We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good room at a fair price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Upper Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Vineyard
1 review
“A good room at a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are looking for fancy, there are probably other (much higher priced) places to consider staying on the Island. But if you are visiting the Vineyard and just need a clean, comfortable hotel room, this is the best bang for your buck. It's convenient to town, but not jammed in the middle of it. The staff is friendly and efficient. I've stayed there a number of times, and it has always been a positive experience, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
32
23
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is decent. I stayed one night with my boyfriend over labor day weekend. Nothing special here. The bed and pillows were comfy although the white sheet did have a stain on it which was kind of gross. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was OK (I have seen worse at B&B and have seen better at chains): english muffins, cereal, and per-packaged pastries, muffins and donuts. Coffee, tea, OJ and milk. This place is about half a mile to the shops, restaurants and bars. We walked, it was not bad. Directions were easy just turn left and head straight down the road. I wish the streets had more lighting though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked two nights on the Vineyard and this was the first time that I had ever stayed in an "establishment" on the island, versus staying at my aunt's. It was a perfectly fine room, with two large queen size beds, and all of the amenities. I liked that it was within a ten minute walk of the town of Edgartown, and a lovely six mile walk to Oak Bluffs, with a bus service one could catch literally outside the hotel. My problem is that in the middle of August, the cost was pretty outrageous, considering that the same room could be found for a third of the cost in other locations. I was disappointed in the breakfast, which was the usual cardboard-bland tasting fare. The front desk staff were very attentive and kind, and I would say that it was them that ultimately made the stay so pleasant. We slept well and enjoyed our stay but I doubt i'd ever go back.

Room Tip: I'm guessing that if you select a room farther away from the road, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, ct
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Right outside Edgartown. Right next door to Stop & Shop which is convenient but maybe a bit too close. Good for families. No pool and a bit of a drive/ride to the beach. Service at the desk was very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just returned from a short-notice trip to Edgartown, and got last-minute reservations at the Clarion Inn. It's really a basic hotel, but it's got the location going for it. We arrived by bike, and were happy to see that the bike trail goes directly to the location, making it ideal for our daily adventures on the road.

Good: well located for accessing all parts of the island by bike (and I guess by car!), easy walk into the center of town, employees were helpful and friendly, coffee available all day, free newspapers and wireless internet, nice sized room, access to the basement to store our bikes, free breakfast.

not so good: that free breakfast (not too into the sweets for breakfast thing, resorted to cereal), lack of outdoor areas for any kind of activity other than parking, friendly employees weren't the most efficient and knowledgeable though they tried, the crazy traffic on Main Street.

Room Tip: If you have a bike (or feel like a walk), we found the Bend in the Road beach, about a mile away on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Wecare currently staying here for a week. The location is great, it's right off the main road, right next door to a stop and shop supermarket and walking distance to town. The rate includes parking and the staff is very helpful with recommendations on everything. The hotel is also attached to an amazing restaurant called The Grill which has a great selection of well prepared food. Overall the hotel is great but just a quick note to those that need a elevator, there isn't one. It's only 2 floors the stairs are wide and there are Dolly's, you just have to get your stuff up about 12 very wide stairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Martha's Vineyard and stayed at the Clarion Inn because of a recommendation. I must say it was perfect for our first time on the island. We took the ferry into Oak Bluffs and took a quick taxi ride to the Inn. I wish we had taken the bus since it would have been cheaper and is located on the bus route. The Clarion Inn is located between downtown Edgartown and Oak Bluffs. It is a perfect location. It is about a 10 minute walk to downtown Edgartown. We rented bikes and rode to State Beach and South Beach which were beautiful rides! The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and a complimentary continental breakfast is provided in the morning. My only complaint was the air conditioning which I found to be very noisy. There is also a restaurant on the premises although not owned by Clarion and a lounge. Great place for a night cap. Supermarket next door allows for a quick grocery stop if needed. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Address: 227 Upper Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn in a quaint old whaling port, the Clarion Inn Martha’s Vineyard offers 34 LARGE modern rooms, each recently refurbished and appointed with full bath, king- or queen-size beds, cable TV with HBO, radio, telephone, microwave, refrigerator and air conditioning. Including Free: parking, continental breakfast, business center and faxes, high speed internet access wireless and hardwired. On-site restaurant: The Grille on Main. Open year round. Located in Edgartown – the most elegant of the Vineyards six picturesque towns - As a guest of the Clarion Martha’s Vineyard, you are uniquely positioned to enjoy all of Martha’s Vineyard. Situated in Edgartown’s business district, we are within walking distance of Edgartown’s historic village center. From June to September the VTA makes regular stops in front of the hotel and then trundles onward toward the village and famed South Beach. A bike path connects us to the village, beaches, and the other island towns. In addition, our front desk can assist you with other island activities such as golf, fishing, kayaking, canoeing, bird watching, or where to see the perfect Vineyard Sunset. We look forward to making your trip to Martha’s Vineyard an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Carriage House Hotel Edgartown
Clarion Edgartown
Edgartown Clarion
Clarion Carriage Hotel
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard Edgartown, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.