We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location. Did Not Want To Leave!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Party!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Sands Point, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location. Did Not Want To Leave!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I have been to this hotel many times and it has not failed to please! In fact our last two vacations went so well, we extended our stay each time.

Room
I rented the 2 bed-room cottage and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. I have been in these rooms multiple times and find no issues with cleanliness and comfort. The rooms are all very good sized with a kitchenette attached to the living room. If ever we had any issues, the staff of the hotel was quick to respond. For example, our fireplace had some issues with the pilot light and once I informed them of the issue, it was resolved immediately. Some days, I did not need housekeeping but needed some shampoo and soap, it was brough over to me very promptly. When housekeeping did work on our rooms, it was done in a very professional manner. My only issue, is the temperature controls can be alittle finiky given that the rooms in the cottages are sometimes in flux, meaning my 2-bedroom cottage can be converted to a 1 bedroom suite and a 1 room so the temperature controls takes time to acclimate to the settings we choose.

Restuarant - Bar
Water Street for breakfast was awesome. Service was friendly and attentive from the host and hostesses and the wait staff. The food was good, fairly standard menu items done very well. I did notice that the same order on different days can come out alittle different.

Henry's will share the same review concerning the staff with the exception of one bartender which works in the evening. He was not very friendly and didn't seem to care about the customers. When he did converse with us he had a fairly condescending tone.

Water Activities
Capital Doug Heil is awesome and a credit to the hotel, very informative and works extremely hard in order to find fun activities for my entire family to participate in. When on a trip with Doug he is very easygoing and knowledgable about MV. Go one a cruise with him... You will not be disappointed!

Front Desk and Concierge
No complaints here... Everyone was friendly and attentive and if any concerns or requests were brought to their attention, they quickly resolved them.

Safe to say I will be bacl next year!

Room Tip: Pay alittle extra and stay away from the Mayhew building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    156
    64
    47
    22
See reviews for
165
300
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This hotel gives you a beautiful, airy and gracious setting, with fine amenities. The restaurant and the pub were very nice, with delicious food and attentive service. We were in a seaview room in the main house and the view was great.

While overall our stay was pleasant, there were a number of small incidents which added up to detract from the quality of the experience. I noticed that our bags were left unattended outside, and moreover my canvas duffel was put on the wet asphalt, causing one of my shirts inside to become wet. I later realized that staffing is uneven at this hotel, both in quantity and quality. The valet parking/bell service in particular was pretty sketchy, as indicated by our experience with the bags. On one occasion, the woman at the front desk went to retrieve my car, presumably because there was no one else.

Originally we were put on the second floor, where the view is partially obscured by the roof, and only when I inquired, were we moved to the third floor, which was much better. I didn't understand why we were not offered the better room first, especially since we were there before the 4pm check-in time, and it clearly was available. More significantly, it took an inexplicably long time for our room to be ready (the first one). We arrived before check-in, so expected to wait, but even though the staff knew we were there, our room was not moved up in the queue apparently. It was still not ready at 4pm and we waited until close to 5 before being shown to the room.

The staff at the front desk was not of the caliber I would have expected at a hotel of this price. With the exception of a woman named Darlene, who arranged for our room to be switched, no one over the course of our 4 night stay seemed particularly enthusiastic to attend to us or sensitive to our needs. When I inquired about taking a ferry to Nantucket I was told that no reservations would be needed for passengers without cars and that the ferry ran regularly throughout the day. The woman telling me this, however, apparently did not know that the ferry to Nantucket stopped running in September, a fact that we unfortunately discovered when we drove to Vineyard Haven and asked at the ferry terminal for the time of the next ferry. On another occasion, when we asked where we could get breakfast outside of the hotel, a local eatery was highly recommended, but no one told us that it was a very crowded, rough around the edges kind of place, perhaps not what we were looking for. At a genteel hotel of this nature, we would expect the front desk/concierge to make a greater effort to look after the needs of its guests and provide complete and accurate information. All these little disappointments added up and kept our stay from being truly special.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel should have been five stars but was let down by some staff.

The positives first.
We upgraded to a sea view room and had wnderful views across the bay, comfortable room with good facilities. Very comfortable bed.
Front desk staff very helpful in the main.
Concierge was excellent, made the short trip to the island very enjoyable.
Captain on the sunset cruise was excellent, very knowledgable and engaging. The boat is owned by the hotel and is a short walk from the front door to the jetty.
The quality of food was good and reasonable value for money in Henry's.

The negatives;

Housekeeping had not cleaned our room by 4pm on our second day and we had to complain to the front desk. Arrangements were made to clean it but then we were not told it was ready, had to ind out or ourseles in spite of sitting in the lounge at the reception area.

Service in Henry's was very variable, great manager and one server who reminded bar staff that we had ordered drinks. One server most insistent on getting a tip, pity the service was not as insistent.

Breakfast service was also poor, clearly the returning guests were the priority for the servers. We waited for coffee, our order was forgotten andthe price was dispropotionate to the food. We generated a number of apologies from staff, but frankly sevice should have been better.

This was the only hotel on our trip which did not seek feedback, pity really.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed in water view room, could see the lighthouse from the room. Very comfortable room, friendly staff. Terrace was wonderful for morning coffee.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishops stortford
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

one of the very best hotels we have ever stayed in. Incredible views, so relaxing sitting on the terrace in the rocking chairs,great pool, nice staff, comfortable room, and really good meal in Henry's Bar. A wonderfully relaxing few days. wish it could have been longer.

Room Tip: Sit the rocking chairs with a drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed the Harbor View so much that we did not want to leave. They make you feel so comfortable and special. OUr room had a water view and we just felt like we were truly on vacation. You could go out to the lighthouse which is right in front of the hotel and walk the beaches. We ate at Henry's Bar and not the restaurant as we wanted to have a more casual experience. The wine list was spectacular and not too pricey. The decor was just as one would expect of a new england beach town. We would go back but then we would want to explore other areas such as Cape Cod.

Room Tip: If you can afford a corner suite - go for it. We were on the 3rd floor and looked out at the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The air is crisp - the view is magnificent in the autumn air. Without a family gathering pressing a friend and I have made repeat visits to the Harbor View for Thanksgiving weekend. The hotel offers a traditional Thanksgiving dinner as a buffet with fresh pressed cider.
Because this is off season the rate is nearly half-price. The luxury of the accommodations are the same, the service the same. The quiet of the island and the opportunity to stroll the streets makes it a perfect holiday retreat.
The Harbor View is a classic Victorian hotel with modern units in a connecting building. You can have a historic experience in the main building or a more contemporary experience in the Governor may hew building.
The pool is, of course, closed but a walk along the beach and by the lighthouse is still possible.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. It offers its’ guests an array of amenities from our Water Activities with “Scout” our center console, “Stardust” our vintage picnic yacht, outdoor heated pool, Water St. Restaurant and Henry’s Hotel Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.