We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Best prices from these 6 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   38 North Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539 (Formerly Colonial Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
September Discount Deal
Ranked #4 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Can't recommend this hotel enough! My husband and 2 children spent 2 nights here at the beginning of November. We booked on the recommendation of the many excellent Trip Advisor reviews...and they were not wrong!
We stayed following Hurricane Sandy. We'd actually booked the trip a month or so beforehand, long before the storm hit but were we glad we did! Living in NJ we had no power at home so were very happy to be able to escape to Martha's Vineyard - and this hotel was perfect for us!!!
Joanne, Wes and the staff were fantastic. Extremely welcoming - made us feel very at home.
Room was lovely - tastefully decorated, warm and cosy. Breakfast in the mornings was a lovely touch and set us up nicely for our travels round the Island.
Location is fab! Right in the center of Edgarstown, within walking distance of everything (good restaurants, shops, light house etc).
The hotel has a restaurant attached to it - Chesca's - which has just closed (end of season) but looked very nice.
There is also a beauty salon and spa (again within the hotel) which looked great but I didn't get to use - I will next time!
In the evening we ate at The Newes from America (just across the street from hotel) and The Wharf. Both excellent pubs - we had great meals and service.
Really loved this hotel and hope to return next year. Thanks again to Joanne and Wes - really appreciated you looking after us!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Wow! We very much appreciate your enthusiastic review and we are glad we could be your "getaway central" from the effects of Hurricane Sandy. Wes and I and the entire staff are so happy you found our service welcoming and enjoyed the attractions of lovely Edgartown just beyond our front door. We are also big fans of "The Newes" and The Wharf and hope you do make it back to visit in season when Chesca's is open. The Snowball desert is truly to die for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    44
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
82
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Charming, historic hotel in a perfect location. Joanne and staff are helpful, and knowledgable about the area. The hotel has bicycles that you can borrow to explore the area.

We stayed in a harbor-view room, which had a window view of the harbor. Room was cozy and comfortable. Just outside the room was a balcony where guests could get a better view of the harbor.

Given the lack of sleep quality, I don't think this would be our first choice for lodgings during future visits to Martha's Vineyard.

Con:
When guests close their doors -- the doors seem to close very loudly as there is no mechanism to prevent same. This is bothersome when awoken by a loud 'symphony' of doors being closed by other guests.

The hallways are somewhat narrow, combined with the thin walls, conversations in the hallway seep into the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our charming decor, great location, friendly staff and room amenities. We're glad you enjoyed our bikes and found your room to be cozy.

We're sorry, however, to hear that your room location proved to be too loud. Like most historic buildings on The Vineyard, soundproofing older structures can be a bit of a challenge. However, we do have some locations in the hotel that are a bit more quiet than the rooms located next to the public porch. When these concerns are brought to our attention while guests are onsite we attempt to relocate the guets to a more suitable room. We hope you will give us another try in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Found the Vineyard square on the Internet; boy did we luck out. Perfect location and accompdating staff. Our room was airy and bright. The decor was fresh and newly updated. Nice complentary breakfast and free bike rentals.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your delightful review. We are so glad that good fortunes brought you our way. We're pleased our friendly staff and great location made such an impression. Please come back and visit us the next time your travels lead you to Martha's Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed three nights at the Vineyard Square Hotel in one of the "Cozy" rooms. As a single traveller this room is just the right size with a larger bathroom than many of the chain hotels, it would also be fine for a couple. The staff are all friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel and the surrounding area. There are many shops, cafes and restaurants in 5 mins walk so location could not be better. There a rockers on the front porch to watch the world go by but there is also a very calming balcony with sea views and rockers on the 4th floor that feels like you are in a private world. The Wifi internet connectivity is free and first class. Having checked out the other places to stay as I walked around town I would say the Vineyard Square is hard to beat.

Room Tip: The "Cozy" rooms are great value and have everything you need for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Our cozy rooms are quite the deal, aren't they?! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our central location to everything in Edgartown! We're also glad you enjoyed "watching the world go by" view right in our front square. Thank you for your review and kind words about our helpful staff. We look forward to your next visit to "Getaway Central."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in one o the one-bedroom suites for a long weekend with twoparnts nd 2 year old, and it was just perfect. Can't beatbthe location and convenince, room very clean and comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It's nice to hear that you feel our suites are a great deal. Come visit us again on your next trip to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Two word review- stay here!! If you are planning a trip, long or short to the Vineyard, I highly recommend this hotel if you want an amazing experience. My fiance and I wanted to spend a few days away for my birthday weekend in August. We searched online and hoped to be in a nice location so we could get a feel for the Vineyard, but being New Yorkers we are used to having everything at our fingertips and within walking distance. We wanted to be near restaurants, shopping and the beach with little effort. Vineyard Square provided us with that option- it was so convenient, we could walk to everything. The room was lovely and immaculate, decorated in a cool green and filled with eco-friendly touches, it had exactly that beachy feel I was looking for without being too isolated.

A few other things that were wonderful- they have live music on the outside front porch on some nights and it was just so awesome to have that right next to the hotel. Also, if you need beautifying (like I did), the hotel has an amazing salon where you can get your hair done or a mani/pedi. It was so nice to have that right there so you can pamper yourself and I got so many compliments when i got home and back to work. I am thinking of going back in the off-season even. Ask for Salissa for hair, she is the best. Free breakfast was also a nice touch, with an outdoor back patio that had lots of comfy places to relax. Plus they have bikes for the guests... I never got my courage up to test one out and go riding- but it is totally a reason for me to go back and conquer the bikes! Oh and for all you fitness fans they have a small gym, I never expected that so I didn't bring my workout clothes.. but you can definitely get the time in.

Above all, the staff was so friendly and catered to our every need, whether it be recommendations for breakfast or supplies for the beach. Joanne and Evelyn are fantastic and if you have any questions, Wes who is also at the desk is one of those jack-of all trades where no task seems too large or small. I asked if he helps with weddings, because I know he would deliver top notch service for us!

Finally, I will review it separately as well but the restaurant Chesca next door was our favorite place to eat in Edgartown and it was so convenient being right at the hotel- the fun drinks, a lobster salad, and the Snowball dessert are things i can't get out of my head.

In all it was a perfect birthday trip and we can't wait to go back, perhaps we will make it our annual getaway every August!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a single room and it was perfect for the two of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
It's so lovely to hear that we made your birthday getaway sing! That means a lot. Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review. I'm happy that our entire front desk crew made such an impression. And, it sounds like you made great use of the other businesses located at The Square, as well. We are so glad to have Sea Spa Salon and Chesca's located on our complex. It's always great to hear great feedback on them! Please do come back to "Getaway Central" for your next celebration. We look forward to impressing you even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend last spring while my Vineyard house was being renovated. Very, very nice choice at considerably lower cost than some of the other places in town. Excellent location right on North Water Street, convenient to shopping, restaurants, shuttle bus stop, and the harbor. I had a two bedroom suite with a small living room and kitchenette. It was impeccably clean and everything we needed. The help at the front desk was cheerful and helpful. Really an excellent choice

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so glad we could provide you with a comfortable and convenient "home away from home" while work was being done on your Vineyard house. We also greatly appreciate you recommending us to others for our competitive Martha's Vineyard hotel rates, helpful staff, and our excellent, central location to all Edgartown has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Address: 38 North Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Edgartown harbor and the historic waterfront district, this Martha’s Vineyard hotel is just steps from world class shopping and dining in downtown Edgartown. Guests gather on the welcoming porch and front garden square, share island experiences, and chat with the knowledgeable staff. Come visit and discover a mixture of "beach modern" style and warmth; an unexpected blend of history, popular art, spa services, harbor views and exceptional, upscale cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Square Hotel And Suites
Vineyard Square Hotel Edgartown
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.