We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and hip but with friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Hunter

The Port Hunter
55 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 56 Restaurants in Edgartown
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Waltham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Cool and hip but with friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Loved this place. Had a great modern feel to it with an interesting menu. Got the peel and eat shrimp which seems so simple but were a favorite dish of the vacation -- very large shrimp with clarified butter to dip in (yum!) Also got the whole roasted scup which was super flavorful and perfectly cooked. Service was really friendly. Went back another evening for a drink and the bar staff was equally friendly. Decent craft beer selection as well. Would definitely go back again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food is great and the atmosphere is lively. We loved this place so much we went back the next night. I'd recommend the Dog Fish IPA and the fish tacos.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“One of our four meals good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I took our children (5yrs, 7yrs) to eat here and restaurant most definitely makes it obvious they don't cater to children. We didn't take the hint and went ahead with the meal--not only did we pay full adult meal price for 'kid-ified' menu items ($15 apiece) but the kids wouldn't touch them. My meal was good. My husband's--the most expensive one, and the nightly special--was average. Service was also poor but the biggest issue for us was the obvious lack of child-friendliness. If you're here with kids, skip it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

New (to us, at least). I figured it would be another overpriced tourist trap, but gave it a chance -- and I'm glad we did. Very lively atmosphere (though may be too loud for some). Creative menu that actually delivers as promised. We started with a flatbread special and moved on to pasta. Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in Edgartown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been coming to Martha's Vineyard for many years. Good meals have always been hard to find on the island, so we arrived at the Port Hunter not expecting much. What a surprise! A really interesting menu, very well prepared! Oysters were amazing (which is true many places on the island now) but the other items were equally good. A delicious smoked bluefish pate with pickled jalapeños and a burrata with snow pea pesto were amazing! The grilled wahoo was wonderful and perfectly cooked and spiced, as were the seared scallops. The zucchini pancakes could have used a little more zucchini but the roasted baby sweet potatoes that came with them were outstanding. This is a very good restaurant with a casual vibe and very nice servers. They don't take reservations, so there might be a substantial wait in July and August, but this is really good food. Prices are moderate for the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Port Hunter also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to The Port Hunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Hunter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.