We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't take tour but it was beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Whaling Church

Old Whaling Church
89 Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
508 627 4442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 27 things to do in Edgartown
Attraction details
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Didn't take tour but it was beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful!! This church is offered as part of a tour, but we didn't do that. It's pretty just to see though! Old Greek Revival type architecture.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quaint elegance for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It was a gorgeous church from the 1770's - we attended a wedding in August 2012. Beautiful and simple, with elegance and early American charm.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We visited as part of a combined tour with the Vincent House and Daniel Fisher House. Our tour guide was lovely and gave us lots of information about the old church, and the history of the pew boxes, the building and the organ. We had a couple on tour with us from Sweeden so it was neat to compare churches in America with them. Just a short tour, but if you like old building history it was certainly well worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Interesting to see inside the church, but there isn't much inside and the tour only lasted 15 min. It was combined with a tour of Vincent House and the Dr. Daniel Fisher House.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Well my title says it. Just a drive by would have been enough for us.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Whaling Church also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Old Whaling Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Whaling Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.