We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for a family vacation!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winnetu Oceanside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Save
You added Winnetu Oceanside Resort to your Saves list
31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raynham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best place for a family vacation!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I traveled to the Winnetu because my family was visiting from another country at the middle of May. I traveled with a total of 11 people from ages 5 to 87, and there was something for all of us at the hotel. We stayed in 4 different suites that were very nice and there was plenty of room. The best part about them is that they have an extra half bathroom. The hotel had a giant chess set, foosball table, ping pong tables, Frisbee, and other countless games. The pool was incredibly warm, so we were able to go in it even though it was a bit chilly. There is a beautiful pond with really nice andrionack chairs to sit and relax. The beach walk is about 5 minutes and the beach is huge. The breakfast was included in our stay and it was excellent. The best employee was Chip from Romania by far who was very helpful and helped me fix a confusion with the breakfast bills. All in all an excellent vacation!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    55
    22
    16
    8
See reviews for
231
94
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed in an Aquinnah 2 BR suite at the Winnetu with our two kids for three days in April. The suite was very nice and large enough that we could hang out while the kids slept in the other area. There isn't a door between the second bedroom and the kitchen/living room area however, so there is really only privacy in the master bedroom. The suite had a large deck with a view to the ocean from the third floor. When we were there the hotel was probably only at 25% occupancy so I don't know what its like when all the rooms are full.

Breakfast was nice, although apparently only offered off season? The kids really liked the firetruck ride, the foosball and pingpong tables. We all really liked the short walk to beautiful South Beach.

One layout note - the Aquinnah suite is an L-shaped suite with the living room and master bedroom opening onto the deck. The inside of the L is a single room with attaching door to the little hallway from the master bedroom to the living room. This wasn't a problem as the room was empty, but I guess it's slightly less private (as all attached rooms in any hotel are).

Room Tip: Get a third floor room for a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry Ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We just got back from our 8th trip to The Winnetu. If at all possible, each trip gets better and better. It's all the little things that they do that makes the difference. I met the General Manager Dan one day while we were there and he went out of his way to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. Just a down to earth guy who seemed to very much enjoy what he is doing. The grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms are immaculate ( which is a must for my wife ). The food at Lure is delicious. The nice short walk to South Beach is great. The Winnetu has been and will continue to be a vacation spot for my family. Thank you to everyone there. You exceeded our expectations in every way possible.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on the 3rd floor. You get ocean view from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Winnetu this past May, 2013, with another couple and we loved it so much I am in the process of booking another trip this May. While I am reminiscing, I thought I would write a review.

We were looking for that "all-inclusive" type resort where we could do anything...or nothing, right there at the resort, and it turned out the Winnetu was the perfect spot. We decided to rent bikes, so the hotel had them delivered to the resort for us. We played tennis, took morning walks on beautiful South Beach and had evening cocktails watching the sun set from our lovely patio.

The two bedroom cottage where we stayed (called Cape Pogue) was perfect for two couples or a family. It had two nicely decorated bedrooms, kitchen, dining area, living room, patio, hot tub and three bathrooms. Aside from the Winnetu's perfect location, they also offer a restaurant, cafe, gift shop and free shuttle service to Edgartown. We were all impressed with the entire staff's "eagerness to please" and loved both of the dinner recommendations from the concierge (The Atlantic and Chesca's).

We can't wait to get back to the Winnetu this May for another fabulous weekend. I highly recommend this resort for a perfect getaway weekend or better yet, summer vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We rented a Winnetu Condo in August for two weeks with another family...hated to leave! The condo was clean and beautifully appointed, close to the beach, next door to the pool and gym. Our kids loved the summer camp and rolled out of bed and ran out the door to the kids free summer camp from 9-12 noon. During the rest of the day we could do stuff or not...our kids were happy at the playground and the large lawns and pool or we packed up and drove onto Norton Beach where we had incredible views of the Atlantic and saw several seals. Probably the best thing about the Winnetu and the condos and Martha's Vineyard is that time slows down with old fashioned fun and time to just be together. Leave your electronics behind (cell phones, ipads, computers) and you will know you are in paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to the Vineyard for the past 16 years. After we had our daughter we still wanted to come but needed a family friendly enviornment and this was THE place. The pools are well kept and beautiful (dancing fountains are great fun for all), the kids camp is a MUST for parents who want a little "me" time and there is even child care during dinner so you can feel like adults and know your child is safe and having fun. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the staff is top notch... they can help you out with everything. We love the Lobster Bake that happens in July and August. Tons of food, activities for the kids and it is such a happy, relaxing atmosphere. It was also nice to see the camp counselors at the event and they knew all the kids by name immediately. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and if you have a car and don't want to walk, just hop in and you are there in a minute. I tell all our friends about the Winnetu and highly recommend it to anyone who is curious about the Vineyard and has a family.

Room Tip: We usually get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, but found if you have kids that like to run, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I would love to say we had a wonderful vacation; however, if the reservation system is any indication as to the level of service to be expected, then count me out.

I have been trying for three weeks to make a reservation for opening season. I tried online only to get error after error. I tried calling multiple times, but only to be put on hold and then the call disconnected before anyone helping. I tried e-mailing (twice) and I tried filling out the prompt on their main website that asks for me number and/or e-mail with promises someone will contact me.

My family and I planned on staying for two weeks after reading great reviews, but for a "resort" who I am going to be paying thousands of dollars to I expect a little more attention from the beginning. They obviously aren't too eager to book guests and when travelling by air with a family I can't wait until last minute to make reservations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanthomp3, Manager at Winnetu Oceanside Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I am the Director of Reservations for the Winnetu and am responsible for our Reservations department. After receiving this review, I sat down with our full team to discuss the issues raised by this reviewer. We have checked all of our inquiries since December 28, 2013, including e-mails, and can't find any from this reviewer or any requests for information on our Web-inquiry system. Every request that we receive has a notated response and action taken by us. We receive numerous requests every day, including those by telephone.

These reviewer comments are very troubling to me, as we take a great deal of time to personally get to know our guests and their needs. I would be grateful if this reviewer could contact me personally, so that I can get to the bottom of this matter. I am in the office Monday-Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time) and can be reached by e-mail at a.hindley@vineyardnantucketresorts.com or telephone at (508) 310-9922, x7836. I look forward to hearing from this guest as soon as possible.

- Adrienne Hindley, Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 54 air-conditioned studios and suites and one and two-bedroom cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Two-Island Adventure Trip to our sister Resort on Nantucket, The Nantucket Hotel. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale restaurant, The Dunes located on-site. Resort open mid-April through late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnetu Oceanside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.