We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Christmas vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Upper Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Newton, New Hampshire
1 review
“Fantastic Christmas vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very clean, hospitable place to stay. I have stayed at higher priced places on the island and they were very worn and dirty. Staff very nice and accomodating. Son had to leave after the allowed cancelation time and the manager kindly let him get out of the second night reservation. It was also nice to have the continental breakfast ,since places were closed for the holidays. It is also a very nice continental breakfast. Although we did not get a chance to eat at the adjoining restaurant, it is nice to have it there. Will stay no other place when visiting my son!

Room Tip: If only need one bed ,it is nice to book the room with the couch for people to gather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This a great place to stay on MV. Good central location. Very nice second floor room. The room was clean and spotless, the bed was comfortable, the amenities in the room were all good. They provide a nice continental breakfast in a sizable room. Rodrigo at the front desk was very accommodating and friendly as were the checkout staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Webber2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very good economical place to stay. We were there 4 nights. Our experience: comfortable beds, room was very clean and roomy with great bathroom and shower. Free, fast, WiFi, microwave, fridge; continental breakfast with great coffee. Free desktop computer use (in breakfast area) with free black and white printout. The staff was friendly and helpful. Location: a good walk from downtown Edgartown but my wife did it. Location also next door to shopping market with deli (Delicious Italian Subs at Shopping Market); also, one block or so from package store but no Yuengling there yet! We have stayed there before and would stay there again. By the way - AAA discount. Room was smoke free and not a convert to smoke free as in other hotels where one could smell the residual smoke covered by fragrant spray. Great room!

Room Tip: No elevator: Hotel has 2 floors. If accessibility is a problem, you might select first floor. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The staff went above and beyond for our stay to be enjoyable loved the weekend on the vineyard great hotel for our visit very clean and close to town a little costly for this type of hotel but after all you are on the vinyard nice touch stop and shop next door

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Honestly, I think these were the most comfortable beds we've ever had at any hotel, motel or inn we've ever been to, and we've done a lot of traveling. Loved the pillows, too. Our room was very clean, nice and roomy with free WiFi, microwave, fridge, and continental breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had to leave one day earlier than expected and the gentleman at the desk was very understanding and did not charge us a penalty. I requested a room on the first floor since I have a bad back and there were no elevators, and they honored that request. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you prefer a room on the first floor, be sure to request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are looking for fancy, there are probably other (much higher priced) places to consider staying on the Island. But if you are visiting the Vineyard and just need a clean, comfortable hotel room, this is the best bang for your buck. It's convenient to town, but not jammed in the middle of it. The staff is friendly and efficient. I've stayed there a number of times, and it has always been a positive experience, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is decent. I stayed one night with my boyfriend over labor day weekend. Nothing special here. The bed and pillows were comfy although the white sheet did have a stain on it which was kind of gross. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was OK (I have seen worse at B&B and have seen better at chains): english muffins, cereal, and per-packaged pastries, muffins and donuts. Coffee, tea, OJ and milk. This place is about half a mile to the shops, restaurants and bars. We walked, it was not bad. Directions were easy just turn left and head straight down the road. I wish the streets had more lighting though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prancer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#2 of 5 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Address: 227 Upper Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn in a quaint old whaling port, the Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard offers 34 LARGE modern rooms, each recently refurbished and appointed with full bath, king- or queen-size beds, cable TV with HBO, radio, telephone, microwave, refrigerator and air conditioning. Including Free: parking, continental breakfast, business center and faxes, high speed internet access wireless. On-site restaurant: The Grille on Main. Open year round. Located in Edgartown - the most elegant of the Vineyards six picturesque towns. As a guest of the Clarion Martha's Vineyard, you are uniquely positioned to enjoy all of Martha's Vineyard. Situated in Edgartown's business district, we are within walking distance of Edgartown's historic village center. From June to September the VTA makes regular stops in front of the hotel and then trundles onward toward the village and famed South Beach. A bike path connects us to the village, beaches, and the other island towns. In addition, our front desk can assist you with other island activities such as golf, fishing, kayaking, canoeing, bird watching, or where to see the perfect Vineyard Sunset. We look forward to making your trip to Martha's Vineyard an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Carriage House Hotel Edgartown
Clarion Edgartown
Edgartown Clarion
Clarion Carriage Hotel
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard Edgartown, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing