We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub, decent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wharf Pub & Restaurant

Wharf Pub & Restaurant
Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
(508) 627-9966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 56 Restaurants in Edgartown
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
ericl1098
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good pub, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Wharf is an enjoyable pub with good food. We visited in the afternoon for a quick drink and appetizers, and enjoyed it thoroughly. They have very good Chowder (best we had in our stay on the Island), and we loved their twist on Fried Calamari. Pub was pretty crowded and was a upbeat atmosphere. Next time we are in The Vineyard, we will be sure to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    68
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went on the recommendation of a friend and after reading Trip Advisor reviews. It was an ummitigated disaster. Never have I paid for food that was inedible but the chirpy waitress merely shrugged when I answered her non-question of "How is your meal?" with a response that it was "terrible." She merely smiled, shrugged her shoulders and walked away! She either could not hear and/or did not care.

The 'meals' in question were a salad of field greeens with broiled flank steak. The greens were tough and the steak was unchewable; the iced tea was powdered.

The other meal was fried "whole belly clams" which were really bits and pieces of clams and lots of breading. The beverage was a Jack Daniels on the rocks which was so watered down you could barely taste anything. No wonder the lights were so low!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We always seem to end up at the wharf once or twice during a one week vacation. The menu has a lot of variety - something for everyone. Their Chowder can compete with the very best and it always seem to be served hot - as it should be. Entrees never strike me as exotic but are well-made in the bustling atmosphere. Many seating varieties are available: booths, extra large booths, table arrangements. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We first went to another restaurant, but because of terible servive, we left. We ended up at the Wharf. Wow, thank goodness for this. The pasta dish at the Wharf is the best that we have ever had. Good service and Lucas is an outstanding waiter. Because of Lucas and the pasta, we will certainly be back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Unremarkable...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our server was very nice and attentive but everyone's food was pretty mediocre. The wings were good but everything else was so-so. And the place was so dark -- maybe so no one could see their food? They gave our daughter a paper placement and crayons, but she couldn't even see well enough to color. Probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Wharf Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharf Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.