We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch, family-friendly destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winnetu Oceanside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Save Saved
You added Winnetu Oceanside Resort to your Saves list
31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top-notch, family-friendly destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our third stay with The Winnetu over the course of several years. We are experienced and demanding travelers and The Winnetu has once again exceeded expectations. The resort is sophisticated without being snooty and family-friendly without being chaotic. The Winnetu offers something for everyone with its endless array of activities.

Guests may choose from a hotel style room or suite, condo or home to large enough to fit extended family & friends. The staff's hospitality is beyond compare. The facilities are in excellent condition offering island charm with modern luxury. A knowledgeable concierge is available to plan the perfect itinerary for every travelers' whim. The housekeeping staff goes above and beyond (they actually washed our dirty dishes!). The wonderful Lure restaurant offers a fine dining experience in a casual setting catering to adults and children alike. Finally, the resort's green approach is forward thinking to help protect the island's limited resources.

When we found The Winnetu many years ago, it was the only resort offering heated pools and easy beach access. That coupled with the rest of the resort's family-friendly amenities made the Winnetu the only spot we'd consider. We travel all the way to MV from CA and look forward to many more visits. We recommend the Winnetu without reservation.

Room Tip: The resort offers an extensive array of places to stay from hotel-style rooms and suites in The Winn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    50
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
216
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a great choice for families coming to MV . The kids club is from 9am-12pm with lots of planned family activities in the afternoons, also there's the evening kids program on certain nights from 5:30pm-9:30pm($25 per night). Our child went to the fire house and a barn for kids club. The restaurant on site, Lure, also has a section with a babysitter where kids can play while parents can dine at a table in the same section a few feet away. However, the food is, not surprisingly, expensive and of average quality. I have to say the setup is a huge factor in us choosing Winnetu so parents can relax and enjoy themselves as well. We got a king suite on the second floor which is very nicely decorated, charming and not too modern. There's a livingroom area with pull out beds for kids while parents sleep in the bedroom area separated by the bathroom. Also there's a nicely sized deck facing the pool. The pool is not very big so it's more for soaking and splashing around with kids, not for serious swimming. The resort is about a 10-15 minute walk from the beach on a foot path across the great lawn. The walk is manageable with kids but not good for strollers. The beach is beautiful, clean and not very crowded when we were there. The shuttle into Edgartown is a 10 minute ride but hard to catch on the way back. It is very crowded so get there early. On the way back we were told to wait by Scoops but the shuttle pulled up nowhere near it, we just happened to spot it. The shuttle is unreliable on the way back so be prepared to take a cab, which is about $10 back to Winnetu. What we did not like about our room were the bathroom and the screen door. The bathroom had a slight smell so the toilet bowl and the floor needs to be better cleaned. The screen door is ripped on the edges which is bad because there were a lot flying bugs around. The bedroom area faces the hallway with a heavy window treatment, which means if you want natural light then you'll have to sacrifice privacy, otherwise the bedroom section is constantly in darkness. Suggest management also install sheer shades to let light in. We have enjoyed ourselves would likely visit again next year because they made childcare very easy, but would choose something less expensive and in town once we no longer have childcare needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I have traveled to Martha's Vineyard many times in the past 8 years and have found that the Winnetu is undoubtedly its finest. Although I cannot speak of any other accommodation, the "West Chop King" is an exception suite of rooms consisting of a kind-bedded room with an en suite full bath, a full kitchen, a half bathroom and a living room. A unique wall unit houses a flat-screen television and a Murphy bed. Large sliders open to a comfortable deck facing south towards "South Beach", one of the most beautiful beaches on island. This resort offers a private path with direct beach access and provides towels and comfortable beach chairs along with an array of children's beach toys, all free of charge. A lovely pool is on the north side of our room with plenty of chairs and umbrellas, and a poolside grille offers casual dining options during the daytime hours. The Winnetu offers an array of activities Monday thru Saturday including tennis, a weight room, sunset boat rides and children's activities to name a few. You will want for NOTHING while at the Winnetu. Our room was recently renovated and is clean and comfortable. I have no negative comments but for the pesky mosquitos with which we New Englanders are accustomed to dealing and forgot to pack my repellant on this trip.

Room Tip: The West Chop King offers and a bath and a half. South facing rooms on the third floor are the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Gorgeous property; excellent location. Staff was amazing! We enjoyed the shuttle service into town every evening; drives were very friendly. We were referred to an excellent bicycle rental service that delivered and picked up bicycles at the resort, that is located very close to the path. Two negatives: Wi-fi was very slow, but it was good to disconnect and it is expensive, but it is Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Let me first start off and say the Winnetu property is situated on a beautiful stretch of property. The service was very good, the location is perfect for biking into town.

The rooms ($700.00 per night) are not worthy of a four star rating. The showers are preformed plastic, not tile. The is no fan in the bathroom (MOLD??). The rooms are average, clean but 3 star only! It is a perfect family resort for a quick getaway.

Getting to Martha's Vineyard by car is an abomination! If you book last minute on a holiday weekend you may be forced to take a 30 minute bus ride from the parking lot on the mainland, to the boat itself. I am astonished that the Ferry/Massachusetts operators cannot accomodate visitors by buying up land closer to the actual ferry! Again, we did not drive over on the ferry! We decided to not bring our car, so we were at the mercy of this antiquated parking system! Biking to and from the hotel is not a problem, and the shuttles do run like clockwork!

Alchemy is a good choice for dinner! Breakfast is very limited. No sit-down air conditioned places to eat your eggs or pancakes!! Odd! Won't visit again soon. My advice is to stop and stay in Newport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were not happy with the accomodations. For the price we paid, we expected more. Although the room was large, the furniture was old & worn, the wall to wall carpeting was old/worn & dark brown & the room was dark with very little natural light. The furniture on the deck was plastic.
From the reviews & the website we were expecting a beautiful room with all the amenities.

Everyone that worked at the resort was friendly & helpful. And the location close to the beach was great. An easy walk.to South Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked 4 nights at the Winnetu on South Beach. As we got off the ferry and got hustled by the throngs of taxi drivers, it was hot and humid and we were really impatient to get there. (Winnetu does have a shuttle service, but it was booked solid over the holiday weekend.) Driving down the long driveway, you get a feel of peace...set back from the road, with sprawling lawns, the place just looks like a retreat. Check in was easy, and we were whisked up to our room (301). The room was large, kind of like a reverse Embassy Suites, with the bedroom in the front, bathroom/sink/fridge in the middle, and living room in the rear. Large deck off the back looking over a large lawn, trees, and the ocean. This is not a beachfront property, but it is only a brief walk away through a wooded path.
Beds were comfortable, pull out couch and convertible chair worked fine. AC was a little funny, and we had a hard time getting it just right...one night too hot, then too cold, the next night too cold, then too hot. Fridge was noisy, but we got used to it. Towels were plentiful, bath amenities nice, water pressure poor (3rd floor) and housekeeping was exceptional (Agnes). We ate at the Lure Grill one night, it was very good (Thanks Lindsey) and the manager was around constantly but unobtrusively, making sure everything was perfect. Lunch at the pool grill was disappointing, they ran out of lettuce (how does that happen??) and service was slow. Had breakfast at the café off the lobby one morning, it was quick, and delicious. Staff interactions were all great, friendly hellos and personable interactions by all. Even the shuttle that drops off downtown Edgartown and back had great drivers...Micah and Lucas were friendly, informative and a pleasure to deal with. the third driver we had was also very friendly.
The room was noisy...doors slamming on the corridor outside, and being at the top of the stairway made it a high traffic area. Several times I woke up with a start at some noise or another.
To sum it up, a room that was a little better than average, + exceptional staff and facilities and grounds = a great time had by all. I would return.

Room Tip: 3rd floor had a great view, but the 1st floor patios looked fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 52 air-conditioned studios and suites and two cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Island Adventure Trips. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale Lure Grill restaurant located on-site. Resort open late April through late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnetu Oceanside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.