We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan Munroe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jonathan Munroe House
Save
You added Jonathan Munroe House to your Saves list
100 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We loved this charming B&B, it was clean, comfortable and the perfect spot. Sally was also a wonderful host! From the sherry in the lounge area to the breakfast in the morning, everything was wonderful. It has a unique charm and ambiance and is within walking distance to the bus stop and small shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    28
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
110
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Located on the main street of Edgar Town, this B & B is a great place to stay and is close to all amenities. It is located barely 20 minutes from the airport. Sally, the innkeeper, made us welcome straight away and were given an upgrade to our room. It was spacious and well furnished with delightful fittings. The breakfasts were very tasty with variations on both days of our stay. Sally could not have been more helpful in terms of what to see, where to eat and so on and her recommendations were faultless. She also arranged for a very interesting local character, Jon of Jon's Taxis, to take us round the island to see everything that was worth seeing. Bearing in mind, the tour took 3 and a half hours instead of the 2 hours indicated, it was extremely good value for money, as we saw things that perhaps the average tourist does not see. Overall, we were so delighted that we chose to go to Martha's Vineyard, as it was quite late in planning our holiday from Australia. The choice of Jonathan Munroe House as the place to stay was also a great decision.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Sally the Inn keeper was wonderful.
The cottage we had was beautiful, clean, spacious and comfortable.

Cheese and wine on arrival if wanted.

Great garden with lights and candles.

Amazing breakfast!
Truly the best on Martha's Vineyard! Edgar Town is lovely and has great coffee shop too.... Espresso love.

Sally was so lovely and welcoming and helpful, no need to stay any where else. Promise.

Thanks Sally.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Carriage House over the Columbus Day weekend and
had such a lovely, relaxing visit. The Inn is perfectly located on Main Street in Edgartown and there is convenient parking in case you bring your car. (if you don't have a car, you will be in a great spot and Sally give you ideas for navigating the island)
The property is charming and comfy and I imagine it would be as pretty in the summer as it is in the fall. There is a cheery outdoor spot to sit behind the main house - a perfect spot for coffee and the paper. We could tell that Sally, the innkeeper, was attending to every detail - from the comfort of our bed to logs for the fireplace in the carriage house to the perfect breakfasts.
As others have noted, Sally's presence added a warmth and attentiveness that made us feel
so welcome. We know the island well and have been visiting for many, many years. During our last October visit to Martha's Vineyard, we stayed at the very, very expensive Charlotte Inn. After staying with Sally at the Jonathan Munroe House , I see no reason to return to the CI.
I am giving the Munroe house five stars -- not because it necessarily has 5 star luxury in every corner but because the overall vibes are so remarkable great. Stay here and you will be happy and taken care of!
Lisa and Mark

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The onsite manager Sally makes this B&B feel like home away from home. Her breakfasts are delicious and varied, day to day, served in an enclosed atrium through which the sun fell gently and warmly. She handled various needs we had (taxi to airport, closest gas station and location of rentals) and having wifi is, of course, the best for iPad and iPhone users. The rooms are smaller, as is often the case, than appear in the photos, but no less comfortable. The bathrooms are clean but mine (the fireplace room) could use more counter space on which to layout my various "grooming needs." There are some areas, such as grouting and painting, that need attending to by the owners. Located right on the Main Street leading to the Edgartown waterfront shopping and dining area -- prime spot and yet very quiet (we went the end of September, so that could change in the summer - don't know) Good value and welcoming, efficient manager.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station and The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the Carriage House and it suited our needs perfectly. The wireless internet enabled us to stay in touch and the separate living area downstairs and screened in porch provided the extra space needed for us to be able to thoroughly enjoy our stay. The home made breakfast was excellent every morning and Sally was the perfect host. The location could not have been better, next to the shopping and restaurants. Edgartown was our favorite place to visit on the Island and we were right there, close to what we enjoyed most.

Room Tip: We can recommend the Carriage House
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived, Sally, the innkeeper, made us feel right at home -- "no worries," she said, "you're on island time now." And it was so true. The room was very comfy, and the whole place was beautiful and made us feel right at home. And Sally was super-helpful, offering suggestions for places to eat and things to do as well as letting us borrow some beach chairs, towels and a cooler bag for a day on the sand. And her breakfasts were delicious! We're definitely hoping to come back some day. :)

Room Tip: We were in room 3: The bed was a bit on the firm side, but the room and bathroom were roomy and nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jonathan Munroe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Munroe House

Address: 100 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Entering the Jonathan Munroe House is like stepping into the 18th century just as this wonderful home was being completed. Everything but the original charm has been replaced or updated to meet your 20th-century expectations. Six rooms in all, each with its own private bath and each with its own history alluding to the past, when Jonathan Munroe and his family lived and entertained in grand fashion. Proudly located in the heart of Edgartown Village, the Jonathan Munroe House provides its own entertainment by allowing guests to stroll to the bustling harbor front activities, the Lighthouse Beach, the Island's finest restaurants and shops, four churches and the (not-to-be-missed) Vineyard Museum just a block away. Your innkeepers and staff promise you a comfortable and memorable stay on the Vineyard and we're confident the Jonathan Munroe House will be your destination on future visits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jonathan Munroe House Hotel Edgartown
Jonathan Munroe House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan Munroe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.