We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Get-Away or Extended Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Inn
Save Saved
You added Victorian Inn to your Saves list
24 South Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Edgartown, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Get-Away or Extended Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Whatever you want to do on MV and you want to stay in Edgartown - this is a lovely place to stay. Very close to the center, beaches, stores, restaurants - you name it. Most of it is in walking distance, but the Inn is quiet, nestled away. Rooms are lovely. Well, furnished with modern bathrooms. Great views from the upstairs suites.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

As many reviewers have noted, the inn is impeccably maintained and tastefully decorated in the Victorian style. The location is within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, the harbor and other attractions.

The full breakfast offers a choice of two entrees - one egg dish and one sweet dish such as waffles. The main dish is accompanied by freshly baked muffins, toast, fruit and beverages. We do not eat baked goods so I can't comment on those, but the egg dishes were creative and perfectly cooked.

When we arrived we were informed that we had been overcharged for the room and that our card had been credited accordingly. We were shown up to Room 12 which further confused me because there was no balcony. The innkeeper explained that the balcony was across the hall and down a narrow corridor on the opposite side of the building. Definitely not what I had in mind! The room itself was ok but nothing special - square with a king bed, 2 chairs, a small bureau and a small dormer window that had no view except for chimneys of adjacent buildings. We were able to peek into several other unoccupied rooms throughout the inn whose doors were left open and found them all to have more character than ours. Room 14 next to ours was a lovely corner room with a king bed, lots of windows and a large attached balcony. I asked whether it was available but it was not.

When I called to reserve the room 2.5 months in advance I was interested in a king bed and a balcony. I discussed the pros and cons of two specific rooms I had viewed on the website and chose Room 15 over Room 14 because several guests had not been pleased with the small shower in 14. Room 15 had the highest rate of all the rooms in the inn but we were coming to the Vineyard for a special occasion so I decided to splurge. The confirmation letter the inn sent for my reservation did not specify the room number. My advice is that you request this information when you reserve so that you do not experience the same disappointment that we did.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Victorian Inn. My wife and I have only good things to say about this place. I have never written a review for Tripadvisor, but felt must share our experience. This B&B is close to the Chappaquiddick Ferry landing, shops, and restaurants. Even so, we were surprised at how little traffic came by the lodge. We had very quiet mornings; great for sleeping late. This place is very clean and well maintained. I have been in old B&B's that were dark, musty, and had creaking floors. None of these things are a problem here. Thanks for your hard work Steve and Karyn. Your dedication to giving guests an exceptional experience payed off for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were in Edgartown for a wedding. We stayed two nights at this inn and loved it. It was spotlessly clean, first. After that, the owners were very friendly and provided every comfort in both our room and in the common rooms. Breakfast was excellent, and the service was impossible to beat. It is in the perfect location for all the shops and restaurants. We slept well because the room was comfortable, and the inn was quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street have a better view but are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just returned from staying 6 days at the Victorian Inn. It’s an incredible place that we didn’t want to leave and will definitely return to. The Inn is a step back in time in reflecting the Victorian Era. Every room is beautifully appointed with period wall paper, canopy beds, antique furniture and elegant furnishings. In the room, sherry and fresh flowers compliment the décor. Many rooms have access to a lovely terrace, porch or balcony. The entire Inn is impeccably clean and orderly. The staff is friendly and accommodating. But the Victorian Inn is so much more than this; it’s hospitality at its finest. Within our first night’s stay, we felt and were treated like extended family; not just guests. The Inn’s owners, Steve and Karyn, go over the top to make their guests feel warm and welcomed. Steve is an encyclopedia about Martha’s Vineyard knowledge and is eager to share this with his guests so we can make the most of our stay. Whether it be about where to rent a car, a restaurant recommendation for a particular type of food or a map for the perfect day trip (which he highlights himself with many interesting stops), Steve is the “go to” man. Lovely Karyn makes the most wonderful gourmet breakfasts which are so filling we could skip lunch. In addition, her delicious, warm, home baked cookies are served with iced lemonade or iced tea daily at Tea Time. It’s a delight to come “home” to after a busy day. In speaking with other guests, we learned that many returned to The Victorian Inn annually. Some were celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon. We are already looking forward to our return trip to The Victorian Inn. It just doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: The towels, linens, and bath amenities are high quality. The stairs to Room 15 (3rd floor) are steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

In my mind, heaven has wonderful people, (fantastically) sinful food, elegant decor, plenty of privacy, comfortable beds, long, hot showers, and a very good dog.

So does The Victorian Inn - and you don't even have to be good to get there. Just make reservations.

We've stayed in Rooms 7 & 9 and can't decide which we like best, but the balcony in 7 is sweet.

Ask for recommendations on nearby restaurants, watering holes and fun things to do. (The 4-wheel drive tour of Chappy is well worth it for fans of history, ecology and wild life - or just for a wild ride on the beach.)

Karyn, Stephen and Higgins are warm, welcoming hosts, and their staff set the bar high - for service with flair and personality. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been coming here for years. This place gets prettier and prettier! They keep it just so! We stay in room #7 with a spacious covered porch overlooking a charming back garden. Ideal location. Amazing breakfast with wonderful choices. The service could not be better. The girls are so sweet! Afternoon tea and cookies are to die for. Steve has so many great stories he should be a writer! Karin is lovely and a fabulous cook! We love coming here and hope it's around for a long time.

Room Tip: There are no bad choices! Really! Room #7 is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Inn

Address: 24 South Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Inn is an attractive Inn with the casual elegance of a restored Whaling Captain's Home on the Island of Martha's Vineyard in historical Edgartown, Massachusetts. We have maintained the tradition and charm of that era and await you as our guests for a relaxing, hospitable and comfortable vacation. Situated on the lovely South Water Street where many sea captains built their mansions; directly across from the famous Pagoda Tree, one block above the town dock and harbor; just a short stroll to many fine restaurants, quaint shops, museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Edgartown
Victorian Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.