We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'etoile

L'etoile
22 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
508 627 5187
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: French, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We read the menu posted outside and went in .We had also been recommended to go here .Unfortunately they had changed to their winter menu which was far more limited .
We both had the Australian lamb which on the posted menu wouldn't have been our first choice ,saying that the meal was very good and the service excellent .
The food and wines are on the higher priced side ,however it is a more formal restaurant with a subdued but homely atmosphere and very comfortable seating

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    42
    13
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Magic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Vacationing on Martha’s Vineyard we came here to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. Perfect choice! We dined outside on the tented patio that was beautifully decorated with greens and fairy lights. Incense coils were lit to ward off mosquitos but this added a great fall smell to the outdoor space. Our waiter was wonderful and the wait staff were very attentive without being annoying. The food was spectacular. We shared a cheese tray appetizer that was just lovely. Various cheeses from the region and assorted crackers to complement each. My husband had the surf and turf and may have actually groaned with happiness during the meal. It was excellent. I had the gnocchi which I may have also groaned over. I have never tasted such a light gnocchi in my life. We finished with dessert which was equally spectacular. It wasn’t just dining it was an experience and a wonderful choice for our anniversary. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this restaurant by accident. We were trying to decide where to have dinner when we noticed the beautifully lit garden. Unfortunately, we weren't able to sit in the garden since it was being used by a private party but the experience was still lovely. The inside is very nice and cozy. The waitress was friendly and attentive. I was very pleased with the entire meal and wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A quiet, out-of-the-way place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is one of the gems, off the beaten path in Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. We recently made our first visit there, based on reviews of others. We were not disappointed in any regard. The food and service were first-class.

Paul Janicke
Houston, TX

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A fice star experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This restaurant was a real gem! I actually found it on TripAdvisor, but did not do more than skim the reviews. It was a very special, intimate experience from start to finish. /we had been warned about the poor service which couldn't have been farther from the truth. My husband and I were treated like royalty from start to finish. We chose to eat on the patio on a lovely August night. The food was as good as any we have had in the world. It doesn't matter what you order - it is all superb. The presentation was delightful, every mouthful was delicious, and the serving size just right. We were never hurried and lingered over each course from drinks through dessert. It is not inexpensive, but far less extravagantly priced than many other locations we have been to which were far less wonderful. If you are in Martha's Vineyard, and want a special evening to remember, both intimate and gourmet, don't miss L'etoile!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'etoile also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to L'etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.