We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner in a long time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesca's Restaurant

Chesca's Restaurant
38 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
508-627-1234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 56 Restaurants in Edgartown
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best dinner in a long time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I were here for our anniversary just last night and everything was on the mark. Even during off-season it was a great night. We shared the lobster bisque and hot gorgonzola dip with shrimp and it was excellent. For dinner my wife had the salmon with the special thai glaze sauce and it was delicious. I had the lobster ravioli and seared scallops and I wish there was more...it was soooo good. Sometimes I can't help but judge the price of a dish verses the quantity of food you get so the initial price as listed on the menu for the lobster ravioli/scallps was a little hard to stomach because I rarely get the most expensive entree. However, if you judge it on quality mixed with the service it was worth it. I'd still get it again. We ended with the Caramel Chocolate Fudge Cake which was really good. Our server, Adriana, was fantastic...attentive, good suggestions, upbeat, and sweet. Ask for her if you can. The restaurant comped us pre-dinner drinks as an anniversary surprise which was really cool of them. Everything flowed right throughout the evening. Can't wait to go back but I know it will be a while before we come back to the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    15
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious, cozy, attentive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a simple meal of chianti, grilled romaine salad, margarita pizza, meat balls and a "decadent" dessert with coffee. Nothing fancy. But the food was delicious and the service impeccable. The setting is cozy and attractive. We'll be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just celebrated my wife's birthday at Chesca's and it was one of the most fantastic restaurant experiences we have had in a very long time. The waitstaff was incredibly attentive to our party of 18. It was a busy Saturday night and a full house but I observed great efficiency of service throughout the restaurant. The food was amazing and I highly recommend the lobster ravioli. They have a great wine list too. I can't recommend this place enough and look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Special Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Worthy of a special night out or a place to bring friends who've come to the island for the first time. Consistently good, usually excellent. Service that always goes above and beyond.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's all about the porch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just go get some big tall drinks with fruit, parasols in the drinks and sit on the porch. Great Edgartown people watching. Oh and the food was good, plentiful and service great. The front porch is noisy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesca's Restaurant also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
 

Been to Chesca's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesca's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.