We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longest Serving Innkeepers - They Know the Secrets to Success” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charlotte Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Charlotte Inn
Save
You added The Charlotte Inn to your Saves list
27 South Summer St, PO Box 1056, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Weston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Longest Serving Innkeepers - They Know the Secrets to Success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We visited Martha's Vineyard during the off-season on what turned out to be a very rainy Saturday. I was so pleased that we had an excuse to stay inside by the fire and enjoy this charming, warm, gorgeous inn. As there was only one other couple staying at the inn on this weekend, we had the pleasure of visiting with the owners and learned that they had bought the inn in 1971 or 1972. They visit England every November to find antiques with which to decorate. The place had a wonderfully intimate feeling of family and luxury combined. The service was impeccable, and breakfast in the morning was delicious. I had brought a friend from Italy, and I was so glad to have given him a true taste of some of our most charming and finest accommodations in the country.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
57
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
32819
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great hotel, loved how they are focused on taking care of the guest and how they got everything just right.

The best part was all of the little touches of antiques and all of the books to read. Also, the location was perfect since we could walk to everything!

Thank you to the staff at the Charlotte Inn! You are the best with clean rooms and the best service!

We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I love this hotel. It is very unique and original. The owners are are fantastic and do everything to make your stay very pleasant. I felt so relaxed and could really enjoy my stay in Marthas Vineyard! This hotel gives you a beautiful unique room, a cozy home with fireplace and dogs included and great food for breakfast. They did anything I needed and more which was especially great since I was getting married while on my sat in the Vineyard.
I will defiantly b back! When you go definitely book a room with a fireplace while worth the cost!

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a weekend stay at the Charlotte Inn. It was more beautiful than on the website. The owners and staff were most attentive to our needs and offered us valuable information about the current activities on the island to help make our visit to MV more enjoyable. Everything they suggested from lunch to the museum was perfect..
The rooms at the inn were most comfortable and it was fun to see the dogs greet us upon our returns to the inn. Each room was warm and inviting and it was so nice to come back to the inn with the fire place glowing.
This is a definite must if you are looking for an English country home atmostphere. I know that we will return!
Pam and John Vasilik

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. You can't miss with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon.

We loved this hotel, what an amazing place. Staff very friendly and helpful.

We only ate breakfast here which was superb. Wish we had eaten in the hotel itself as the dining room looked amazing.

Our room was fabulous- over the street from the main hotel and in tip top condition.

A perfect hotel in a lovely location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Every year since 1995, my wife and I have been going to the Charlotte Inn, returning each year over the second weekend of December to enjoy Christmas in Edgartown. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing and elegant time, this surely is it. One of the Inn's best attributes is its ability to make the problems and issues of the outside world melt away as you are surrounded by opulence. The Inn boasts meticulously detailed rooms (we've stayed in about half of them) full of period antiques and reminders of a simpler time. Attention to detail is very evident - no matter where you look, there is always something to catch your eye. And the Inn's service is a perfect compliment to its lavish surroundings.

Carol Reed, the Manager at the Inn, has made each of our visits to Martha's Vineyard extra special. She provides overviews of weekend events, makes reservations for dinner, gives updates as to what's happened on the island since our last visit and always seems to provide those little extra's that make the trip even more special.

Paula and Gery, the Innkeepers, have done a spectacular job in the restoration and renovation of the Inn. Every year we return, there is something new to admire and appreciate. There are always new focal points of interest to the property that provide new visual interests. My wife and I always look forward to catching up with Paula over breakfast, which I might add is one of the most decadent culinary pleasures you'll have during your stay on the island.

In short, this is the perfect couples getaway if you are looking to leave your hectic schedule behind you. If you are looking for the amenities of a Holiday Inn, this would not be the place for you. But if you are looking for an experience that will make a lasting memory, then there is no better place than The Charlotte Inn.

Room Tip: No matter what room you select, you will not be disappointed - all rooms boast their own unique char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

Best splurge ever! Immaculate grounds, gorgeous rooms, delicious food, and dedicated staff. No cell phones was weird at first, but actually a nice reprieve. Well run - you will love the owners if you follow the reasonable rules that allow all guests to enjoy their stays. My favorite part? The gorgeous, well-behaved golden retrievers :)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charlotte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlotte Inn

Address: 27 South Summer St, PO Box 1056, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed as one of the "Top 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler's 2012 Travel Guide and a long-standing member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux small luxury hotel group, The Charlotte Inn is settled just a half block off Main Street and two blocks from the harbor-front in downtown Edgartown. Among 4 buildings are 17 guest rooms and 2 suites individually decorated with fine antiques in a wonderful English garden setting. The Charlotte Inn provides guests with what we consider the "ultimate luxury" - a glimpse back in time to a more peaceful and restful frame of mind. A visit to The Charlotte Inn - from an overnight or a week vacation - is an opportunity to escape from the hectic, rushed, technology and gadget driven daily routine and enjoy the simpler things life has to offer. With all that Martha's Vineyard has to enjoy as your daily playground - from beaching, boating, fishing, and sightseeing, to fine dining and shopping, to simply strolling along the historic whaling captain’s home lined streets along the harbor and down to the lighthouse, The Charlotte Inn offers our guests a relaxing home away from home to retreat to and an opportunity to cherish life's simpler times. Whether iced-tea on the porch with a good book, chatting with friends and fellow guests on a garden terrace, or enjoying a glass of wine by the fire with your companion in cooler weather, we hope that our guests embrace the opportunity to join us in the experience we work so hard to provide - a getaway from the stress and pressures of today’s fast-paced lifestyle and a chance to enjoy a peaceful reprieve in an atmosphere that is the perfect combination of elegance, luxury and comfort. Nothing satisfies us more than to provide our guests with this experience, and to watch them enjoy, unwind and cherish their time spent at The Charlotte Inn in the way that we prefer and as our adage suggests - "Behind The Times on Purpose". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Charlotte Hotel Edgartown
Charlotte Inn Marthas Vineyard
The Charlotte Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charlotte Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.