We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Gem with a Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winnetu Oceanside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
July Special Save 20%-30%
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seaside Gem with a Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the off season (middle of May) at the Winnetu. The accommodations were outstanding. The view from our balcony, which faced a beautiful pond with the ocean in the background, added to the overall ambience of the resort. Since we were there off season, our rate included our breakfast. The food was delicious at the breakfast buffet and the chef who prepared the omelets/eggs did a great job. He made any kind of egg dish you wanted and always did it with a smile. He even brought the eggs to our table so we didn't have to wait or go back. The bar was open, with an outstanding and friendly bartender, and since the main restaurant had not opened yet for the season, there was a bar food menu. We ate at the bar one night and thoroughly enjoyed the dishes we ordered. They were very tasty and the portions were very large. We were sorry we won't able to be there the night the restaurant opened. We knew the food was going to be great. Housekeeping kept our room very clean and made sure we had everything we needed each day. They were probably some of the hardest working housekeeping personnel we have ever seen, and they did an excellent job. The resort provided robes, beach towels and beach chairs. Even though the weather was nice, we didn't have truly beach weather so we didn't get to use all these things, --but it was nice to know they were there. All the Staff, Dave the GM. Steve the restaurant manager, Dan our waiter, our bartender, Mr. Benoit, Omar, and the front desk personnel were always there to check on things and to make sure our stay was pleasant --- and it definitely was. We had a living room with TV, a fully equipped kitchen, a large bathroom with a very large walk-in shower and a bedroom with another TV and the door out to the balcony. It is a wonderful place for families since there are so many activities for the children during the season. We would recommended it to couples also since Edgartown, as well as a large part of the island, has great shopping, restaurants and bars along with some beautiful beaches. This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard, but we plan to return and will stay at the Winnetu again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    45
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
207
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raynham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I traveled to the Winnetu because my family was visiting from another country at the middle of May. I traveled with a total of 11 people from ages 5 to 87, and there was something for all of us at the hotel. We stayed in 4 different suites that were very nice and there was plenty of room. The best part about them is that they have an extra half bathroom. The hotel had a giant chess set, foosball table, ping pong tables, Frisbee, and other countless games. The pool was incredibly warm, so we were able to go in it even though it was a bit chilly. There is a beautiful pond with really nice andrionack chairs to sit and relax. The beach walk is about 5 minutes and the beach is huge. The breakfast was included in our stay and it was excellent. The best employee was Chip from Romania by far who was very helpful and helped me fix a confusion with the breakfast bills. All in all an excellent vacation!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed in an Aquinnah 2 BR suite at the Winnetu with our two kids for three days in April. The suite was very nice and large enough that we could hang out while the kids slept in the other area. There isn't a door between the second bedroom and the kitchen/living room area however, so there is really only privacy in the master bedroom. The suite had a large deck with a view to the ocean from the third floor. When we were there the hotel was probably only at 25% occupancy so I don't know what its like when all the rooms are full.

Breakfast was nice, although apparently only offered off season? The kids really liked the firetruck ride, the foosball and pingpong tables. We all really liked the short walk to beautiful South Beach.

One layout note - the Aquinnah suite is an L-shaped suite with the living room and master bedroom opening onto the deck. The inside of the L is a single room with attaching door to the little hallway from the master bedroom to the living room. This wasn't a problem as the room was empty, but I guess it's slightly less private (as all attached rooms in any hotel are).

Room Tip: Get a third floor room for a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry Ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We just got back from our 8th trip to The Winnetu. If at all possible, each trip gets better and better. It's all the little things that they do that makes the difference. I met the General Manager Dan one day while we were there and he went out of his way to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. Just a down to earth guy who seemed to very much enjoy what he is doing. The grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms are immaculate ( which is a must for my wife ). The food at Lure is delicious. The nice short walk to South Beach is great. The Winnetu has been and will continue to be a vacation spot for my family. Thank you to everyone there. You exceeded our expectations in every way possible.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on the 3rd floor. You get ocean view from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Winnetu this past May, 2013, with another couple and we loved it so much I am in the process of booking another trip this May. While I am reminiscing, I thought I would write a review.

We were looking for that "all-inclusive" type resort where we could do anything...or nothing, right there at the resort, and it turned out the Winnetu was the perfect spot. We decided to rent bikes, so the hotel had them delivered to the resort for us. We played tennis, took morning walks on beautiful South Beach and had evening cocktails watching the sun set from our lovely patio.

The two bedroom cottage where we stayed (called Cape Pogue) was perfect for two couples or a family. It had two nicely decorated bedrooms, kitchen, dining area, living room, patio, hot tub and three bathrooms. Aside from the Winnetu's perfect location, they also offer a restaurant, cafe, gift shop and free shuttle service to Edgartown. We were all impressed with the entire staff's "eagerness to please" and loved both of the dinner recommendations from the concierge (The Atlantic and Chesca's).

We can't wait to get back to the Winnetu this May for another fabulous weekend. I highly recommend this resort for a perfect getaway weekend or better yet, summer vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We rented a Winnetu Condo in August for two weeks with another family...hated to leave! The condo was clean and beautifully appointed, close to the beach, next door to the pool and gym. Our kids loved the summer camp and rolled out of bed and ran out the door to the kids free summer camp from 9-12 noon. During the rest of the day we could do stuff or not...our kids were happy at the playground and the large lawns and pool or we packed up and drove onto Norton Beach where we had incredible views of the Atlantic and saw several seals. Probably the best thing about the Winnetu and the condos and Martha's Vineyard is that time slows down with old fashioned fun and time to just be together. Leave your electronics behind (cell phones, ipads, computers) and you will know you are in paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to the Vineyard for the past 16 years. After we had our daughter we still wanted to come but needed a family friendly enviornment and this was THE place. The pools are well kept and beautiful (dancing fountains are great fun for all), the kids camp is a MUST for parents who want a little "me" time and there is even child care during dinner so you can feel like adults and know your child is safe and having fun. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the staff is top notch... they can help you out with everything. We love the Lobster Bake that happens in July and August. Tons of food, activities for the kids and it is such a happy, relaxing atmosphere. It was also nice to see the camp counselors at the event and they knew all the kids by name immediately. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and if you have a car and don't want to walk, just hop in and you are there in a minute. I tell all our friends about the Winnetu and highly recommend it to anyone who is curious about the Vineyard and has a family.

Room Tip: We usually get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, but found if you have kids that like to run, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 52 air-conditioned studios and suites and two cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Island Adventure Trips. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale Lure Grill restaurant located on-site. Resort open late April through late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnetu Oceanside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Winnetu Oceanside Resort to your Saves list