We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Beach in Edgartown MA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Katama Road, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Edgartown
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“South Beach in Edgartown MA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have been to South Beach numerous times over the years. We keep going back so we must really like it. The water is warm compared to what you would find further north at Hampton NH or York Beach ME. There isn't anything but the beach at South Beach, so if you are a beach person, for that in itself you will enjoy stretching out a chair, opening a good book and getting lost in the breeze and the sounds of the large rolling waves. The only reason I did not give it an excellent is because the one downside in the dead of summer is everyone else wants to enjoy the beach too. Parking can be a little difficult and the beach can be a little crowded. However if you go in late June or early September it is wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    37
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commonwealth of MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“South Beach, Edgartown, MA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Undoubtedly, one of the nicest free ocean beaches with free parking we have ever been to. The vineyard has numerous beaches but most cost $$ or are residents only. This is totally free. Beware, it gets crowded.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Beach is beautiful and clean - ideal for sunbathing, swimming, walking. A must see when in MV. We visit this beach each time we're in MV. The only thing I wish it had were bathrooms; changing areas are provided, but no bath. But worth visiting regardless.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were there off-season when dogs can run on the beach so we had a great time. It is a huge expanse of beach, shelling isn't great but we enjoyed walking with the dog and enjoying the last days of summer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“summer days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

beautiful, white sand beach that stretches for miles. great for kids but beware of the waves... This is a beach that your kids will remember for a long time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach also viewed

Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.