We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Doesn't Get Any Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Inn
Save Saved
You added Victorian Inn to your Saves list
24 South Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Any Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I spend almost every July 4th at this inn. We love it. The rooms and service are consistant and we've never had a bad experience. The location couldn't be better. You can walk to everything in Edgartown. If you're bringing a car onto the island, you get a parking spot at the Inn. (Advise them in advance.) That is just the frosting on the cake! Parking is difficult at best here. I'm so picky and I'm so happy to have found this inn. It always meets my expectations. Note that they do not accept pets or children under 9 (I believe). The Inn is best suited for couples or adults. No phones or TV's.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We wanted to return to our honeymoon town for our 20th anniversary, and since the B&B we had stayed at was no longer in business, a friend recommended the Victorian Inn among others. Walking distance to the center of town was required. When I read the reviews, saw the beauty of the rooms and then the "splurge factor" -- our own large porch -- I called for a reservation. We were not disappointed. Our stay was relaxed, totally comfortable, and made even easier by our hosts' knowledge of the community and commitment to service. At Stephen's suggestion, we booked the local conservancy's tour of Chappaquidick. We got a historical and ecological education that was also great fun! We rented bikes, went to South Beach, drove around the Island, and dined in great style. The Victorian's breakfasts were fresh, a bit decadent, and delicious. To help us celebrate, the Caliris gave us a bottle of champagne to enjoy on our porch. All in all, a memorable anniversary. We won't wait another 20 years....

Room Tip: A room with a porch is definitely worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Victorian Inn is centrally located downtown Edgartown. We walked everywhere and rode our bikes to other Vineyard locations. Our room was beautifully decorated and had two outside balconies that overlooked the town and the bay. The rooms were spotless and the service was excellent. Out host, Steve and Karyn, were always there to answer questions or to provide suggestions on what to do or where to dine. Karyn prepared excellent breakfasts and Steve was our morning entertainment .

Room Tip: We liked the third floor with a balcony for views of the town and bay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Upon arrival at the Victorian Inn, my wife and I were blown away by the beautiful Victorian Inn. The Inn looks like it belongs in the 18th century, but does not sacrifice any modern comforts or amenities. Steve was a very gracious host, taking time out of his busy day to let our dog play with his two dogs. Karyn's breakfast each morning were fantastic and was the sole reason we chose not to visit any other breakfast spot on the island. On top of the appearance and service at the Victorian, it is a 5 minute walk to the heart of Edgartown.

I highly recommend this location!

Room Tip: The dog-friendly room was very clean and did not smell like animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Martha's Vineyard is a long drive (7 hours) and a ferry ride away for us if we drive. Luckily, we are able to make it in less than 2 hours by private plane, which allows us to head there on a moments notice if the weather is going to be pleasant there. Invariably, we call the Victorian Inn and hope we can find a room, as it is one of our favorite Bed and Breakfast's.

Located on the edge of downtown, the inn is an historic, typical, Martha's Vineyard whaling captain's home...not to mention having a role in the movie "Jaws" (home of the Amityville doctor). Because it may be older doesn't mean "old". This attractive B and B has been remodeled and updated to be just plain comfortable. Rooms may be somewhat smaller (certainly not tiny) but remember, it's an historic home, in an historic town.

Breakfast is usually a choice of several items that encourage your thought early in the mornings. The day we stayed, we had a choice of banana pancakes, homemade granola with nuts, berries and yogurt, or a California croissant with egg, that looked delicious, although my wife and I couldn't pass up the banana pancakes! As one of the owners,Steve, passed around the coffee, we continued to be entertained with his humorous tales of the island.

In short, the Victorian Inn isn't one of the biggest places to stay on Martha's Vineyard. It isn't one of the most luxurious...but it's a very comfortable Bed and Breakfast, in what I consider one of the best locations on the island...as well as being a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a queen or king bed. Doubles are somewhat small for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Whatever you want to do on MV and you want to stay in Edgartown - this is a lovely place to stay. Very close to the center, beaches, stores, restaurants - you name it. Most of it is in walking distance, but the Inn is quiet, nestled away. Rooms are lovely. Well, furnished with modern bathrooms. Great views from the upstairs suites.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

As many reviewers have noted, the inn is impeccably maintained and tastefully decorated in the Victorian style. The location is within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, the harbor and other attractions.

The full breakfast offers a choice of two entrees - one egg dish and one sweet dish such as waffles. The main dish is accompanied by freshly baked muffins, toast, fruit and beverages. We do not eat baked goods so I can't comment on those, but the egg dishes were creative and perfectly cooked.

When we arrived we were informed that we had been overcharged for the room and that our card had been credited accordingly. We were shown up to Room 12 which further confused me because there was no balcony. The innkeeper explained that the balcony was across the hall and down a narrow corridor on the opposite side of the building. Definitely not what I had in mind! The room itself was ok but nothing special - square with a king bed, 2 chairs, a small bureau and a small dormer window that had no view except for chimneys of adjacent buildings. We were able to peek into several other unoccupied rooms throughout the inn whose doors were left open and found them all to have more character than ours. Room 14 next to ours was a lovely corner room with a king bed, lots of windows and a large attached balcony. I asked whether it was available but it was not.

When I called to reserve the room 2.5 months in advance I was interested in a king bed and a balcony. I discussed the pros and cons of two specific rooms I had viewed on the website and chose Room 15 over Room 14 because several guests had not been pleased with the small shower in 14. Room 15 had the highest rate of all the rooms in the inn but we were coming to the Vineyard for a special occasion so I decided to splurge. The confirmation letter the inn sent for my reservation did not specify the room number. My advice is that you request this information when you reserve so that you do not experience the same disappointment that we did.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Inn

Address: 24 South Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Inn is an attractive Inn with the casual elegance of a restored Whaling Captain's Home on the Island of Martha's Vineyard in historical Edgartown, Massachusetts. We have maintained the tradition and charm of that era and await you as our guests for a relaxing, hospitable and comfortable vacation. Situated on the lovely South Water Street where many sea captains built their mansions; directly across from the famous Pagoda Tree, one block above the town dock and harbor; just a short stroll to many fine restaurants, quaint shops, museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Edgartown
Victorian Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.