We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesca's Restaurant

Chesca's Restaurant
38 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
508-627-1234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 52 restaurants in Edgartown
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Boston
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We never miss a chance to dine at Chesca's when we come to Edgartown. The menu is reliably good with interesting choices, and service is pleasant and sophisticated. You get what you pay for here. The salmon served this week was probably the best piece of fish we've ever had. Better than Legal Seafoods and a number of other places we've had salmon. Fresh and cooked to perfection with a lovely glaze. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    58
    28
    13
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

They would not take a reservation for a party less than 2, but waiting in the bar area, drinking the house Sangria, made the short wait fun. Their Bento Box was a real teat

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A trip to Edgartown is not complete without dinner at Chesca's!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Martha's Vineyard for about 8 years now, and no trip is complete without at least one dinner at Chesca's! Exceptional, friendly service and fresh entrees served piping hot. I almost always order the Roasted Halibut, and this time was no different. My husband order the steak. Both entrees were perfection! Our Asian pear salads were cold and crisp. An ending of Key Lime Pie made this particular dinner spectacular. Be expected to wait for a table because Chesca's is a long-standing favorite of those you frequently travel to Edgartown. You will NOT be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband had been here before and thought it was okay, and I wanted pasta, so we decided to go to Chesca's. We ordered drinks and sat on the veranda while we waited for our table. After getting seated and served delicious bread, it went downhill from there. We were enjoying our appetizer but then had to wait at least 30-40 minutes after we were finished with our appetizer to get our entrees. We would have been better off not waiting. I ordered penne with marinara sauce. It was inedible. The marinara sauce was sour. The penne was mushy. I also ordered a side of meatballs, but since the same horrible sauce was covering it, I couldn't eat it. My husband ordered the tortellini and he ate it, but it was way overpriced at $28 and maybe would have been worth it if it was on an all you eat buffet for $8.95. We had the busboy take away my uneaten dish and when the waitress came over with dessert menus I told her that the food was horrible. At least she took the price of the penne (a ridiculous $21) off the bill. There are much better restaurants on Martha's Vineyard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, great scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went early, knowing that this place got busy and didn't take reservations. We sat in the bar area and ordered a few apps and a bottle of wine. We shared a salad, a crab cake (there are two in the app dish), and the lobster bisque. All three dishes were delicious. We enjoyed people watching in this area. It was a very busy because people who were waiting ordered drinks. We really liked the front porch of this restaurant and came back another night just for a drink. The staff was great and helpful! It's worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesca's Restaurant also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Chesca's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesca's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.