We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous spot in Edgartown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Harborside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous spot in Edgartown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

By far the best place to stay in Edgartown. Property is located on Edgartown Harbor. All buildings have been redecorated and all new bedding in every room, bathrooms all new, very comfy and super clean. Love this place.

Room Tip: Harbor view is just beautiful. Takes my breath away each time I stay there. But all rooms are clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is my third time staying at the Harborside. I'm so impressed with the updates they have done to the guest rooms. Don't let the dated decor on their website pictures fool you. The rooms and bathrooms are updated beautifully. I was traveling with two small children and the only thing to note is our bathroom did not have a bathtub. The Harborside is in the best location. Walk right outside to Main Street and tons of shops and restaurants. We stayed in the Chappaquiddick House. I would recommend reserving a room on the water side, not the street size. I've heard the street can be very noisy and you can't beat the view of the harbor. I didn't encounter any of the issues with owners that other reviewers have mentioned. Just know going in that as a hotel guest you will not have access to the BBQ grills or kitchen facilities. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Ah...Edgartown...and The Harborside Inn is better than ever. All 90 rooms have been renovated with heat exchanger air conditioning so you can adjust the temperature. New baths, though small, have granite countertops and tile showers with a built-in seat and quality showerhead and shower wand. New carpet, furniture, new mattresses etc. No smoking and no pets make it safe and pleasant for us guests.

The inn's lovely large grassy floral courtyard with pool and waterfront docks is beautiful in itself. Even more, it's adjacent to Edgartown's shopping, eating out, boating. Right off Main Street on South Water Street the inn includes former whaling captain's homes with bedroom units. Stroll Water Street and you'll see gorgeous homes from the 1800's edged by white picket fences laden with roses, white homes with black shutters, weathered shakes framed in white and window boxes filled with colorful flowers. Picture charming, beautifully landscaped lawns donning orange day lilies against a backdrop of boats lazily moored in Edgartown Harbor. To me, Edgartown is the place to be on Martha's Vineyard and the Harborside Inn is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose water, street or garden view and ask about the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts,USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A timeshare property owned and managed by the owners, the Harborside is a fun and unique place. The setting is fabulous, right on the harbor(boat slips possible), and in the middle of Edgartown. The rooms are small, recently renovated, with little but modern bathrooms, but the property is spacious for being in the middle of town. There is a building with multiple kitchens for you to prepare your own meals.There is a dining room with a water view. There is a pool area with a heated pool, a grilling area with outside seating. I have stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times.

Room Tip: There are motel-like rooms, and rooms in the old sea captain houses. Some have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK PA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We exchanged a 2-bedroom Marriott condo for a room with a very small bathroom. The worst part was it faced a narrow street which had a Pub short steps from our bedroom window. Smokers gathered outside the entrance and each evening the music seemed to get louder.
If you stay in Captains Abel or Prada rooms, facing the street, just know it will be noisy.

The room was recently renovated and the furnishings were fine but the room is small and the bathroom, while it had a nice shower, was hard to move around in. We did a lot of improvising. They have a large common area with tables and lots of kitchen facilities e.g. many refrigerators, stoves, all utensils, etc. You can certainly cook a large meal for a family or just keep breakfast foods, which is what we did. This was a new concept for us but I liked it.

We love Martha's Vineyard and will go back again but stay at one of the many lovely B&B's. As it was we left a day early. BTW, we asked about exchanging our room for another unit - as there were other units available - but were told it would be an extra $280/night.

Room Tip: Unless you are not bothered by noise, don't take a room facing the street. The rating of "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a great spot. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Location was fabulous with lots of restaurants within walking distance and staff recommendations were great.
The room was spotless and had a great view of harbor even though it was a studio we dis well with the free coffee available downstairs every morning.
Common kitchen gave us an opportunity to talk with friendly owners and traders like us. We got some great recommendations for future travel from them. Everyone was outgoing and so nice.
No Elevator would be a problem and off site parking without valet service might limit others but we enjoyed the twice a day walk up and down the short flights of stairs and the 1/4 mile to the sufficient lot for cars. Would do this again.

Room Tip: trade early and if you are fit take the 2nd floor accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Harborside Inn last month and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was recently renovated and reminded us of a New England bed and breakfast. We had a room overlooking the harbor and were able to see the sunrise. The online pictures don't do the resort justice. The staff was very accommodating and helpful; and housekeeping did a great job supplying and cleaning our room. It is the best location on the island - close to shops, the bike path and walking distance to many beaches. We're looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.