We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Innkeeper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan Munroe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jonathan Munroe House
Save
You added Jonathan Munroe House to your Saves list
100 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Innkeeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My mother and I visited the Jonathan Munroe House in late June when all of the roses in Edgartown are putting on a show. We found the B&B to be clean, conveniently located, and lovely to look at. The comfy beds and sea air made for a great sleep. And we were greeted with a breakfast of delicious mushroom quiche, homemade granola, fresh fruit, yogurt and muffins. Sally, the innkeeper, couldn't have made our stay any nicer.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the house away from Main Street and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    28
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
109
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaSalle, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Jonathan Munroe House when we did a bike tour of Martha's Vineyard through Discovery Bike Tours. The innkeeper- Sally- made us feel at home right away. Our room was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was delicious-best breakfast I've had at a B and B. Sally made sure we were well nourished for our long day of biking.The baked apple french toast was fabulous. Arriving back at the Inn after the ride we were treated to fresh cookies and lemonade. I felt like a little kid on vacation at my favorite relatives house.
The location of the Inn is perfect. We were steps away from shopping and great restaurants and bars. Between our feet and our bikes there was no need for a car.
Great vacation. Highly recommend the Jonathan Munroe House!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I had a very special vacation recently on Martha's Vineyard. We stayed at the Jonathan Monroe House in Edgartown and were extremely pleased with our accommodations. Sally, the inn--keeper, took such wonderful care of us during our stay! The house is beautiful, charming, and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Each room is decorated differently and has something different to offer in terms of accommodations. Sally is amazing ~ her food is delicious! Each morning she serves a different and wonderful breakfast for her house guests in the sunroom. She is considerate of those who have special diet concerns or food allergies. Some of her breakfasts included baked French toast, homemade granola, omelets, quiche, bacon, fresh fruit, breakfast cassorole, and more! Her coffee is great ~ and I am a coffee snob! Sally made us feel so welcome during our stay. She offered wine and cheese each afternoon for her guests. It was fun to sit in the beautiful living room and visit with the other people who were staying at the inn. She also told us we could take our wine and cheese to our room instead if we prefered. Sally was helpful in suggesting restaurants to eat at during our stay and also places that we MUST see before we left for home. We wanted to see and enjoy as must of the island as we could during our stay so we bought bus passes which were very much worth the cost. We were able to ride to most places on the island using the buses. Using her computer, Sally even helped us find transportation to Nantucket for a day trip. On the day we left for home, Sally told us not to ride the bus to the ferry ~ she personally drove us there in her car! When we said goodbye I felt like I was leaving a good friend. Sally is awesome and made our visit to Martha's Vineyard one of our most memorable vacations ever. We loved staying at the Jonathan Monroe House and we loved Sally! I wish I could have brought her home with us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Inn for a weekend in May for the wine & food festival, and even though the weather didn't cooperate we had a great time!! Sally (the Innkeeper) was so incredibly accommodating and genuinely wanted to make sure we had a memorable stay on the island...and that's exactly what we got- the Inn is in a great location and a short walk to the bus and shops, bars & restaurants in Edgartown; our room was cozy & clean (with a great fireplace/ jacuzzi); Sally put out an amazing homemade breakfast (the WORKS) and also wine & cheese in the evening; she gave us good recommendations, and was able to get us a cab promptly when needed. We left the island feeling relaxed and renewed...it was the perfect retreat!

Room Tip: we liked our room, #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I were here for 3 nights in May 2013. Our room was cozy and comfortable, and Sally the innkeeper is very personable and offered helpful recommendations for nearby activities and restaurants. The breakfasts were quite tasty but are served buffet-style, so if you're a late sleeper your food might not be as hot as you'd like; ask to have it zapped in the microwave. (Note to owner: an electric buffet warmer/server would be a good investment.) Sally's homemade granola is awesome, and we loved the sherry bar in the parlor.

We didn't have a car with us, so the inn's location was ideal ... right around the corner from the bus stop, and short walk from the harbor and the downtown shops and restaurants. All in all, we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio city, Ca.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the J. MUNROE House. Sally the inn keeper was very helpful
With island suggestions. The house is in close walking distance to the center of the town, with shopping,and restaurants. She also makes a very good breakfast to keep you going all day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Jonathan Munroe House is a must. My girlfriend and I made an impromptu decision to head to the vineyard, despite the gloomy forecast, and were very pleased we decided to stay at Jonathan Munroe. The inn is a beautiful old time charm colonial style right in the heart of Edgartown- everything is within walking distance. There is great shopping and restaurants all around you. The innkeeper Sally was amazing and made all the difference. Her breakfasts were better than the local restaurants and included a life changing homemade granola, quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, parfait, oj and coffee. She had a fire in the fireplace on a cold night and had great advice and recommendations on navigating around the island. There's a great porch to have your morning coffee and nice patio in the back for wine and cheese. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and very comfortable. The entire inn is well kept and cozy. We will be back to this inn every time we are on the vineyard. Sally is the best and hope she will be there for years to come.

Room Tip: Room 6 was perfect for us! The room is in the back of the house making it very quiet- we rarely hear...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jonathan Munroe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Munroe House

Address: 100 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Entering the Jonathan Munroe House is like stepping into the 18th century just as this wonderful home was being completed. Everything but the original charm has been replaced or updated to meet your 20th-century expectations. Six rooms in all, each with its own private bath and each with its own history alluding to the past, when Jonathan Munroe and his family lived and entertained in grand fashion. Proudly located in the heart of Edgartown Village, the Jonathan Munroe House provides its own entertainment by allowing guests to stroll to the bustling harbor front activities, the Lighthouse Beach, the Island's finest restaurants and shops, four churches and the (not-to-be-missed) Vineyard Museum just a block away. Your innkeepers and staff promise you a comfortable and memorable stay on the Vineyard and we're confident the Jonathan Munroe House will be your destination on future visits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jonathan Munroe House Hotel Edgartown
Jonathan Munroe House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan Munroe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.