We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clarion Inn: Pros and Cons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Upper Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Narragansett RI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clarion Inn: Pros and Cons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet hotel that is close to all the activity in downtown Edgartown, the Clarion Inn would be a good choice. The woman at Reception was very helpful. I had called a few days before our arrival to confirm our arrival and to request that our two rooms on the second floor be changed to the first floor (there is no elevator).. She said she would work on it and call me back. Within 15 minutes she returned my call with the result I was hoping for. Our dealings with Reception were always productive.

Maintenance of the rooms could be improved, however. The AC was extremely noisy and went on and off all night. The water in the tub-shower dripped constantly or water came out in a steady stream after showering. We reported this 3 times to no avail. The soap is a small, thin bar which did not get replaced daily. Finally we had to ask for more. Lastly, one day the drinking glasses were not replaced by clean ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionmv, General Manager at Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback as it affords an opportunity to improve our guest experience. I have relayed and discussed your comments with my front desk, housekeeping and maintenance staff, and assure you they are taking it to heart for resolution.

Thanks again. I and my staff look forward to welcoming you in the future..

Kind regards

Kathryn Kincannon
General Manager,
The Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
(508) 627-5161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
32
24
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Enjoyed our two days at the Clarion Inn in Edgartown. It sits off the road and is very quite with large rooms. The staff was excellent and was very informative about the area and history. Grocery store and package store next to the motel. 5 miles from Oak Bluff and 1 mile from Edgartown. The previous review on Tripadvisor were right on and very helpful. I felt the price was very good as compared to the other hotels/motels in the area.

Room Tip: Traveled by ferry to Martha's Vineyard and didn't realize that our departure port was change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionmv, Manager at Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind survey we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Dan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was there for memorial Day weekend & to visit family. The Clarion was perfect for our budget, we simply required a nice place to stay which was comfortable and clean. Parking was plentiful and the free continental breakfast was a bonus. Close enough to walk to downtown in 20 minutes with plenty of restaurants & shopping nearby. The staff was knowledgable & friendly!

Room Tip: Not full service but clean & within close proximity to all in Edgartown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionmv, Manager at Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. My Staff and I pride ourselves on making our guests happy.

Dan Cole
eneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

we stayed here over memorial day weekend and it was clean and we got to check in early. parking was free and there is a restaurant onsite and a sandwich place next door. we didn't eat at either but it seemed to be busy. great location by stop and shop right next to the parking lot and there were two bike rental places across the street. the room was decent and while it was dated and the carpet had a few stains, it was overall a good value stay for a family. Breakfast was free but we only ate there one day. They had a cool pancake machine. Since we were never in the room, the little flaws didn't matter.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionmv, Manager at Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We did clean up the stains in the room that you were in and I apologize that my housekeeping staff did not catch it before you were registered. They do now.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the pancake machine.

Dan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Do note stay here
THIS PLACE IS OVERPRICED WITH CHEAP BREAKFAST AND UNFRIENDLY STAFFS.

It was at the last minute that we decided to go so quicky booked it on priceline. When we arrived there the lady wasn't so happy because we checked in kinda late at night. The room was nice with a newer looking compare to many other lodgings but thats the only positive thing about it. The bed was DIRTY that I found some black color hair on the fleece cover; it was nasty. It was late so I just didn't use it instead of bother calling down.. forget it. when it comes to breakfast to be honest dont think that you can fill a part of your stomach with it. They dont have many things here.. not even boiled eggs.. are you for real?
If you're a beach person, there is no beach in a walking distance so everywhere you go either take taxi or the bus.

THIS PLACE IS OVERPRICED WITH CHEAP BREAKFAST AND UNFRIENDLY STAFFS.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionmv, Manager at Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I do apologize for your less than desirable experience at our property. I did speak with the Guest Service Agaent who checked you in regarding her behaviour.

I also apologize for the hair that you found on the blanket. Had you called the front desk you would have been moved to another room promptly.

I also wish our continental breakfast had more offerings. We do adhere though to the Clarion Brand Standards regarding the breakfast.

Again accept my apologies.

Thank you.

Dan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Two day visit to the Island
The hotel is average and clean
the room is a nice size and comfy
The interior is a bit dated and could use some updating !
Overall a good stay for the price,
Location is with in walking to the small stores and stop & shop next door !!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, MA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I booked 2 rooms at the Clarion for our traveling party of 4 on a Friday night, and we were not disappointed. The check-in process, though a bit lengthy, was pleasant, and the rooms were very clean and spacious. The location was extremely convenient just outside of Edgartown, and within walking distance to restaurants and a grocery store. We had a great night sleep in the comfortable beds. The continental breakfast was adequate, with plenty of packaged options; we would have liked to have seen some more healthy choices. Very good overall, and worth returning.

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 queen beds were very spacious, and very quiet being on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Address: 227 Upper Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn in a quaint old whaling port, the Clarion Inn Martha’s Vineyard offers 34 LARGE modern rooms, each recently refurbished and appointed with full bath, king- or queen-size beds, cable TV with HBO, radio, telephone, microwave, refrigerator and air conditioning. Including Free: parking, continental breakfast, business center and faxes, high speed internet access wireless and hardwired. On-site restaurant: The Grille on Main. Open year round. Located in Edgartown – the most elegant of the Vineyards six picturesque towns - As a guest of the Clarion Martha’s Vineyard, you are uniquely positioned to enjoy all of Martha’s Vineyard. Situated in Edgartown’s business district, we are within walking distance of Edgartown’s historic village center. From June to September the VTA makes regular stops in front of the hotel and then trundles onward toward the village and famed South Beach. A bike path connects us to the village, beaches, and the other island towns. In addition, our front desk can assist you with other island activities such as golf, fishing, kayaking, canoeing, bird watching, or where to see the perfect Vineyard Sunset. We look forward to making your trip to Martha’s Vineyard an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Carriage House Hotel Edgartown
Clarion Edgartown
Edgartown Clarion
Clarion Carriage Hotel
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard Edgartown, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.