We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Sand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norton Point Beach

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Norton Point Beach
Katama Road, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 27 things to do in Edgartown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ever-changing environment still provides an important habitat for nesting shorebirds, and a sporting challenge for the fishermen who surfcast from this popular site.
Salem, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Over the Sand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a blast driving over the sand to hang out at the beach all day. We parked on the bay side where the water is shallow so the little ones could play in the water, the Atlantic side is great for the older kids to boogie board or body surf.
Please note that you need to deflate your tires before you dirve in to 15psi and the cost is $35.00 for the day.
Great time by all, in our party we had 3 Jeep Wranglers, Honda CRV and a Subaru Outback

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
646 reviews 646 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
629 helpful votes 629 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went out to the area where you can drive right out to the beach and park right at the spot you want (permit required). I've never done that before... so cool. The beach itself is fantastic. Very Highly Recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“One of life's special experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you have a four wheel drive vehicle and love the beach, this is the place for you. Serious waves, the smell of the ocean, and the beauty of not having to carry things out to the beach. Instead, you open the tail gate on your SUV, take out your beach chairs, and relax. But, please note, the is a permit fee and the are no services - no bathrooms, no food concessions, only beach and ocean.

We used to go to Wasque and drive on the beach. But, the erosion that has occurred in the last several years has made it impossible to drive on the beach there. So, although the beach at Norton Point is more crowded than Wasque used to be, it is a great alternative.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best Beach on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

What seperates Norton from most Beaches on the island is the fact that you can drive your 4wd vehile out on it. They charge a fee for 1 day around 35 $ I think and a season pass for 125$. There are several beaches you can stop on depending if you want to be around people or if you want to be alone. You just pull up and make yourself at home. Pop the trunk and set yourself up for a day of fun in the sun. They even have some great kite surfing spots there. It can be busy in July and august especially on the weekends so get there early.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norton Point Beach also viewed

Massachusetts, United States
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Norton Point Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton Point Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.