We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beautiful Winnetu Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winnetu Oceanside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Save Saved
You added Winnetu Oceanside Resort to your Saves list
31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Beautiful Winnetu Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My daughter and I visited Martha's Vineyard in April this year for the first time. After some reviewing we picked the Winnetu to stay. What a perfect choice. We were early in the year and yet had perfect weather and the area could not be more gorgeous. Don't worry about things to do as there are plenty but the highest praise goes to the staff. What wonderful people we met who did everything they could to make our few days the best they could be. The hardest thing was having to leave. Thank you all so much for everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    50
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
217
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Overall we had a great experience. The room was immaculate and well-appointed. The staff were friendly. The food on-site was great. There were many activities available to us, although we couldn't take advantage of all of them because of our short time there.
Our only fault would be that some of the staff were obviously inexperienced and maybe lacked some basic operational knowledge -- this is probably because they are young, seasonal staff and just need more training. For instance, asking basic questions and having to wait for a more senior staff member to clarify or correct them before getting the appropriate answer.
We also used a babysitter obtained through the hotel and we were quite pleased.
All said, we would likely return in the future. We enjoyed the Winnetu and its proximity to Edgartown.

Room Tip: Top floors have a view of the ocean; bottom floors have direct access to the grounds which is perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at the Winnetu this past Memorial Day weekend with my young daughter, mother, and a friend. This is a lovely resort with beautiful decor and great amenities, but the friendliness of the staff and their efforts to please are what make this resort special. I would recommend it to anybody traveling with small children to Martha's Vineyard. The pool was heated, so we could swim even in less than warm weather. The walk to the beach was not too far. They have a play area at the main restaurant and plenty of activities, including s'mores over a campfire, to delight children. Thank you to the staff (especially Chip and Dottie!) for making our stay so WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Winnetu Oceanside Resort. We stayed in the Garden Suite and the room was beautiful. I don't believe I have ever stayed in a hotel that was so clean! We had our own private deck and a small kitchen set up that worked for us. I cannot emphasize how exceptional the staff was at the Winnetu! They were professional, courteous, friendly and so helpful when needed. The Lure Grill was the best! We never had a bad meal through our stay. The beach is a 3 minute walk and the heated pool was so relaxing. I would not hesitate to book another stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the off season (middle of May) at the Winnetu. The accommodations were outstanding. The view from our balcony, which faced a beautiful pond with the ocean in the background, added to the overall ambience of the resort. Since we were there off season, our rate included our breakfast. The food was delicious at the breakfast buffet and the chef who prepared the omelets/eggs did a great job. He made any kind of egg dish you wanted and always did it with a smile. He even brought the eggs to our table so we didn't have to wait or go back. The bar was open, with an outstanding and friendly bartender, and since the main restaurant had not opened yet for the season, there was a bar food menu. We ate at the bar one night and thoroughly enjoyed the dishes we ordered. They were very tasty and the portions were very large. We were sorry we won't able to be there the night the restaurant opened. We knew the food was going to be great. Housekeeping kept our room very clean and made sure we had everything we needed each day. They were probably some of the hardest working housekeeping personnel we have ever seen, and they did an excellent job. The resort provided robes, beach towels and beach chairs. Even though the weather was nice, we didn't have truly beach weather so we didn't get to use all these things, --but it was nice to know they were there. All the Staff, Dave the GM. Steve the restaurant manager, Dan our waiter, our bartender, Mr. Benoit, Omar, and the front desk personnel were always there to check on things and to make sure our stay was pleasant --- and it definitely was. We had a living room with TV, a fully equipped kitchen, a large bathroom with a very large walk-in shower and a bedroom with another TV and the door out to the balcony. It is a wonderful place for families since there are so many activities for the children during the season. We would recommended it to couples also since Edgartown, as well as a large part of the island, has great shopping, restaurants and bars along with some beautiful beaches. This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard, but we plan to return and will stay at the Winnetu again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I traveled to the Winnetu because my family was visiting from another country at the middle of May. I traveled with a total of 11 people from ages 5 to 87, and there was something for all of us at the hotel. We stayed in 4 different suites that were very nice and there was plenty of room. The best part about them is that they have an extra half bathroom. The hotel had a giant chess set, foosball table, ping pong tables, Frisbee, and other countless games. The pool was incredibly warm, so we were able to go in it even though it was a bit chilly. There is a beautiful pond with really nice andrionack chairs to sit and relax. The beach walk is about 5 minutes and the beach is huge. The breakfast was included in our stay and it was excellent. The best employee was Chip from Romania by far who was very helpful and helped me fix a confusion with the breakfast bills. All in all an excellent vacation!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed in an Aquinnah 2 BR suite at the Winnetu with our two kids for three days in April. The suite was very nice and large enough that we could hang out while the kids slept in the other area. There isn't a door between the second bedroom and the kitchen/living room area however, so there is really only privacy in the master bedroom. The suite had a large deck with a view to the ocean from the third floor. When we were there the hotel was probably only at 25% occupancy so I don't know what its like when all the rooms are full.

Breakfast was nice, although apparently only offered off season? The kids really liked the firetruck ride, the foosball and pingpong tables. We all really liked the short walk to beautiful South Beach.

One layout note - the Aquinnah suite is an L-shaped suite with the living room and master bedroom opening onto the deck. The inside of the L is a single room with attaching door to the little hallway from the master bedroom to the living room. This wasn't a problem as the room was empty, but I guess it's slightly less private (as all attached rooms in any hotel are).

Room Tip: Get a third floor room for a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 52 air-conditioned studios and suites and two cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Island Adventure Trips. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale Lure Grill restaurant located on-site. Resort open late April through late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnetu Oceanside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.