We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Edgartown with beautiful view of harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Harborside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Los angeles
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location in Edgartown with beautiful view of harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This was not my first stay at the Harborside but it had been many years. They have remodeled the inn in the last year or so and the rooms are very simple but updated from the old days. The bathrooms are small but clean and modern for an edgartown hotel. Closet space was good and the rooms were modest. This is a hotel/timeshare and many of the people who stay here own boats. There is an area under the lobby with full kitchens and lots of room to prepare meals. There is a very nice outdoor area for bbq if you decide to do your own cooking... They have a small but very refreshing pool with really comfortable lounge chairs. The views of the harbor are breathtaking.
The staff is terrific, very nice people who have been working here for many years.
I would definitely suggest the Harborside inn for it's location and simplicity. There are many repeat clients and I would definitely return. I usually prefer a more upscale resort but being in edgartown makes everything upscale. The beds are a little small but the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Everything is walking distance from hotel and there is public transportation just a couple blocks away

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We are repeat guests of the Harborside Inn, and were pleasantly surprised at the major renovations. All units have been renovated and they look nothing like the website, which I was informed is being updated. All rooms have new carpet, bedding, granite in the bathrooms etc. A must see property! The views are outstanding, and the housekeeping service is the most meticulous I have ever seen. We love this property because it is family friendly and non-smoking. So happy we were able to get a reservation in July! Cannot wait to return next year.

Room Tip: The streetside units on S Water St are much quieter than the streetside units on Dock St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We showed up and were initially shocked at how dingy the rooms were for the price. The printer didn't work, the ice machine was rusty, the doors were so sticky they required a body slam to open and close, and it was incredibly noisy. We also noticed the carpet was wet. We complained, they said it was just condensation from somebody's cooler and while they would move us, they recommended we stay in our current room because the alternative one was even louder. Turns out it was a leak, the room was completely moldy, but because they'd "offered to move us" on arrival, they denied that there was even a problem. In short, I would rather skip a vacation than stay here again. Avoid at any cost.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandjogger02, General Manager at Harborside Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We spoke with these guests numerous times during their stay with us. They booked two rooms, both facing the street side of the property. When they checked in they did not like one of the rooms, they claimed the rug was wet and the room was moldy. We told them that we had just completed a full renovation of our property which included all floors, carpets, wallcovering, furnishings and complete new baths and suggested they move to another room. They did not accept our offer to move. They were with us for three days and we talked to them daily about their unhappiness with the room and we offered to refund their money and they refused. After their third night, they checked out of one of their rooms and moved to another property(keeping the other room they had rented). At time of their departure, they asked us to give them a complete refund for the time spent here. We refunded the balance of their stay with no penalty for early departure but did not issue any return for the days that they used our facilities. We did nothing dishonest, in fact we stretched our rules to allow a refund for a reservation that was non-refundable. Obviously, they are unhappy and that is not something we like our guests to be, we take pride in our property and the way our guests are treated at Harborside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Picturesque property with a fantastic view out the front of the lighthouse. We stayed in the Mayhew Building which was adequate but less special. Pool was popular but unfortunately lacked a hot tub. Helpful concierge who arranged to have a bike delivered to the hotel. A very convenient place to stay in Edgartown.

Room Tip: Rent a bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location! Friendly staff, great job on flower beds. Expensive but worth it. Mix of time share clients and regular guests. Very social group. Soft beds, modern showers. I will stay again. First floor is ideal for families with small kids

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

By far the best place to stay in Edgartown. Property is located on Edgartown Harbor. All buildings have been redecorated and all new bedding in every room, bathrooms all new, very comfy and super clean. Love this place.

Room Tip: Harbor view is just beautiful. Takes my breath away each time I stay there. But all rooms are clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is my third time staying at the Harborside. I'm so impressed with the updates they have done to the guest rooms. Don't let the dated decor on their website pictures fool you. The rooms and bathrooms are updated beautifully. I was traveling with two small children and the only thing to note is our bathroom did not have a bathtub. The Harborside is in the best location. Walk right outside to Main Street and tons of shops and restaurants. We stayed in the Chappaquiddick House. I would recommend reserving a room on the water side, not the street size. I've heard the street can be very noisy and you can't beat the view of the harbor. I didn't encounter any of the issues with owners that other reviewers have mentioned. Just know going in that as a hotel guest you will not have access to the BBQ grills or kitchen facilities. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.