We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in town location, comfortable homey inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan Munroe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jonathan Munroe House
Save
You added Jonathan Munroe House to your Saves list
100 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Granby, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in town location, comfortable homey inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I completely enjoyed my first visit to MV. I went with a group of young women, most seeing MV for the first time also. The innkeepers, Kathleen and Eric were warm and inviting and helped guide us to the perfect activities for our group. The inn is walking distance to many stores and restaurants and lends itself to beautiful evening strolls to the waterfront or view the historic homes in the area. I look forward to coming again with my husband for another stay at the Jonathan Munroe House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    28
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
110
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

First - please ignore the travel date of May 2012...Our travel date was May 2009

I can't help but remember the wonderful weekend visit at The Jonathan Munroe House at this time of the year. We stayed 4 nights, May 25-28 and were married right there on the grounds in the garden area. The Inn Keeper (Skip at the time) assisted by phone with providing information about the area and the various retailers (florist, cake) so that we could plan our elopement event without ever having stepped onto the island. He even helped carry the train of my dress out through the doors until I reached the patio area. The JMH, staff, and especially the day, could not have been more perfect! We look forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Jonathan Munroe house is perfectly on situated on Main Street in Edgartown. The Inn is relaxing - full of antiques and character. The morning muffins were delicious and we enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese in the parlor. The Innkeepers, Kathryn and Eric are delightful and know so much about the island and its history. We took our daughter and her friends for an 18th birthday surprise and they had a blast, it was a perfect get-away for all.
We highly recommend this Inn while staying on MV. Enjoy~

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I picked the Jonathan Munroe House because I was looking for a quintesential MV visit. I had never been there before and neither had my girlfriend, and I proposed to her during the trip. The location is great, right downtown Edgartown near the Church st bus stop which makes it easy to travel around the island. We went in early May so the island wasn't packed, sometimes we were the only people walking down the street and the weather was perfect. We stayed in the private Cottage house, it is a small two story cottage with a small living room/table on the first floor, and bedroom/bathroom on the second floor. The hosts were great, very friendly and were always around when we needed anything. The wine and cheese hour was perfect.

I gave four stars instead of five because there are small things that can be improved. A warning for light sleepers, a church bell a block away does ring every hour, on the hour. I could sleep through it but my fiance woke up several times. The house opens up in early May, we may have been one of the first people to stay at the house, so it looked like it could have used a good cleaning, some cobwebs in the corners but nothing major. The breakfast was very simple, they had a table with yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, milk, coffee and more, but nothing hot or made to order. All in all, it was a great experience!

Room Tip: The cottage house might be the most private area in all of Edgartown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Beautiful classic B&B with nicely appointed rooms and great service. Excellent location, blocks from the top restaurants in Edgartown. We had a perfect romantic escape. Innkeepers, Kathryn and Eric were delightful, friendly and knowledgeable of what to do on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Spent a long October weekend @ JM B&B and it was wonderful. Rooms were very nice, as was the overall B&B. Enjoyed taking advantage of the other common living areas and front porch. The Innkeepers, katheryn & Eric were really nice; they made you feel welcome, were helpful re: MV sights, restaurants, etc. Breakfast was very nice; homemade muffins and yogurt w/fresh fruit was excellent. PM wine & cheese was nice way to unwind and chat with the other guests, as well as the Innkeeper. Great time and will defintely go back next Fall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north andover, ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Delightful B&B! Innkeepers are a lovely young couple, full of great island information. Inn is charming and located near all shopping & sites in Edgartown. Wine & cheese served in the evening is a nice time to chat with fellow guests. Breakfast could be a little better, but really not a problem. If you are bothered by 24 hour church bells, you might desire another location, although, I found them melodious & very relaxing. We enjoyed our stay at The Jonathan Munroe House and I hope you do as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jonathan Munroe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Munroe House

Address: 100 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Entering the Jonathan Munroe House is like stepping into the 18th century just as this wonderful home was being completed. Everything but the original charm has been replaced or updated to meet your 20th-century expectations. Six rooms in all, each with its own private bath and each with its own history alluding to the past, when Jonathan Munroe and his family lived and entertained in grand fashion. Proudly located in the heart of Edgartown Village, the Jonathan Munroe House provides its own entertainment by allowing guests to stroll to the bustling harbor front activities, the Lighthouse Beach, the Island's finest restaurants and shops, four churches and the (not-to-be-missed) Vineyard Museum just a block away. Your innkeepers and staff promise you a comfortable and memorable stay on the Vineyard and we're confident the Jonathan Munroe House will be your destination on future visits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jonathan Munroe House Hotel Edgartown
Jonathan Munroe House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan Munroe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.