We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   38 North Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539 (Formerly Colonial Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE July Sail for 2
Ranked #4 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Devizes
1 review
“Superb honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Vineyard Square hotel for two weeks during our honeymoon and the Jawsfest celebration and we could not be happier with the treatment we received. From the minute we arrived until the moment we left we were treated like family and it was with heavy hearts that we finally checked out. Our room was a great size and was kept spotless by the housekeeping staff, the breakfast buffet was a huge selection of fruit, cereal, muffins, bagels, and much more, and hot coffee on the go all day long certainly helped keep us going after a long day sightseeing.

The location is an easy walk to anywhere you need to go in Edgartown and we can't recommend the hotel enough. The manager, Joanne, is a superstar, and months before we arrived was immensely helpful with our booking and planning of our trip, we can't say enough good things about her and her staff, Wes and Nikisha especially, always greeted us with a warm welcome and helped us out with whatever we needed.

We wouldn't hesitate in returning to the Vineyard Square hotel and we will definitely come back again one day as long as Joanne is still in charge :)

Matt and Han

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Matt and Han – Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am glad that you felt so at home here at Vineyard Square. I am very proud of all of our staff and their knowledge and hospitality and I thank you for your kind words about Wes and Nikisha. They make a great team at the front desk and it is wonderful to hear that they made a good impression, especially as this is the 1st season at our front desk for both of them. I am very flattered by your kind words about my help too. I hope to be ‘in charge’ for many years to come but I hope that I won’t have to wait too long to welcome you back ’home’!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    41
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
46
76
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Vineyard Square this past week. We had a great time. The location is phenomenal - we could walk to everything in Edgartown. And the views of the harbor and from the fourth floor porch were stunning. The room was lovely. Beautifully decorated. Free breakfast every morning that was quite nice - fresh baked muffins !!! But what makes this hotel such a treasure is the staff. The manager Joanne is simply the best hotel staff person I have ever encountered. She was warm, friendly, and personable. She knew the island like the back of her hand, recommending great hiking areas, and superb restaurants (Detante, Chesca's and L'Etoile were wonderful). While we were there, the whole staff was given the night off for a staff appreciation party and the three owners ran the hotel. They were great - no wonder they hired Joanne - they were equally friendly and accommodating, though they didn't know the island as well as she did. All around we had a great getaway and enjoyed this very nice hotel, beautiful town, and gorgeous island.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the one bedroom luxury suites and they were unbelievable - well worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
It means a lot that you call our staff a "treasure." We love knowing that our care and attention made an impression on you. We enjoy making our guests' time away extra special. I also personally want to thank you for the kind words about my knowledge of the island. I love Martha's Vineyard and it is truly a blessing that I get to share my knowledge and ideas with lovely people every day. Come back and visit "The Square" again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

From the time we made our reservations we knew we made the right choice. The Vineyard Square is centrally located in Edgartown. The hotel holds all the charm of Martha's Vineyard with comfortable accommodations. The level of customer service provided by Joanne, Evelyn, Wes and their staff was unsurpassed. From directions, recommendations, beach chairs to an umbrella on a rainy night were all done with a pleasant and professional attitude. Our room,a standard queen on the 4th floor, although a bit small, was comfortable and had a gas fireplace. If there was a fault, the bathroom was dated. The housekeeping staff was virtually invisible and quiet yet the room was always immaculate when we returned. This hotel has a great location to browse the shops, hop the ferry to Chappy, take a sunset catamaran cruise, hop on a bus to other island points or take a bicycle ride (bikes provided). At the end of a long day, a relaxing evening can be spent in the rocking chairs on the front veranda. Without a question, we will be staying at the Vineyard on our next visit!

Room Tip: Request the fourth floor. The is no elevator (ADA use only to the 2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Gee! I think we could hire you to be a concierge - you summed up our services, amenities and location so well! Thank you for your lovely review and for staying with us this summer. Evelyn, Wes and I thoroughly enjoy assisting our guests and it means a lot to hear you say our service was unsurpassed. We also appreciate the compliment for our hardworking housekeeping staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to "Getaway Central" in the future. We'll keep the rocking chairs at the ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Pretty much echo all the good things everyone's been saying - great and courteous staff, awesome location, and charming building and decor. Gym and breakfast could be better, but absolutely worth coming back. Parking is no problem and they have bikes to rent out for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for echoing and adding to the praise for Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites. We especially appreciate your kind words about our staff as we take great pride in our customer service. We've also taken your comments (and comments of others) about our gym to heart and a reconfiguration and enhancement is slated for this fall. We also are always working to improve our breakfast (we've been getting raves for our granola!) and welcome any thoughts you may have on how to make it even better. Please feel free to email me directly with your suggestions at joanne@vineyardsquarehotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at the hotel and had a fantastic time.

The building itself is charming - historic look and some creaks. There is a large front porch with rockers for guests and those awaiting tables at Chesca's (good, lively restaurant on premises) and a smaller rooftop deck for guests with a great view. There is a nice quiet courtyard where you can enjoy breakfast. There is a small gym with some equipment although it could be improved by replacing an unexplained lounge chair with a bench or more equipment.

Our room ("cozy") was reasonably-priced (for Martha's Vineyard weekend in summer) and tastefully decorated and clean. The bathroom was larger than those in most hotels.

The best part of this hotel is the location - on Water Street a few blocks from Main and the harbor, surrounded by shops and restaruants. We walked or rode bikes everywhere (South and State beaches, restaurants, Edgartown lighthouse, etc.).

5 star rating would have to involve a little more luxury for me, but we were very happy with our stay and would recommend / go back. Staff is friendly and helpful. We encountered no issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for recent visit and your kind words. It's nice to hear that you found our Edgartown hotel charming and tastefully decorated. We completed a renovation last year and are very happy with the result. Our location certainly is fantastic and Chesca's on the premises definitely does keep things hopping! We're also so very glad you found our Cozy Rooms to be a good deal -- we think so, too! If you are interested in a lot more luxury, please do consider booking one of our our luxury suites for your next visit. They are very affordable in the shoulder and off-season time frames and we often announce great deals and specials on Facebook for these suites. "Like" us and be in the know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The staff was unbelievably friendly to us during our visit. I highly recommend this hotel. The location was excellent, there was a small breakfast each morning and view of the ocean is unreal.

We booked a basic room, so it wasn't huge, but it had nice New England charm decor.

We stayed with our 8 month old baby and never felt like we were imposing, like at other boutique hotels. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We enjoyed your visit with your charming baby, and we do hope you'll come and stay with us again. It is so nice to hear that our staff was unbelievably friendly - we strive hard to ensure that each guest at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites feels welcome and pampered. Thanks for noticing our charming beach decor and great location. We think those things are quite nifty, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had the most exquisite time at Vineyard Square. The staff were truly remarkable and accommodating. Our suite was AMAZING! The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and we have been to quite a few hotels in out lifetime. The bathtub was equally as delightful! The tub was deep and the jets were amazing for a restful and relaxing bath! Our view from the room overlooked the boat harbor. The spa at the hotel was also one in a million. I received the best haircut and highlight that I have ever gotten in my life from Marcy. She was AMAZING! I also received a luxurious deep tissue massage from Annie. I highly recommend that anyone and everyone get a massage from Annie. It was fantastic! Our most enjoyable meal while on the island also was at Chesca's....which conveniently happened to be attached to the hotel. The food was mouth watering. The steak was cooked perfectly and the cheese tortolloni was to die for! We had the best vacation in Martha's Vineyard and definitely plan to go back to Vineyard Square Hotel in the near future. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a restful and relaxing vineyard getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Well, the secret is sure out after that review! We're thrilled to hear that you found so much to love about our Martha's Vineyard hotel. Nothing pleases us more than reading an account of a perfect getaway to Vineyard Square. It's also nice to hear that you had such a great experience at Sea Spa Salon. and Chesca's. We think think Marcy and Annie are terrific, too, and agree whole-heartedly about the wonderful food at Chesca's. Please visit us again soon when you need an island retreat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Address: 38 North Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Edgartown harbor and the historic waterfront district, this Martha’s Vineyard hotel is just steps from world class shopping and dining in downtown Edgartown. Guests gather on the welcoming porch and front garden square, share island experiences, and chat with the knowledgeable staff. Come visit and discover a mixture of "beach modern" style and warmth; an unexpected blend of history, popular art, spa services, harbor views and exceptional, upscale cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Square Hotel Edgartown
Vineyard Square Hotel And Suites
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.