We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all-around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   38 North Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539 (Formerly Colonial Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Autumn Discount Deal
Ranked #4 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent all-around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My mom and I had an excellent stay at Vineyard Square as part of our first visit to Martha's Vineyard. Location is ideal in downtown Edgartown, rooms were clean, bright, and cheery, and the deck overlooking Edgartown harbor was a wonderful place to spend an evening. The service/staff in particular were fantastic. Wes was a great resource at the front desk - friendly, helpful, and offering great recommendations. We will definitely be back with the whole family next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you had such a great stay at our Edgartown hotel. It is so nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our bright, serene guestrooms and deck overlooking Edgartown Harbor. We look forward to your return visit to The Square!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    45
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
85
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed there this past weekend with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn is well maintained, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We had small snafu on our room lock, but they handled it with grace and even gave us a room upgrade - though unnecessary, it was a nice gesture that we greatly appreciated. And what's ot to like about Edgartown and MV?? We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will return for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
It was a pleasure to host you and your wife for your anniversary. We are so pleased that you choose to spend your special occasion at our Edgartown hotel it is nice to hear that our service and amenities made a great impression. Thank you for your review and recommendation. We hope to see you again the next time you have something to celebrate -- or simply if you need to hop on a ferry away from reality for awhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Vineyard Square Hotel. Each time I was there for the MV Wine Festival. I have to say Joanne, the hotel's manager, goes above and beyond to make sure you enjoy yourself and that you have everything you need. Everyone else there on staff is also amazing and incredibly helpful. Joanne simply goes that extra mile for her guests and did for me and my friend both times I visited and stayed at the hotel. They are located in the heart of Edgartown, super comfy well appointed rooms many with great views of the harbor. I would highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: The Cuttyhunk suite is beautiful. Has two room with full bathrooms, a small kitchenette, a nice livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Aw! Thank you for your lovely words about our staff. We pride ourselves in our friendly service here at Vineyard Square. It means so much when guests write about how we helped to make their Martha's Vineyard getaway so relaxing and special. We are pleased that you and your friend enjoyed yourselves and that our comfy well-appointed rooms and great downtown location made such an impression. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a perfect 2 days stay. Room was great and perfectly comfortable. View from the room was awesome...service great...will recommend and come back for sure. The place is fantastic for a couple that would like to rest, enjoy and close to shops and restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We are so pleased that you found everything at our Edgartown hotel to be great! We appreciate your review and recommendation and look forward to your next visit to our magical island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My stay here was absolutely perfect. The room was immaculate and the common areas are beautifully decorated and welcoming. No issues with noise, heating/AC. Everything was perfect. Anything you could want or need is within walking distance and the restaurant next door, Chesca's, is amazing. Nothing compares to the hotel staff, though! Joanne is phenomenal and makes you never want to leave. You really feel valued as a guest and comfortable, like home away from home. I can't wait to go back. They definitely know what they are doing over there. Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much! We are glad your stay at our Edgartown hotel was pleasant and welcoming in every way. We find that our friendly staff and central location in the heart of town help to make our guests' stays very relaxing and -- well -- easy! That's what vacations and getaways are all about. Please come visit us again here on The Vineyard as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Edgartown, with its own off-site parking lot a short walk away. This is a historic property that has been renovated and refurbished, but hints of its early 20th century origins as a boardinghouse linger (I found that authentic and charming.) Our room on the top floor was small but well appointed, with a view of Edgartown Harbor. Our room also was adjacent to the hotel's small roof terrace, which offered lovely views over the harbor from rocking chairs. (The terrace is locked at around 9pm, which probably makes sense to avoid having revel makers out there late at night disturbing guests in nearby rooms.) The hotel provides guests with beach chairs and umbrellas, which is a great bonus. A modest, motel-like continental breakfast (juice, coffee, yoghurts, bagels, pastries, cold cereal) is offered in a small dining alcove and outdoor patio off the reception area. Most of the guests seemed to be families with younger kids. Bottom line: This is a comfortable but not super-luxe hotel, but one doesn't come to Martha's Vineyard to hang out in the room all day! If you want to be in Edgartown, this is a very good option.

Room Tip: Top floor facing harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your frank and honest review and recommendation. We truly appreciate when folks make it clear exactly when our Martha's Vineyard boutique hotel is like. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our location and comfortable and fresh accommodations in the heart of Edgartown. Please join us again the next time your travels bring you East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Was on the Vineyard for business. Have stayed here twice before and always come back. Clean rooms, Very comfortable bed. Right in town. Nice old building. Well maintained. Stayed on second floor top of stairs. Noise was not an issue. Walking distance to just about everything you need. Little shopping area behind with shops, food, etc. Restaurants are within walking distance. Airport is a 15 minute drive. FYI - drive to New Bedford, MA, fly Cape Air to the Vineyard for $59.00 each way. Great quick way to get out there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
It means a lot that we can make your business trips to The Vineyard so enjoyable. We appreciate your loyalty and recommendation. Great tip about Cape Air. So many of our guests don't realize what a value it is! We'll see you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Address: 38 North Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Edgartown harbor and the historic waterfront district, this Martha’s Vineyard hotel is just steps from world class shopping and dining in downtown Edgartown. Guests gather on the welcoming porch and front garden square, share island experiences, and chat with the knowledgeable staff. Come visit and discover a mixture of "beach modern" style and warmth; an unexpected blend of history, popular art, spa services, harbor views and exceptional, upscale cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Square Hotel And Suites
Vineyard Square Hotel Edgartown
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.