We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Fabulous - A MUST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sheep and Trio

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Sheep and Trio
18 North Summer Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
774-549-9118
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 56 Restaurants in Edgartown
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boca Grande, FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unique & Fabulous - A MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great addition to Edgartown food scene. The pairings of wine and cheese, or wine and meats are perfect. Wait staff is well trained and eager to make your evening a special one. The owner is delightful and accessible. You'll feel like one of the family within minutes!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We actually read little about this place and forgot about it until we decided to grab some wine and head off to waste away an afternoon on the beach, but wanted to bring something to eat. As soon as we walked up to Black Sheep and Trio we knew we were in for a treat. This is a gourmet shop from top to bottom but the team is nothing but the friendliest and they are happy to help you and offer samples. Cheeses from the stinkiest to the creamiest and various charcuterie will please any foodie. We left with a fresh baguette, some slices of sweet soppressata and chunks of truffle tremor (which literally melted on the knife when we opened it on the beach). The shop also doubles as a wine and small plates eatery, so do call ahead for a reservation to enjoy what we can only imagine are incredible pairings. We unknowingly walked by on our way to dinner and though we didn't have a reservation, they were happy to seat us on the porch for a glass of wine. Can't wait to go back on our next visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn.
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great Cheese; Great Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The owner was fantastic in describling his cheeses, making recommendations, offering samples for the final decision and just being a great customer focused owner.

It is definitely onthe pwoer rotation when we are back in Edgartown.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, IL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Although there was an AC issue on our visit (due to customers not management) I enjoyed the wine/cheese/olive/salami tasting. Cute little store, friendly server. Get reservations, it' s small and we were lucky to get a spot. I don't know why there isn't more wine tasting on the island! The tandoori spread on the complimentary crackers was lovely as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“sophisticated wine and cheese "bar"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

this is exactly what Edgartown needed: A place "before" or "after" dinner...

Trio exudes a wonderful sleek yet cozy ambiance...professional wine staff will help pair wines with tasty and fancy cheeses, amazing olives, spreads and sliced cold cuts... the bread across the street from Richard's bakery is the best we have on the island..
I manage an Inn in Edgartown and have sent so many guests there.. all came back and loved the place...

going out alone? no problem: a nice new touch is the communal table that Mark the owner has established, make new friends over a glas of wine..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep and Trio also viewed

West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Menemsha, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Black Sheep and Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sheep and Trio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.