We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMMACULATE ACCOMODATIONS, WORLD-CLASS STAFF = TERRIFIC VACATION AT WINNETU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winnetu Oceanside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Save Saved
You added Winnetu Oceanside Resort to your Saves list
31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“IMMACULATE ACCOMODATIONS, WORLD-CLASS STAFF = TERRIFIC VACATION AT WINNETU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Immaculate, beautifully-designed, perfectly decorated and ultra-comfortable, stylish accommodations , the family and couples-oriented signature event (The Lure Restaurant Clambake on Wednesday nights), a children-friendly environment (there's a "Harry Potter/Alice in Wonderland" moment when you first see the colossal chess set with each chess piece several feet tall and giant-size chairs near the ping-pong tables, 1956 "Winnetu-inscribed" Ford and Winnetu Fire Engine), the perfectly-manicured lawns and beautiful views everywhere-- the charming atmosphere and friendly people throughout the property, and close proximity to the beach-- all equate to a memorable 3rd Wedding Anniversary/Birthday sea-side vacation for my wife and me.

It was a true joy vacationing at the Winnetu (American Indian name for Beauty) Oceanside Resort. Trip Advisor may want to consider the merits of adding a 6th rating of "Superior" for resorts such as this distinguished one! When I asked my wife one week after our vacation at the Winnetu if she would like to return, she immediately responded "Absolutely, Yes!!!"

As a seasoned, world traveler, I can asseverate that you simply won't find a finer concierge than the affable, efficient, empathetic and courteous Tim Benoit, who is a true professional. Before my wife and I even arrived at the Winnetu, we received a nice letter from Mr. Benoit, which provided highlights of the ways he could enhance our upcoming vacation. In every respect, Tim went the extra mile to elevate even further what was already a terrific vacation. As much as I thought I knew from having read 3 guides on the island, Tim's expertise was far greater than my knowledge-- as a result, my wife and I saw some places we didn't know about en route to Menemsha and Aquinnah, learned more about the local history, and dined at some great venues for lunch in Edgartown (such as The Atlantic). Fortunately, Tim encouraged us to go to The Lure Clambake, which was among the highlights of our visit to the Winnetu.

Meeting members of the Snider Family (owners) and Dan Scully, Jr. (General Manager), who welcomed us so warmly upon our arrival, along with the lovely note from Lizzie Pack added much to our exciting entry into the Winnetu "community."
The Lure Restaurant at the Winnetu was terrific, as was the expert management by Steven Brunelle, and the bartending Dan and his team.

People such as Dodi and Julia, who went out of their way to ensure a favorably-memorable stay for us were appreciated greatly. Steven Brunelle helped me personally at The Lure Restaurant and at the General Store-- stepping out of his role to expertly package my wife's birthday vase & 18 roses for the trip home.

The Winnetu Oceanside Resort is a very short, pleasant car ride (or bike ride) to the Edgartown "hub," and to all the great shops on Edgartown's Main Street and the beautiful , not-to-be-missed scenic walk up Water Street.

In the final analysis, The Winnetu Oceanside Resort has a perfectly-balanced vacation for everyone's enjoyment-- and it is even more than that-- an outstanding staff with a friendly community of fine people focused on your happiness.

Room Tip: Request East Chop area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    52
    21
    16
    8
See reviews for
228
88
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We loved everything about this resort! The staff goes above and beyond to ensure you have a fantastic stay from the moment you arrive to the check-out process. We traveled with 14, 7, and 5 year old kids and there was something for everyone! The highlight was the kid's camp which is included with your stay; each day the van picked the kids up at 9 and whisked them off to field trips to the farm and fire station or other areas and then delivered them back at noon. I am one of those parents who never really thought about those programs before this trip, but am now a believer. Everyone in the family needs a bit of time to spend time doing something for themselves, the kids like being around other kids for a bit of the day and my husband and I enjoyed quiet breakfast/shopping trips or walks on the beach. When we got back together we shared our experiences over lunch and spent the rest of the day together...Excellent! We loved the walk from the sweeping lawn through the trail to the beach. The kids loved the heated pools, and so did we! We did the lighthouse tour through the concierge and I highly recommend that too! It was easy to get where we needed to be and had a fantastic tour! The only thing I can say that left me a bit less than impressed was the cost/value of the clam bake. While we had a great time being out on the lawn and seeing the reptile guy, I left feeling the cost wasn't quite worth the experience. I hate to even write about it since we had such an overwhelmingly positive experience and thanks to the Winnetu will most definitely be back! Thank you, thank you, thank you to the owner and staff...You have a first rate property and program!

Room Tip: We loved being in a suite overlooking the pool at the main resort...bring bikes if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was our first time to MV and we couldn't have been happier with this resort. It was wonderful to stay somewhere that was so kid friendly! The entire resort, the rooms, the grounds were very clean. I was a bit worried about some of the other reviews that made the walk to the beach seem very long. We had a 2 and 3 year old who had no problem making the walk and actually enjoyed it! Lure Grill was fantastic and the children's section is such a great help. Everything from the fire truck rides, to the face painting. There was always something going on. We did not take advantage of the morning children's program and we were kind of sorry we didn't. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We recently returned from our third stay at the Winnetu and are already planning our visit next Summer. The resort is very well run - as evidenced by us having met the owner who walked around the pool and spoke to all the guests.
Our 5 and 7 year old daughters love the day camp and the evening program - as well as the turtle pond.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was probably the best place to stay on the island. It was our first time to the Marthas Vineyard wast sure what to expect. IT was very pleasant, the grounds are very nice. Very kid friendly - they have nice sitters watching the children at dinner (there is a playroom in the dining area). We had a cottage room with two bedrooms and full kitchen and it was amazing. The rooms are spectacular in newly renovated. Really was very impressed with the rooms (but then again your paying a good amount per night so i would expect the accommodations to be above average - which they were, and then some.

Staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Really felt like the cared.

The beach was nice - water was ok, nothing to talk about - beach itself was huge and scenic and windy.

The pool was nice, very packed cause its pretty small.

The island itself was very quaint and charming. You need to rent a car if you plan on leaving the grounds and seeing the island. MV Rentals was great. The hotel does provide bus service to edgartown which is nice and convenient since parking can be a pain sometimes.

All in all the resort was great.

The restaurants on the island where very average.

I honestly don't think i will go back to Martha s Vineyard - but only because its not really what Im looking for in a vacation - i love Caribbean beaches and weather.

Room Tip: Get a cottage Room - don't be too concerned with beach view, as it very far away and limited vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a beautiful location next to the beach. The standard of the lodging is excellent - bedding is comfortable and good quality, layout is excellent. There was no problem fitting a family of five. Some of the rooms can be dark as was ours which is unfortunate - this just doesnt reflect the Beach holiday feel when there's not enough light. Also disappointing for me was the fact that not all facilities are on site . For example the gym is approximately, 1km down the road as is the second swimming pool. They do provide a shuttle service but if like me you just like to sneak out of the room to do a quick hour in the morning, its just not possible.
The service is excellent and the buildings and grounds are beautiful.
I appreciate all the more now that Im at the Oceanside Resort in Brewster... Review to follow

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We just had a great stay at the Winnetu. It was our first and we'll definitely be back. My kids made friends instantly at the resort and were amused the entire time. The kid's programs were great & non-stop - the morning camp-like activities, the afternoon antique firetruck rides with snacks & face painting, the evening programs (movies & dinner). The room was perfect - kitchenette is much appreciated with little kids. Service was great too. We have food allergies and they handled them beautifully, especially in the kid's programs. The staff could not have been more helpful, attentive, and friendly with each & every request we made, and we made lots!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor facing west (we were in 315) for a great view of the sunset that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 52 air-conditioned studios and suites and two cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Island Adventure Trips. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale Lure Grill restaurant located on-site. Resort open late April through late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnetu Oceanside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.