We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lure

Lure
Winnetu Oceanside Resort, 31 Dunes Road, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
508 627 3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 56 Restaurants in Edgartown
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a memorable, casual, and relaxed dining experience where rolling lawns meet the sea at Lure. We're located at South Beach, in Edgartown, at the Winnetu Oceanside Resort - away from the bustling crowds. Our Executive Chef creates high-quality, New American cuisine, inspired by local, seasonal, and sustainable ingredients. Lure is ideal for a special romantic dinner, yet friendly enough for the entire family. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and light bites in our lounge - or on our outdoor deck with an ocean view. Take our complimentary, sunset water taxi cruise from Edgartown directly to Lure, in-season. We offer plenty of free parking and can accommodate weddings, corporate meetings, and special events. Open mid-April through late October.
maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We had been instructed to visit this restaurant by two different sets of relatives who had both gone while visiting in the last month. They suggested we sit in the bar area,which we did and try the lobster salad sandwich which I did....delicious and HUGE. Being from Maine I am critical of anything having to do with eating lobster. It was very fresh and filled with a lot of meat. I also had the chowder, it was adequate. My daughter, upon arriving decided she had to have root beer.....she rarely has soda and never RB. But the hostess ( I think her name was Dodi) went out of her way searching for a RB. Our waitress Lindsay was also accommodating and friendly. The two of them really made the dinner very enjoyable. We were also told to try the chicken. We have chicken quite a bit but my husband ordered it and was pleased. The other item ordered was the chicken fingers...huge amount and tender and juicy.
We would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    10
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great menu, atmosphere and view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

They have a great deck with comfortable couches, high tops, gas fire pit with a view of South Beach! They even have an awning for those really hot days and heaters for the cold ones. The restaurant has a great menu with many different local flavors. The bar has a few great different cocktails including a fresh blueberries, mint and blueberry vodka drink. The wine menu is great too. I don't know how the service is since I always sit at the bar which has a t.v. For some reason it is almost always empty. This is a much better option than all of the restaurants in Edgartown which either have only fried food or insanely expensive ($50) with terrible service. Give Lure a try, I think you will be very pleasantly surprised!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our food was average at best. Service was ok. Expected much more.
The deck is nice but they are not allowed to serve food or drinks on it.
The bar closes very early as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything on the menu is outstanding, but the Oysters and Halibut were the best I've ever had. Josh, Matt, Lindsay, and Dan will make the Lure Grill a perfect dining experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A nice night away from Edgartown proper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

For the second straight year we've decided to venture out of the norm (aka the restaurants of downtown Edgartown) to the Winnetu Resort. They have a second floor restaurant and bar that is family friendly and reasonably priced. Where else can you drop your kids off to be supervised while you eat dinner?

For starters, we ordered a roasted veggie salad with beets, carrots asparagus, zucchini, peas, arugula, radishes and onions. Tasted very fresh, with ,ore than enough for two to share. It was topped with a balsamic reduction.

For dinner I ordered the shrimp scampi, which apparently ran out and was no longer offered that evening. My wife order the filet medium well, but ended up coming back medium rare. I ended up ordering the Atlantic salmon with ricotta and spinach roll ups on the side.

Drinks weren't bad, I got a Hendricks and ice tea, she ordered a Malbec for the vast wine menu. Note if you do order a "Dark and Stormy" they use Gosling and not Barritts ginger beer.

It's a great place to go even if you aren't on the resort. Definitely worth taking a drive to a place where you don't have to battle for parking.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lure also viewed

 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.