We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was drive by tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Vineyard Sightseeing

Martha's Vineyard Sightseeing
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA
(508)-627-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 18 Activities in Edgartown
Attraction details
Baltimore MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It was drive by tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We drove by each segment of the island. I wish the tour had more than one stop. The bus driver was very entertaining. It's a great tour. It stops at Gay Cliff. After walking up a series of steps/hill, there are plenty of places to eat. There are tables to enjoy your meal outside. There is even a dine in restaurant. I did not see a wheel chair/disability accessibility at Gay Cliff Hill. This bus is dated. It may be a good idea to call ahead to see if there is a bus that can accommodate a wheelchair.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    10
    9
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The island is stunningly beautiful. The sky is so blue and water is so clear that you can see through it. What really intrigued me was the history of this island.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nobody cared.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Phoned the day before we went to Martha's Vineyard. Heard a recording that said they run tours up until 3:00 p.m. from both ferries. They said there would be buses at both ferries. When we arrived there was a bus there. Checked with driver and he said this bus was for a private charter. He said there was no buses from this ferry today but was kind enough to radio the office. They said to take a local bus to other ferry and there would be a tour bus there. We took the next local bus to the other ferry. We arrived shortly after 1:00 p.m. and nobody was there. Checked at tourist info across street and he said they had been closing at 1:00 p.m. lately. We where there later when a bus came back from a tour. Talked to him but said they where done for the day. I told him he should tell office to change recording on the phone recording at office. He sort of ignored me.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Martha's vineyard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had one day to spend on the Vineyard so we decided to take the 2 1/2 hrs bus tour around the island. We had a great, funny tour guide who took us to Aquinnah and the Gay Head Cliffs. Had our lunch at Aquinnah and bought some souvenirs then on to see Edgartown and back to Oak Bluffs to catch the Ferry back to Falmouth.. Very beautiful relaxing day. Our tour guide explained the islands history and showed us driveways where some stars live/stay! If you want to stay on the island book early as I tried to book 3 months in advance and could only find 1 B & B for $500. a night..way too much $ for me...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“well worth the Cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We only had 2 days on MV and for $33 per person it was worth it for the 3 hour tour. Tony was our driver and he was very knowledgeable and pretty entertaining. The bus is what it is and again you are getting your money’s worth. We both enjoyed it and stopping at the Aquinnah Cliffs was breathtaking so do bring your camera. I chuckled and gladly paid the 50 cents per person local restroom charge at Aquinnah, but some were offended by it. Get over it or head over to the pucker brush. Do not plan on eating at Aquinnah, since they cannot handle the crowds and the stop is a short 30 minutes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Vineyard Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Martha's Vineyard Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Vineyard Sightseeing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.