to some being dreadful (restaurant) but others excellent (pool staff, conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary F, General Manager at Harbor View Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
As the new General Manager of the Hotel I wish thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor for the Harbor View Hotel. I do realize I have much to accomplish and believe that I have a strong team in place that needs a strong leader to provide them direction.
We are currently getting ready to close sections of the hotel for some upgrades and repairs. I believe some of these repairs will satisfy the concerns you have posted.
As you pointed out the Marina crew is top notch, and always provides an exceptional experience.
I was deeply disappointed to hear about the $7 unauthorized charge, we have reviewed the incident in house and have taken the appropriate measures with the staff.
I realize you have many place to choose from and I hope you will allow the Harbor View the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.
Sincerely

Zachary Frangos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Narrow parking spots, no elevator to rooms on 2-4th floors, no soda machine. Rooms nicely furnished with small balconies.<1/2 mile walk to harbor, shopping & restaurants. Beautiful, very large wraparound porch in front of hotel with rockers to have coffee or a drink from the restaurant or bar. Across the street from harbor lighthouse and some small beaches.

Room Tip: Ocean or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. It offers its’ guests an array of amenities from our Water Activities with “Scout” our center console, “Stardust” our vintage picnic yacht, outdoor heated pool, Water St. Restaurant and Henry’s Hotel Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.